We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Blades Ice Rink

Sports Complexes, Sights & Landmarks
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Address: Ambley Rd, Gillingham Business Park, Gillingham ME8 0PU, England
Phone Number: +44 870 085 2929
Website
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 44 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 5
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Most recent review
AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

All of the terrible reviews for this place are not wrong. This ice rink is truely the worst I have ever seen, and i have been to many, in terms of the rink itself and the staff... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed January 19, 2015
sarahlouise03
,
Dartford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

All of the terrible reviews for this place are not wrong. This ice rink is truely the worst I have ever seen, and i have been to many, in terms of the rink itself and the staff running the place. Firstly, the very rude and unhelpful receptionist and the manager on duty told to me that they were unable to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for leaving your second negative review. Due to your behaviour in trying to hold the rink to ransom with threats, it is sadly obvious why you have posted a second time. Your assessment of the ice being a health hazard is incorrect. Dartford is also only a 25 minute drive away so as per your visit, there... More 

Rochester
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Where to start ! Not one aspect of this establisments infrastructure looks to of had any investment in the last ten years. Everything seems to be dirty and worn out. I'm not going to bother with mentioning individual examples as there are so many and I wont spend my time pointing out the obvious. Do what you keep saying in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Dear RJF23, We are currently in the process of refurbishing several parts of our rink including the café and the bar. The infrastructure includes all areas of the rink and investment has been made both visually and in areas not accessible for customers. The rink does need further refurbishment and there is a programme of works in place. These can't... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

This place is truely awful, My partner and I have been to many ice rinks but Gillingham is by far the worst. We were on the ice for 5 minutes as the ice was wet, dented and a health hazard. The rented skates were completely unusable with bits of plastic hanging off, I had to ask for another pair and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hello jacksarah. We are sorry that the ice was not up to your expected standard on the day of your visit. Without knowing the date or time of your visit, it is difficult to review your comments. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We come skating at Gillingham every year at this time! We love it!! It's not the most modern building but the staff are lovely. We enjoyed our meal deal in the cafe. When my son fell over the young steward Jack was quick to help him get up and see he was ok! Can't wait to come back next year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hello Moaningmyrtle. Thank you for your review. A family of five ticket sounds a good idea to help with the cost for larger families. The viability of this will be discussed with senior management. The rink has been here for 30 years and the staff work hard to maintain a clean rink, whilst ongoing investment to replace old infrastructure or... More 

Sittingbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Decided to take my 6yr old daughter skating for the first time to Gillingham I used to go skating a lot when I was younger and had fond memories of it Gillingham was NOTHING like my experience as a kid / teen The staff were rude and unhelpful - more interested in socialising than actually doing their job The "Ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hello Melanie, we’re sorry that your visit was not to your satisfaction, but we would like to investigate your claim about our staff, would you be able to inform us of the date and time of your visit? To make improvements to the rink, we can only do this if able to identify the staff who have not performed their... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Why oh why does this have to be the only ice rink in Kent? Went there for a kids party. The party host was plesent enough but informed us at the beginning that she was going to set up the party room so would not be on the ice with us to help. The whole place is so run down.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hello Sophia. We are sorry that the rink was not to your satisfaction. We continue to invest in and improve the ice rink. Would you please be able to confirm what session you attended so that we may address the concerns you have raised about the staff. Weekend and holiday sessions are always busy times for us, we do offer... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We visited Gillingham ice rink a few days ago (2 adults and a two year old) and will never go again. Firstly the extremely grumpy and unhelpful reception woman should have given me a clue that it wasn't going to be a good experience, followed by the £30 entrance fee!! We then went to collect our thoroughly dilapidated skates to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hello Wendy, Sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Would you be able to tell us when you visited so that we may investigate your comments regarding members of staff. Thank you for your comments and knowledge regarding the ice. More 

xlouise17x
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

2 adults 3 children (2yr, 5yr and 14yr) £52 including locker and card charge (with an ice membership card). Toddler had to pay same price of adult plus £3 for a skate aid which clearly she needed. First time skating and she decided she didnt like it. Expensive family day (15 minutes) out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hi Louise. Your review is incorrect as children are not more expensive than adults. As had been explained to you, you paid for a family ticket which does not break down into a child or adult cost. The only criteria is you must have at least one adult and one child (under 18) in your group to qualify. More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I have recently visited Silver Blades Ice Rink with my Granddaughter. She had enrolled her three year old for lessons. Which she absolutely loved and the teachers were very good with all the little ones. I waited in the cafe with my Granddaughter's 18 month old having a nice cuppa and a plate of chips!!!!! The food on offer there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

So I visited Gillingham ice rink last tuesday as was greated by staff who obviously didnt want to be there. We had been told about filling in a form which we would give us a free skate, but were told this was not the case. After the disappointment we begrudgingly paid to get in until we realised it was only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Silver-Blades-Gil, General Manager at Silver Blades Ice Rink, responded to this review

Hi Hannahanddavid. I have copied below my email reply to you which you have not yet replied to. I have also, subsequent to this email reply, been informed that two managers had tried to contact you but the contact details provided by you were not recognised as numbers or emails in use. Dear Hannah Thank you for getting in touch... More 

Travelers who viewed Silver Blades Ice Rink also viewed

 

Been to Silver Blades Ice Rink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Silver Blades Ice Rink staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?