We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walled Gardens of Cannington

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Church Street, Cannington, Bridgwater, England
Phone Number: 01278 655042
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Located in the village of Cannington, Somerset, the Walled Gardens lie...
Located in the village of Cannington, Somerset, the Walled Gardens lie within the grounds of a medieval priory and many of its fine buildings, including the walls of the garden, remain. Having undergone extensive redevelopment, the gardens were officially opened by HRH the Earl of Wessex, Prince Edward in 2009 and have also been accredited as a ‘quality assured visitor attraction' by VisitEngland. The gardens are also a Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) recommended garden. The gardens have classic and contemporary features such as; the 'hot' herbaceous border; the blue garden; a sub-tropical walk; and a Victorian style fernery, amongst others. There is also a botanical glasshouse where arid, sub-tropical and tropical plants can be seen and two smaller gardens within the walls (The Bishop's and Australasian Gardens) are areas of real tranquility.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 48 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Beautiful garden lovely setting

Enjoyed our visit with groupon voucher. Used to go to college here over 10 years ago & it's changed dramatically. Although small in size, the garden layout is good with lots of... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 20, 2015
sian p
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

It is so nice to come to a place where people go out of their way to make you feel welcome, and that's what the young ladies working in the shop and cafe did here. It is a small garden, just perfect for young children to run about in, with unusual plants for sale for the mums and grandmas!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

This tucked away garden in well worth a visit. It has a lovely garden to stroll in with toys for the children. It has wonderful greenhouses of plants, some unusual. Reasonably priced and often does entrance offers. Also a small cafe and interesting shop. Our family from grand kids to great grandma all love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

We went in May and the tulips were just going over and summer bedding was being planted up but still a very pretty and interesting garden to visit. In the Botanical Glasshouse there is a Jade plant the only other in the country apparently is in Kew.They have one motorised scooter that is free to use but as it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 NEW

Enjoyed our visit with groupon voucher. Used to go to college here over 10 years ago & it's changed dramatically. Although small in size, the garden layout is good with lots of beautiful spring bedding when we visited. Be good to see it in different seasons. Car park almost finished so easier access once this is sorted. Lovely cafe in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Hi Sian. How lovely that you've come back to see us, ten years on! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon - maybe in the height of summer when so much will be in full bloom and the car park etc. will be finished. Thank you for your review. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Had a Groupon voucher drive from East Devon , tea room does not serve any sort of lunch !!! Assistant was unhelpful Went to shop to ask for recommendations for lunch lady there was very helpful and recommended local pubs which we did visit It wasn't what I was expecting it really isn't worth an admission fee in my opinion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit, and especially that you felt there wasn't enough of interest in the Gardens - we hope you visited the Botanical Glasshouse - there are an abundance of tropical and rare plants and specimens to be seen! Unfortunately the building works have had a... More 

Honiton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

The signage for the temporary car park was inadequate and after a longish walk from the temporary car park we found a building site. The website stated car park was being resurfaced. More like a complete rebuild. Tearoom only serves drinks and cakes no lunches. Staff unhelpful regards tearoom. Gardens uninspiring. Lots of weeds and untidy plots. Won't be going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, however we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit. Unfortunately the building works have had a detrimental effect on the Walled Gardens in the sense that it looks unsightly on the approach to the Gardens, and obviously the lack of car parking. However, these works are being carried out for the building... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
55 attraction reviews
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

OK, it is quite difficult to get into with all the building works and parking is difficult BUT once inside it was a real treat even at this time of year. Well maintained gardens and delightful glass houses full of treasures including the Jade plant that was exceptional. Helpful friendly staff and this is one garden worth returning to in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed the Gardens, and persevered with the building works around the entrance. We welcome your return visit in the summer, when the works should be gone, and the car parking much easier. Many thanks, and we'll see you again soon! More 

Minehead
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We went here today, and although there is a lot of building work going on, it didn't stop our enjoyment. Beautiful walled gardens, clearly labelled plants, shrubs and trees. Loved the Aussie garden and the tropical glasshouses. Lots of herbs and looking forward to going again in the summer when there will be a lot more to see and hopefully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're glad you enjoyed the Gardens, and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer on your return visit! More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

After looking on their home website, it seemed like a great place to take our4 year old Grandson on Easter Monday. An hours drive to be greeted with a notice of cancellation of all Easter activities. Place was a building site, complete mess. Do no bother to go. Shocked that our entry fee was accepted . Thoroughly disgusted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're sorry you had a bad experience. Unfortunately, due to a higher than expected turnout we made the decision to cancel the activities. Although outside of the Garden walls there are upgrades to the car park and Cannington Court, the Gardens themselves are mainly unaffected. If you could email walledgardens@bridgwater.ac.uk, we will be happy to... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

these gardens have been lovingly restored and there is lots for the keen gardener to see both in the outside gardens and in the glasshouses which are a mini Eden. The tea rooms coffee and cake are not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Gardens -and also the Tea Room. We agree, the cake is fabulous! More 

Travelers who viewed Walled Gardens of Cannington also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
Cannington, Bridgwater
 

Been to Walled Gardens of Cannington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Walled Gardens of Cannington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?