We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fishing Heritage Centre

Alexandra Road, Grimsby DN31 1UZ, England
+44 1472 323345
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: History Museums
13 visitor photos
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I had to take my son here just for the experence of the grimsby ,sorry the national fishing ports of the u.k. I was quite dissapointed as it being in grimsby there not being more in there about grimsby and how the town began as a bigger fishing port in the 1940 s. It is still a place that you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holton Le Clay
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Very interesting tour, 3 rd visit in 7 years, most enjoyed the new guide. Good tuition on Grismby's social base, its courageous, hard working class; and on how dangerous the trade of fisherman has always been. We like to entertain our visitors from abroad with this tour and they always like it. One condition to maintain a fishing activity in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The tour around the Tiger Ross trawler is a must. You can see how the men lived and worked with a very interesting person guiding you round the boat explaining how it worked. There's no way I would ever like to have been a fisherman on that boat! The museum itself is full of life size reconstructions of fishing life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Have just returned home with my family from the Fishing Heritage Centre. This is perhaps my fifth or sixth time I've been and every time I learn something new. The staff are some of the politest and helpful people you could ever wish to meet. My children were thoroughly entertained for a good couple of hours plus inside the museum... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I am not into fishing by any stretch of the imagination but I have to say this place is well worth the visit and good value for money with the refund on parking our son got in free. Many items are interactive and great fun for all not just the kids. Make sure you take a pen or pencil so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFHC, Education and Outreach Officer at The Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review of the centre! We recommend you use our large car park in front of the building and we can refund up to £2 (for two hours) from your admission. We're pleased you enjoyed the exhibits. Much of the centre is very realistic because it is real! The bar in the pub is an original... More

Great Yarmouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Didn't no that the car park cost would of been refunded, but parked in Sainsbury's, 3 hours as had time to do both. Had 2 for 1 voucher so only cost £6.00 so we spent some money in gift shop. We enjoyed all there was to se, from the shops to the old Pub so lifelike. You really get a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFHC, Education and Outreach Officer at The Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review of the centre! We recommend you use our large car park in front of the building and we can refund up to £2 (for two hours) from your admission. We're pleased you enjoyed the exhibits. Much of the centre is very realistic because it is real! The bar in the pub is an original... More

lincs UK
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
20 attraction reviews
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We took along a couple of friends to the museum, somewhere we have visited many times and still we are amazed at the story that it tells. It is somewhere everyone should visit. Our first hour was spent on the Ross Tiger, with a member of staff who first went to sea aged nine with his Dad & subsequently worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFHC, Education and Outreach Officer at The Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks! We're very fortunate to have a number of guides for the ship that actually sailed in her and are still able to lead tours for us. Whilst we can't guarantee this for every tour, we work hard to try to make this possible as we believe to see the ship and hear about her from someone that experienced... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We nearly didn't go to the fishing heritage centre as I didn't think my 6 yr old would be interested but as soon as we walked in the door we were met by John Vincent who invited us on a tour of the Ross Tiger trawler. It was a very interesting tour and we learned so much! John actually worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFHC, Education and Outreach Officer at The Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback with us! We're thrilled you had a great experience from the moment you came in the door! We passed your comment to John, your guide, and I'm sure we was pleased you enjoyed your visit! We're very lucky to have enthusiastic staff who are passionate about our history and... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The trawler visit was first class Dennis explained everything in detail - the museum was excellent - well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes
GFHC, Education and Outreach Officer at The Fishing Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for this lovely response to your visit with us! We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have wonderful guides like Skipper Avery, captain of ROSS TIGER for 8 years, and our other wonderful guides - ex fisherman and those just with a passion - working with our team at the Grimsby Fishing Heritage Centre. We... More

yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The entrance fee is minus the car park charge and includes a one hour trip around a trawler. Dennis Avery our guide was also the skipper of this trawler, He made the hour seem like 10mins - very good at explaining things - would recommend this .

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Fishing Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Fishing Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fishing Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing