We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old MacDonald's Farm

Weald Road, Brentwood CM14 5AY , England
01277 375 177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 activities in Brentwood
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos
Owner description: Animal attraction with farmyard favourites, exotic animals, rides, slides and unique animated singing chickens and frogs all included in the entry... more » Owner description: Animal attraction with farmyard favourites, exotic animals, rides, slides and unique animated singing chickens and frogs all included in the entry fee. Set on the edge of the M25 and handy for east London as well as Essex and all points north and south, this award winning leisure farm is educational and fun. « less
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    55
    50
    35
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

We visited today, a school day, with our two year old granddaughter. I was surprised at the entrance fee being £14.50 for adults and £13.50 for children. As there were some attractions closed, I would have thought there may have been a price reduction, similar to our experience at some other children's attractions. As there were obviously less staff manning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry you feel disillusioned. However we are surprised that a serial reviewer such as yourself had, in advance of the visit, neither checked out the prices or the wonderful deals available, not only Groupon but Wowcher, Amazon, Smartsave, Visit Essex, Discoverations and our own website before coming... More

Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW

Unfortunately our planned visit to the farm, our first, was marred by the constant heavy rain. However I was please with the amount of varied activities for our grandchildren aged 2,3,& 4. There was a lot of things they could not do due to the wet but there were many things inside that were available. Staff were still available around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and please tell your husband that Blueblue, the Parrot, says sorry again (but probably does not mean it). We know you are coming back so hopefully the weather will be kinder and we look forward to seeing you then. More

Harold wood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Not an amazing amount to do and see. A lot closed maybe because of time of year. We made the best of it though. Went in to restaurant which was busy and slow. Finally got meals asked for ketchup and was told very offhandedly that there wasn't any. Given everything comes with chips this annoyed my husband who had already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we see you came in February so get in touch and come back as our guest and I am sure you will get the old magic feeling back. Bit confused by your saying that a lot of the attractions were closed in February during the off season as we... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Overall, it is not value for money. There were a fair number of different types of animals and a number of fun rides for my 2.5 year old. However, the things that make Old MacDonald's farm not worth (and why I will not return or recommend it to others) are as follows: 1. Most (if not all) of the equipment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review and we are sorry you were disappointed. You have written a long review and therefore deserve a response, but it was not Sam you were told to contact but me, Ray, in case anyone else wants to get in touch! As you were told on the day by the café... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our little ones loved it here. Was very relaxed and fun. Unlimited rides that they could go. We had a lovely day

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for your warm review which is appreciated and we look forward to your coming again. Do say hello when you arrive and enjoy your next visit even more! More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I have taken my three grandchildren 2 or 3 times before and they always look forward to going there. They were very excited this visit as all they were talking about was the caterpillar ride and how many times could they go on it. Very unfortunately the ride was closed today as they didn't have a qualified operative to man... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read this review as someone who has apparently been before did not enjoy their day, and their grandchildren were upset, and so want to respond fully as I am sure when they reconsider they will appreciate that everything we did on the day was correct. First of all the Roller Coaster never opens during the... More

Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Myself, my mother and 18 month old daughter had a day out here recently and were blessed with good weather. There were lots of people here that day and there was a great atmosphere. There is plenty to do here and you can easily make a day of it with the animals, amusments and soft play area. There are plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

What can we say apart from thank you so much for an honest and welcome review and do say hello on your next visit. We always strive to ensure our many and growing number of customers have a great time and of course the wonderful weather does help too! More

Romford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Took my 1 year old daughter to see the farm today and firstly the prices were incorrect on the website. No apology from staff who just said they keep telling their web people. I was willing to pay the extra but just wanted to provide feed back so they could put it right but cashier got very defensive and felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and perhaps the confusion at our check in point disappointed you but the prices on the website are correct. However get in touch and we will invite you as our guest and perhaps we can look at the other issues you raised as we welcome constructive criticism. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Overall good place to take kids but I would not pay full price. We paid online in advance. If we paid on the day it would have been 80 odd pounds! The farm itself takes around 45 minutes to walk round. Then the other side is basically all rides and 1 pound rides. We all did have a nice time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

The thank you for the review and we are glad you had a good time and also that you took advantage of the special on line booking rate which is great value. With the indoor and outdoor play areas, slides, rides and adventure play and walkways plus the animated shows and of course the farmyard friends including piglets, plus Meerkats... More

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is a one great day out, and i would recommend it to any parent or guardian to bring their kids. Its also a great day out for couples. I printed off a voucher from the visit essex website which gave me a buy one get one free deal. To be honest, there are many bad reviews on here that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are really pleased you had a good time. It is particularly welcome from an experienced and genuine reviewer. I will make no comment on your views on other reviewers and their motives, but think you have posed a very interesting question! I can answer the two concerns you had and appreciate you... More

Travelers who viewed Old MacDonald's Farm also viewed

Woodham Ferrers, Essex
 

Been to Old MacDonald's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old MacDonald's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing