We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 760 Bayview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number: 419 967 0796
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Description: Kayak the Bay, Ltd. has single and double sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in...
Kayak the Bay, Ltd. has single and double sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in downtown Put-in-Bay, Ohio in Lake Erie. Gibraltar Island is only a few minutes paddle away with extraordinary limestone cliffs and coves. You can take an easy paddle in the harbor and paddle up to the 3rd tallest national monument, Perry's Monument, or follow the west shore to the Benson Ford (this has been on MTV's Unusual homes)or paddle over to Middle Bass Island and a walk around the old Lonz Winery with the glacial grooves in the back of the property. A paddle east will take you to East Point where you can get a great view of Middle Bass Island and Ballast Island or get out and have a picnic. Pull up and walk the beach Our kayaks are for getting in between the cliffs and rocks-they are very stable. Great for beginners and experienced kayakers. We give instructions on where to go depending on weather and your skill level. We can accommodate large groups and can personalize custom Sunset Tours or any kind of tour with a guide for your group.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Great family experience

My husband, myself, and our two daughters ages 9 & 13 rented the two-person kayaks. We are all inexperienced, and we had no trouble at all. It is definitely a great family... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 25, 2015
Rstrat
Add Photo

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 NEW

My husband, myself, and our two daughters ages 9 & 13 rented the two-person kayaks. We are all inexperienced, and we had no trouble at all. It is definitely a great family activity if you are visiting Put-in-Bay. Customer was service was great! They will show you a map with great places to explore. There was public restroom close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Our tour guide was awesome. Kept at a nice pace. Made sure my brother was fine, since he couldn't swim. He made sure we didn't get too behind. Loved it. It was really nice and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

B- Thanks for the review. I'm so glad you had a good tour with Bronson-he is super good. Actually-all my guides are fantastic. That's my goal.......I want everyone to have a memorable time in our beautiful area. That day was kinda windy and laid down nice for the sunset. That's the way it seems to be. Thanks again and I... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This was our first kayaking trip, went all the way around the island out there, had a blast. A few boats went by, but we just turned toward the waves and went up and over no problem. Staff was super nice and easy to talk to. Had good local recommendations on food too! Will try to make a return trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

TERRIBLE customer service. While I was rowing, my paddle just broke in two randomly during a normal stroke. They charged me an extra $50 to replace it. Dozens of people had used that same paddle before it broke, and it lands on me to pay for it? They need to either invest in better paddles or increase their prices a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kayak43456, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

Zack- I feel for ya. I really do. One of the least favorite parts of my job is to ask someone to shell out money for broken equipment. It's pretty standard that if you break or lose equipment-you have to pay for it. I HAD paddles that I didn't think held up and changed over to these paddles. They have... More 

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I went kayaking here and had a lot of fun. We went around Gibralter Island and then down the west side of SBI. It was pretty calm water for our trip with only a little bit of wake when the ferry went by. I would go do this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KayaktheBay, Owner at Kayak the Bay, responded to this review

Wow. Thanks for the review in March. You must be anxious for the summer to get here. I'm glad you had a good paddle down the West Shore to the Benson Ford (did you make it?) Please come back this summer and go for Middle Bass Island. It depends on wind and weather, but it's pretty cool to go "island... More 

Wellston, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I went kayaking here with my sons and we had a great time. We were able to go around Gibraltar island, see Perry's Memorial from the water and check out a ship house. Awesome!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleveland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The staff gave us great directions and tips for exploring the area. They lay everything out for you on a table with pictures, maps, and time estimates. We caught a lot of boat wake throughout the trip which made for some fun moments. There are a few good trip ideas and directions to go, so it would take a couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was a little nervous about kayaking after reading some reviews. We had a blast. We are not expert kayakers by no means, however, the kayaks are very secure and track well. The waves were a little choppy due to the wind and other boats, however, we felt completely secure and it was so much fun. I can't wait to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I went to Put in Bay on wed July the 9th,took the ferry from Catawba thought I would kayak to Middlebass. Vicki said the water was to rough and not to go but as we talked she said conditions would get better later so I decided to go out. I paddled out to and around Gibraltar. I started talking to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Staff was very knowledgeable about the area. A great way to see put in bay! Definitely a must do if staying in the area. For advanced paddlers, there are some great surf runs with a SE wind.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Kayak the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Kayak the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayak the Bay

Address: Address: 760 Bayview Ave., Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number: 419 967 0796
Location: United States  >  Ohio (OH)  >  Put in Bay
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kayak the Bay staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?