We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Safari Wildlife Park

267 South Lightner Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
800-521-2660
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos
Traveler Description: Come for a day of fun, education, and entertainment. Home of over 400 beautiful and exotic animals on the 100-acre preserve.  You will view and may... more »
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    137
    53
    21
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

Neat experience for the kids (10-13 years.) Lots of laughing from them, with drooling and paint scratches from the animals. Watch out for the big horned fella...you'll know what I mean when you see him!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you and your family had fun, and enjoyed our park. We hope to see you again sometime soon, Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park! More

cincinnati
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

The kids and I went before we headed to kalahari resort and had an awsome time. So much fun, the animals where friendly . A couple put their head in my car. the kids talked about how fun it was. would do it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a fun time. Our animals sure know how to get up close and personal! We hope to see you again soon! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park! More

Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 NEW

Staff of this establishment that we interacted with were above reproach! The physical surroundings were not what I had anticipated. The outside area where animals were left to roam was quite depressing; however the children were enthralled the way they came up to the car to be fed. That was exciting to see them close up. However, the area, for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do our best to provide optimum care and stimulation specific to each and every animals needs. If you wish to discuss this matter further please contact us at 1-800-521-2660 or info@africansafariwildlifepark.com More

Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Loved it! Use shore card for best deal! Car load $50. Otherwise it's $20 each adult. Walk through area and drive thru area. Huge bison come right to your window. You purchase grain and carrots to feed the animals. Tons of deer. Also a giraffe and zebras. cute pig race show and small animal meet n greet show! Good time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a fun time. Our animals sure know how to get up close and personal! We hope to see you again soon for our summer season!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park! More

Angola, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

This attraction was a bit of a let-down for the adults but the kids loved it. The animal food is expensive ($18 for three small bags of carrots and five cups of alfalfa pellets). You drive through the park and there are tons of alpacas and llamas, a few buffalo (including a white one) and a camel that come up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We apologize that you were disappointed throughout your trip. We recommend arriving at our park early in the morning, to avoid long lines and that is when our animals are most hungry! We hope to see you again! If you wish to discuss this matter further please contact us at 1-800-521-2660... More

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited this park for my daughter's 5th birthday. Upon entering the park, we waited in line for about 15 minutes before getting to the ticket window. We paid using our Groupon adult ticket purchase (x2), our kids were free and we also purchased a feed package. It wasn't until after we pulled away from the window and inspected our receipt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such an awesome time! We hope to see you again soon!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!!! More

Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited the park last week, July 15, a Tuesday. This second trip was so much nicer than our first trip which was on a Saturday. The Saturday trip was too crowded to do some of the activities, like the camel ride. Our family has a condo on the lake that we visit several times a summer, so we will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such an awesome time! We recommend coming to the park earlier in the day, to avoid long lines/that is when our animals are most hungry! We hope to see you again soon!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!!! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Born and raised in the area and have never visited. Having a young child now finally broke down and did it. Would recommend searching the net or local sites as it could get pricey without a coupon. We found a good deal as the local grocery had coupons one days for free admission for one party in car and child... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had such an awesome time! We recommend coming earlier on in the day to avoid long lines, and that's when our animals are most hungry! We hope to see you again soon!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!!! More

Beverly
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had two little tots with me a 2 year old and a 5 year old the drive through was a hit with them and they loved to feed the animals. Love the place but felt sorry for the animals in the drive though they had no real shade and seem to fight to find cover. But the walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our number one priority is the safety and well being of our animals and guests alike. We are glad you had such an awesome time! We hope to see you again soon!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!!! More

Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My family want there had the best time ever it was great.we had so much fun I work with the wildlife for a living . It was every fun for my kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ASWPASWP, Guest Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had an experience of a lifetime!! We hope to see you again soon!! Like us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park!!! More

Travelers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Safari Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing