We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lost Gardens of Heligan

Address: Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6EN, England
Phone Number: 44 1726 845100
Website
Improve this listing
92%
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in St Austell
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Hotels near The Lost Gardens of Heligan

Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,132
    406
    94
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

Can't praise this place enough. When of the best day out in years. Food is nice. It's we worth by an annual ticket if u live close. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

Beautiful gardens lots of different areas of interest the staff are happy to answer your questions about the plants etc the jungle garden if fantastic I can't get down there now as my disabilities restrict me getting around it now but the rest of the gardens are great the cafe has fantastic food and has gluten free options which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

There is a gentle, soft quality to the atmosphere at The Lost Gardens. They were "Lost" during and after the Great War - 9 of the gardeners who went to war were never returned to Heligan and over the coming years' the gardens silently went to sleep. They are awake again now and make a wonderful day out, no matter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Tripadvisor only lets a reviewer put a date within the last year as the date visited. I actually visited the Lost Gardens in July of 2005 and am only now getting around to reviewing it. So please note that it's been several years since I visited the Gardens so I can't speak about them now. However, they were absolutely charming,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northants, England
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Great idea to open up for charity on NYD. Good excuse for a wander round at a couple of quid a head. Would I pay 12? Probably not. That said we had a pleasant morning wandering around. I guess it is great in the spring or summer but for a midwinter distraction that didn't involve coastal fishing villages, Rick Stein... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015 via mobile

We found this particular garden very boring and not particularly worth the money or time getting there. Our opinion is "It should have stayed lost" Gardens poorly managed and the planting was very basic. Having visited other gardens in Derbyshire that are independently run I find the entrance fee and hype over the top. I have not recommended this to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Lost Gardens of Heligan. We’re really sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your visit and would love to know how you feel we could improve our garden experience and in particular in which areas you found the planting to be basic. We always aim to exceed our... More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We took advantage of the free (donations expected) entry on New Year's day to sample the gardens with a view to go back later in the year when there was more to see. It was well worth it. Even with the winter landscape there was plenty to see. The walks showed lots of variation and the sculptures were fascinating (could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Visited on the 1st of January when admission is free, donations are requested for charity. Very busy that day as a result but well worth a walk around the extensive garden. Basic cost otherwise is £12 per person which is a bit steep. Lots of history attached to this place so its worthwhile doing a little reading on line first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Lovely warm, home made food! The food is the sort of winter food everyone enjoys on a cold, rainy, winters day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I loved the gardens! very big place to explore and very beautiful. The area was very colorful and you could go around many times. There was many different areas of the gardens to explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Lost Gardens of Heligan also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Gardens of Heligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lost Gardens of Heligan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?