We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Dunes Golf Links

3345 Munsel Lake Road, Florence, OR 97439
(541) 997-3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 17 attractions in Florence
Type: Golf Courses
5 visitor photos
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Short but tight, this is one of my favorite courses. Opening up the course has improved playability and has made it much more fun. Scenic and must play if you want a great golf challenge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sacramento
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 attraction reviews
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My view is that every golf course is worth playing once and many are worth a return visit. Ocean Dunes falls into the first category. It is poorly designed and poorly maintained. Bad combination. To make up for its very short yardage, it substitutes blind shots, hidden hazards, and other forms of trickery. Play it if you like but don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThreeRivers C, Manager at Ocean Dunes Golf Links, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Since taking over operations this year the Three Rivers Casino & Hotel has been making improvements to pretty much every issue you mentioned. Our goal is to continue to make the course more user friendly and an overall more enjoyable experience. We can't do it all at once but we're working... More

Florence, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A challenging course due to narrow fairways that is fairly short in terms of yardage. In summer, it is best played in the early morning before the afternoon wind comes up. There are times in winter when the sun shines and the wind is absent, and this is an ideal time to play the course also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Olympia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We didn't enjoy this course. It was reasonable, but not very well maintained. Looks like it has seen better days. Staff were great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've played this course about 7-8 times over the past 5-6 years. Since the casino has taken over its management it has gotten better. The pro has asked his maintenance crews to open it up some by thinning trees and shrubs. They have also been re-seeding many of the tee boxes. It's a tight course and course knowledge really helps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Love this place...............very narrow. Locals course, so you need to know where you are hitting....lots of blind shots!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasco, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Probably was a nice course when originally built. Either they will not pay for a qualified agronomist or are just to cheap to maintain the system. Lots of blind shots which even after a reasonably good shot, you do not know where to look for your ball. A euphonism for " challenging" poor maintenance and design. One person to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Great price but fairways were in bad condition. Some tee boxes were difficult to find. No bathrooms available on the course.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I don't mind quirky courses, but if they're excessively penalizing on top of it, that's where I have to draw the line. I'm a scratch player, so I should relish super tight fairways and hard-to-hit greens, but sheesh. Plus it's really poorly marked between holes, so we often had no idea where we were hitting from - back tees, especially.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bend, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Although a nice course, it is a difficult one. Add the wind factor and those narrow fairways are difficult to stay on. Then add the fear factor of not hitting the house windows that surround the entire course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThreeRivers C, Manager at Ocean Dunes Golf Links, responded to this review

Deanna, we invite you to come out and try us again. Since purchased by the Three Rivers Casino and Hotel, we have made some major improvements to the course, such as widened fairways, adding red and yellow ratings to the course and things are looking very green and our hotel golf package is now very popular. We actually have only... More

Travelers who viewed Ocean Dunes Golf Links also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Ocean Dunes Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Dunes Golf Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing