We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walled Gardens of Cannington

Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Church Street, Cannington, Bridgwater, England
Phone Number: 01278 655042
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Located in the village of Cannington, Somerset, the Walled Gardens lie...
Located in the village of Cannington, Somerset, the Walled Gardens lie within the grounds of a medieval priory and many of its fine buildings, including the walls of the garden, remain. Having undergone extensive redevelopment, the gardens were officially opened by HRH the Earl of Wessex, Prince Edward in 2009 and have also been accredited as a ‘quality assured visitor attraction' by VisitEngland. The gardens are also a Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) recommended garden. The gardens have classic and contemporary features such as; the 'hot' herbaceous border; the blue garden; a sub-tropical walk; and a Victorian style fernery, amongst others. There is also a botanical glasshouse where arid, sub-tropical and tropical plants can be seen and two smaller gardens within the walls (The Bishop's and Australasian Gardens) are areas of real tranquility.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 40 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Gardeners will love this place.

The Walled Gardens of Cannington are set in the grounds of a medieval priory that dates back to 1138. They are owned by Bridgwater College and are used as a teaching resource for... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2015
Keith W
,
Frome, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

After looking on their home website, it seemed like a great place to take our4 year old Grandson on Easter Monday. An hours drive to be greeted with a notice of cancellation of all Easter activities. Place was a building site, complete mess. Do no bother to go. Shocked that our entry fee was accepted . Thoroughly disgusted.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're sorry you had a bad experience. Unfortunately, due to a higher than expected turnout we made the decision to cancel the activities. Although outside of the Garden walls there are upgrades to the car park and Cannington Court, the Gardens themselves are mainly unaffected. If you could email walledgardens@bridgwater.ac.uk, we will be happy to... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

these gardens have been lovingly restored and there is lots for the keen gardener to see both in the outside gardens and in the glasshouses which are a mini Eden. The tea rooms coffee and cake are not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Gardens -and also the Tea Room. We agree, the cake is fabulous! More 

Frome, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The Walled Gardens of Cannington are set in the grounds of a medieval priory that dates back to 1138. They are owned by Bridgwater College and are used as a teaching resource for horticultural students. They are very well kept and the plants are clearly labeled with their Latin name, common name and country/region of origin. The staff that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review; we're glad you enjoyed the plants and the gardens. Hopefully the car park will be finished very soon, so you can come again and parking will be much easier! More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Well worth a visit or even 4 visits. What ever time of the year you visit there are different aspects f the garden and different types of bedding at their best. the plant walled are well priced. The food in the cafe is well presented. Accessible toilets. When we visited in March the car park was being done up so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it sounds as though you really enjoy the Gardens, and that's what we hope for. See you again soon! More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I have been a few times, different times of the year and it improves all the time. They often have little fetes to have something extra to look at.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Drove from Exeter with a Groupon voucher, only to find it is closed! Surrounded by building site nothing like the pictures at all. Would not bother going for a few months at least, probably most of 2015. Particularly disappointing that their website says open weekends from 7th March, but signage on site says closed weekends at present. I would also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you had a bad experience in your trip to the Gardens. Firstly, the Gardens were open, but unfortunately somebody had put out the winter signage, and not the updated information about being open at weekends now for the spring/summer season. This was obviously a big mistake on someone's part, and... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I drove my parents down from Bristol to visit the walled gardens this morning. Unfortunately walking through the huge building site into the gardens rather coloured our experience, especially as heavy machinery was being used both there and from within the garden's buildings, it seemed. The gardens themselves, though quite small, were very well maintained and lovely, and the botanical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

We are so sorry about the work external to the Gardens; this is work essential to the maintenance of Cannington Priory, and on completion will also provide some essential car parking for the Gardens. The Garden Shop was unfortunately closed early on Friday due to a member of staff needing urgent medical treatment. We are very sorry about this, but... More 

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I was expecting to spend more time there that we did, but as there seemed to be a lot of building work going on it was difficult to park, then we found that the gardens were not as big as we expected, there was not a lot to buy and the café was dissapointing

Was this review helpful? Yes
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

We are very sorry you found your visit disappointing. We're afraid the building work has caused disruption to our car park, and this is something we are very conscious of, but hope that it will soon be back to normal. Despite the size of the Gardens, we feel there is are huge range of plants and flowers to see, and... More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We'd visited the gardens before but decided to return to the cafe as we've started looking after a friend's dog and knew the place was dog-friendly. After an exhausting lengthy walk incorporating the nearby marshes we arrived at the Walled Gardens at 2.45 to find that they were closed. Apparently November is the winter season and they only open on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Hi Carol Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're very sorry we weren't open when you arrived at the weekend. I'm afraid we don't open at weekends during the winter season, as in previous years we have just not had the footfall to make it viable. We hope this hasn't put you off though, and we'll... More 

Cannington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

The walled gardens are a very nice place to spend a few hours walking around, pathways lead you around the gardens and areas have different themes and lots of different plants. This can give you some great ideas for your garden. There is also a nice little cafe there with seating both inside and out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gardensmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, and we're glad you enjoyed your time in the Gardens and at the Tea Room. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Travelers who viewed Walled Gardens of Cannington also viewed

 
Bridgwater, Somerset
 

Been to Walled Gardens of Cannington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Walled Gardens of Cannington staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?