We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lost Gardens of Heligan

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Pentewan, St Austell PL26 6EN, England
Phone Number: 44 1726 845100
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Activities: Viewing wildlife

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 2,408 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 1642
    Excellent
  • 570
    Very good
  • 140
    Average
  • 32
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Breathtaking all year around.

Like any garden is changes from season to season. The Jungle area is very impressive and you really could think that you were up the Amazon. The walled garden is very impressive... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 2, 2015
Neil A
,
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

2,408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

Like any garden is changes from season to season. The Jungle area is very impressive and you really could think that you were up the Amazon. The walled garden is very impressive with fruit and vegetables that wow the eyes. In May/June there is a spectacular display of rhododendrons. Worth noting is the main cafe by the entrance offers a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2015 NEW

We loved the gardens. So much work and effort has gone into restoring these back to glory. Families with children will love the treasure hunt. The food from the BBQ was also excellent. Five easy stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

We had a wonderful family day here the children really enjoyed it and there is so much to see the den building is good fun and the rope bridge the gardens are all amazing so many hidden nooks and crannys we will defiantly be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

we went on a family day out on a miserable rainy day. It was really good fun despite the awful weather - with two teenagers and a 3 year old. The gardens were so impressive and so well kept - I expected to see loads of staff but actually I think the team is quite small which makes it even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon. More 

lancashhire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Spent 2.5hrs trying to get to Eden Project on a wet day. Turned around due to so many people doing the same. Found these gardens as an alternative and so glad we did. Fantastic walks with adventure sections to keep kids interested. Then an area to make a den with tarpaulins, poles, rope, netting etc. main gardens beautiful to wander... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send this lovely review and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We are open every day apart from Christmas Eve & Day, so we hope to welcome you back one day soon. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

We hadn't been to Heligan since July 2006 when I was pregnant with our first child. I vowed to return once my children were old enough to appreciate their surroundings and I'm so glad we did. There was so much for our boys to see and do. They really enjoyed the Summer Camp area that had been set up, they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind review and how thrilled we are to hear from a happy returning visitor! We do hope you and your family continue to visit for many years to come. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

We visited here on a not too good day weather wise in August, we were a family of 6 including 2 children and I can honestly say there was something for everyone. We started through the wooded area where the children took part in the trail game, the mud sculptures were something to behold! We wandered on around the gardens... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that you and your whole family enjoyed your visit to the gardens. Keep an eye on our events page as we strive to organise activities for all ages throughout the year. More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Very well organised with extremely friendly and informative staff. The map was a great help to ensure you didn't miss anything as it's tempting to just wander around. We almost missed the Italian garden! It's great for children too although the rope bridge looked a bit scary. Some of the paths are steep but well worth the effort especially in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are sorry to hear about your experience in the Tearooms and will pass on your comments to our catering team. More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

With only a single day to spare it was a choice between Heligan and the Eden Project. Having read the various reviews we went with the former - and what a great decision it was! This is the perfect place to spend a summers day with something for all ages, from a rope bridge and numerous activity trails to idyllic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

We didnt really know what to expect here but not really our cup of tea. It was huge so you need to allow plenty of time, although you get a map its quite daunting. You need to be fit and able as lots of up and down hills and slippery in wet weather. More jungle and open grass than formal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Heligan G, Public Relations Manager at The Lost Gardens of Heligan, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that Heligan wasn't your cup of tea, but we thank you for your visit and hope that you managed to enjoy the more formal Northern Gardens? More 

Travelers who viewed The Lost Gardens of Heligan also viewed

 

Been to The Lost Gardens of Heligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Lost Gardens of Heligan and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Lost Gardens of Heligan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?