We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Needles

Alum Bay, Totland PO39 0JD, England
0871 720 0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Attractions in Totland
Type: Geologic Formations, Amusement/ Theme Parks
Description: Large chalk rock formations off the western tip of the island.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    223
    212
    132
    104
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

The Alum Bay, Needles, experience is an absolute 'rip off'. I was extremely annoyed to be charged £4.00 to park, just so that I could go and shop in a few tin sheds selling a load of junk! Of course, we could have taken a lift down to the Bay if it hadn't been pouring with rain and blowing a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 attraction reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This place really requires an update all round. Very commercial & I feel a rip off for families. People work hard for their money & to have a holiday. The shops are very tired ,the food cafes are very ordinary & tired. Food over priced & could be yesterdays menu. I am not in the habit of giving a bad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Please rest assured that we read every single review and pass all comments on to our management team. Sorry to hear that you think Alum Bay Glass is amateur. It has existed since the late 70s, and I assure you there is nothing amateur about it. If you'd like us to assist with... More

Daventry, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This is a very commercialised and almost cheesy place but it's what makes it brilliant for me you have the beauty of the needles to view and go on a boat ride to see them up close and the chair lift for that 5 minute thrill of it. Then you also have the sand making experience the glass making the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review; it sounds like you had a good day! We look forward to welcoming you back soon, but in the meantime if we can be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to contact us via The Needles website. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

The needles what can you say you get the boat and you go out and back along the needles.really interesting the guy on the boat gives a really interesting talk telling you the history and how the needles were formed .on a clear day they look stunning against blue sky and sea.if you vist the Isle of Wight you must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This is a great place. The entrance to the place is a bit commercialised with amusements park and cafes etc. Look beyond that and view the beach by taking old fashioned chair lift down (£3 one way for adult or £4 for return). Quite thrilling but it only lasted 10 minutes one way. Just think many have used this and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
45 attraction reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

there is a real missed opotunity here, needs bringing up to date as its disapointing. and could be so nice, Plus points great view from this area. not worth the effort or £4 car park fee

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The Needles Park was the most awful example of commercialism. Shops full of tat, 'music' out of speakers everywhere; pure abysmal exploitation and ruination of a beautiful spot. £4 just to park! However we did enjoy the chair lift down to the beach (avoid if you suffer from vertigo) and then had a short but very enjoyable boat trip to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheNeedlesPark, Public Relations Manager at The Needles, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback. Car parking at The Needles is just £4 for a whole day, or the equivalent of £1 per person based on a family of four people. For those guests arriving by public transport, or on foot or by pedal bike, entry to the site remains completely free of charge. This car parking fee enables us... More

birmingham
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
92 attraction reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

we took the cable car down to the beach and had a wander along , its an amazing trip down and the scenery is just amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Well worth a visit. A short walk up to the top for great views of The Needles. The chair lift to the beach was worth the cost, there were also boat trips from the beach around the local coastline. The glass blowing factory was really interesting, and you could buy some beautiful glass in the shop. Parking was ample and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

Took a day trip around the island and stopped at this area for approx an hour......it would be rather busy with families through out the summer however at the end of the season there were only a few people and the amusement park was not busy....we paid the £4 parking fee and £3 each fee to take the chairlift down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Needles also viewed

Totland, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Needles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing