We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Petworth House and Park

Address: Petworth GU28 0AE, England
Phone Number: 01798 343929
Website
Improve this listing
82%
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic Sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Type: Historic Sites, Sights & Landmarks
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    120
    42
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 attraction reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 NEW

We arrived here for a leisurely walk to find people attending for a turner exhibition which sadly meant that despite being NT members, we could not have free access to the house. This disappointed us but the kitchens are normally very interesting. However we walked around the grounds and enjoyed the usual good quality food in the cafe. We then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 attraction reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

We drove to Petworth House especially to see the Turner exhibition. Considering we are NT members we thought that the exhibition cost was a bit steep - in terms of the number of Turner pictures on display (that are not normally at Petworth anyway). However, climbing up to see the lovely room which Turner actually used when painting at Petworth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

As a National Trust member, I've been to Petworth many times and it's always a pleasure. Haven't seen the film yet but wanted to do the exhibition and it was well worth it - especially as parts of the exhibition are housed in rooms not usually open to the public. You MUST book as viewings are timed because the paintings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Exhibition room has timed entry and is worth seeing before you see the paintings in the house as it sets the scene for the timescale of his life and the film. Either queue early for your slot or come late as they will not overcrowd the room and there is space towards the end of a time slot. Fabulous seeing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We went to the Turner exhibition which was a real experience as it not only included some excellent Turner paintings but personal belongings of the artist and props etc from the Mr Turner film plus some of Timothy Spall's painting. The house has a great historic feel about it and has as good a collection of art as you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Having thoroughly enjoyed the film Mr Turner directed by Mike Leigh it was a real pleasure to view this exhibition. We first had a snack in The Audit Room Café, very nice sandwiches and excellent coffee all served with a smile. The exhibits in the Exhibition Room were very interesting but it is the stunning paintings in The North Gallery,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
45 attraction reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Having seen the wonderful Mr Turner film we were excited to visit the exhibition.The pictures are of course amazing and to be able to unhindered to get right up close to them is breathtaking So many of the scenes from the film were actually shot in the house and to be able to stand in the very spots is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

My mother and I were disappointed by this exhibition. It would have been helpful to be informed beforehand that we would need to park a considerable distance from the exhibition and then get a courtesy bus. We were therefore late starting our tour. The exhibition in the Servants Quarters is informative, but very small and certainly contained no great paintings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

All year round destination for a good day out. Check that the house is open as it has some Christmas openings but mainly it is only the grounds, shop, restaurant and second hand bookshop that are open until the Spring. When the house is fully open, it is one of the National Trusts best, with excellent example of a 'Downton'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Petworth House and Park. I'm so glad you think of Petworth as a worthwhile destination and have encouraged others to visit. We open fully in March but in the meantime we have our Mr Turner exhibition which has just opened to great acclaim. I do hope you will come... More 

Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We went to Petworth House over the Christmas holidays with several friends and some young children expecting to see the house dressed for Christmas as described in various National Trust leaflets and brochures. What a disappointment it proved to be. All we saw were a few rooms shrouded in darkness, one or two lit Christmas trees and a few children's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Petworth House and Park. I'm sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations with our Country House Christmas - I rather feel this is in part due to previous visits to other NT properties who have vast decorating budgets running into thousands of pounds. At Petworth we are unfortunately... More 

Travelers who viewed Petworth House and Park also viewed

South Harting, West Sussex
 
Amberley, West Sussex
Petworth, West Sussex
 

Been to Petworth House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Petworth House and Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?