We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Petworth House and Park

Petworth GU28 0AE, England
01798 343929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 attractions in Petworth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic Sites
70 visitor photos
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    97
    33
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

The park was a wonderful place to spend a couple hours. The lakeside walk was cool and relaxing as it was a very hot day. The most interesting place was the 'dig' that is taking place at the moment to discover more about the history of the grounds and house. The restaurant was well stocked and was very reasonably priced.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW

This is a great place to visit if you enjoy art. There are a huge range of paintings by the great masters such as Holbein and Turner . If you are expecting to see furnished rooms then you will be disappointed. We went on a Sunday when the upper rooms were closed. The servants quarters and kitchen are an interesting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Went to see where grandmother worked, but could not see where they would have been and no records on site. Nice enough house tho for a look around and paintings etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

More of a museum of art & sculpture than a usual stately home attraction. Only the downstairs rooms are open....why ? The grounds are free to visit. Bit disappointing really. The best part was the introductory talk by one of the volunteers which was really interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Petworth House and Park. I'm sorry you felt disappointed by your visit. The house is indeed like a large gallery and is often referred to as "The. House of Art" as it houses one of the largest and most important collections of art owned by the... More

Felixstowe
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Vast house, even vaster park (which is free). Knowledgeable, friendly staff were very entghusiastic. Impressive array of sculpture and paintings, but the latter rather dark and difficult to see against the glare of daylight through windows. The upper floor apartments were not open on the Saturday we visited (only open mid-week) which was disappointing. A pretty ornamental garden area rising... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Petworth House and Park. I'm glad our reception staff gave you an enthusiastic welcome to Petworth and that you were able to enjoy the house and parkland. I'm sorry you were unable to visit the 3 bedrooms upstairs but being a "living house" with... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

As with any attraction it is very subjective as to whether you will find the exhibits interesting or not. We loved the art works in the downstairs rooms and the kitchen display was fascinating. It was the enthusiasm of the staff that really shone through though. We arrived mid afternoon and despite the fact that they must have said the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Petworth House and Park. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, we are very proud of our Reception Staff and Volunteers, as you have said it's not easy being enthusiastic all day and keeping the welcome fresh, but we think they do rather well. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A bit disappointing! Very few rooms open to the public - very little furniture so the rooms appeared a bit bare. I wasn't impressed with the paintings - very dull. The grounds were under developed without any form or shape. No pretty gardens with flowers!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Petworth House and Park As a TripAdvisor user, I'm sure you will have read through some of the reviews below and the responses from us before visiting ? I'm very concerned that we are not reaching our new visitors via our website or the National Trust Handbook both of... More

Lavenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The house is in reality a huge art gallery, which for me is a little disappointing as my interest lies more with architecture and social history. However there are two great add on things to do which I would urge any visitor to do. One is the underground trip through a maze of tunnels under the house, you start to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Petworth House and Park. The State Rooms are indeed rather like an art gallery with their huge collection of pictures and sculpture, and as you rightly say this does not appeal to everyone. Luckily the more domestic Servants Quarters give the social historian a very real glimpse into the... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you have not been here, you should remedy that soon. It's worth travelling to, just for a walk in the park, or the stunning collection of painting and sculpture inside the house. There are follies/memorials in the gardens and other attractions on throughout the year. The kitchens in the house are amazing too, and staffed at times by people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Petworth, I think you have summed up the property perfectly. I hope you will be visiting us again soon ? More

Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 attraction reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Unfortunately we turned up on a Thursday when the house is closed. We obviously did not do our research as well as we should have done but this information did not jump out at us when we did look on the web. Sadly the team on the reception were not as helpful as we would have hoped and despite being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PetworthHouse, Manager at Petworth House and Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to Petworth, it sounds as though you had a few frustrations before you managed to enjoy the glories of Petworth ? It's always worth double checking the opening times of National Trust properties - they are sometimes quite varied. Our Reception Staff are normally well known for their... More

Travelers who viewed Petworth House and Park also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Petworth House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petworth House and Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing