We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain's Reel Charters

343 SW Bay Blvd., Newport, OR 97365
(541) 265-7441
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 11 activities in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Type: Tours
Owner description: Captain's Reel Charters provides individual and group trips for deep sea fishing, ocean/bay crabbing, and whale watching. Each season of the year... more » Owner description: Captain's Reel Charters provides individual and group trips for deep sea fishing, ocean/bay crabbing, and whale watching. Each season of the year offers unique charters & attractions. Ocean excursions can be close to shore for rock fishing or ocean crabbing. We travel into deep water for Halibut, and troll for Salmon. Our charters can extend up to 100 miles off shore fishing for Albacore Tuna. « less
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    8
    8
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

My family of 6 (4 kiddos under the age of 15) went out for a day with Captains Reel Charters. I have to say, it was fantastic! Our boat Captain (Gerald) was laid back, fun, and personable. The deck hands were very helpful, and were attentive to the needs of all the kids fishing! All of us caught our limits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great staff and facilities!! First time crabbing and we're already making plans for a return trip next summer. Call ahead to get recommendations on attire. Could not have been more pleased with the time spend and the reasonable pricing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was going to be a birthday celebration trip and, while not faulting the captain, we were not informed that we would not be going until our entire group had filtered in from Corvallis, Albany and Salem. Barbara told us she had been updated by the Coast Guard at 6 that morning, at which point we were all awake but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bereal4sure, Owner at Captain's Reel Charters, responded to this review

While I fully understand your frustrations, every charter company receives the morning report at approximately 6am. All charter companies on Yaquina Bay arrive at their offices about one hour prior to the first morning trip departure. We are unaware of the bar report prior to this time. While we realize that some of our customers have to drive long distances... More

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Long story short... my wife and I visited friends on the coast and wanted a sea adventure. She went on a whale watching trip, and I went for rock fish. We, literally, got back early because the ENTIRE boat limited. (Means the max amount of fish per person was caught!) I was there early... chatted with the office staff (who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

i was skeptical about the trip because capt jerald was in the hospital so jim took over the trip and young deckhand Noah Clarke at first due to his young age then once we hoped on the longfin i asked him how long he was doing this he said it was his first season as a tuna deckhand i have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It was the worst and awful experience I have ever had in the last 10 years! In June 2013, we paid $800 to book for a trip of bottom fishing. We had 10 friends who came from different cities to Newport for fishing together. After we arrived Newport, Captain's told us that the fishing was cancel due to the bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bereal4sure, Manager at Captain's Reel Charters, responded to this review

This review is completely biased and false. The group in question purchased a gift certificate (which states non-refundable, non-transferrable) for over the amount of their trip. They arrived early and were told that the sea conditions did not permit the trip to leave due to safety conditions. They became irate and insisted that we take them out. We offered them... More

Emmett, Idaho
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

IF YOU ARE GOING TO BOOK A FISHING TRIP ON THE OREGON COAST, THESE ARE THE PEOPLE TO BOOK WITH!!!! Our family went on a vacation over Thanksgiving to the coast area. We have never been there before and did not know much about the fishing in the area. The owner was not only VERY helpful but, also honest about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
5 attraction reviews
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Newport in the summer since the mid 80s but this was our first trip with Captain Reels and not our last! First the restrooms in the office were clean and so was the head on the boat. Second the boat was not crowded! I saw boats in the water packed to the gills! We dropped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My trip was cancelled the afternoon before. We took two days off work, and booked a hotel room, only to receive a phone call saying... sorry, we are cancelling your trip. They said that the boat was broken, and did not give us any other re-scheduling options or referrals to other charter companies. We ended up booking with another company... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bereal4sure, Manager at Captain's Reel Charters, responded to this review

Hi Eva, I apologize for your disappointment in our company but need to explain that we had an issue on the boat that you had booked. This is unpredictable and will happen on occasion and unfortunately, there is no way to know in advance when parts and maintenance will need to be replaced. These boats run twice a day every... More

Baker City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked an 18 hour tuna trip with Captain's Reel Charters for August 10th, 2013. I was very impressed with the friendly, professional service that we received. The captain of the boat and the deck hands worked hard all day to get us as many fish as possible. Even though the bite was a bit slow, we all ended up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Captain's Reel Charters also viewed

Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Depoe Bay, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Captain's Reel Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Reel Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing