We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old MacDonald's Farm

Weald Road, Brentwood CM14 5AY , England
01277 375 177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 activities in Brentwood
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Zoos
Owner description: Animal attraction with farmyard favourites, exotic animals, rides, slides and unique animated singing chickens and frogs all included in the entry... more » Owner description: Animal attraction with farmyard favourites, exotic animals, rides, slides and unique animated singing chickens and frogs all included in the entry fee. Set on the edge of the M25 and handy for east London as well as Essex and all points north and south, this award winning leisure farm is educational and fun. « less
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    51
    36
    40
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

WE purchased a groupon voucher which made the ticket price reasonable, the farm itself has the backdrop of the M25 which isn't visually stunning and you can see where the farm was once a good attraction as the award plaques dotted around indicate. There are a couple of rides for little ones a carousel which was operated by a member... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we appreciate your comments on the animated shows and play areas and are delighted you agree that children enjoy the farm. Bit confused on the rides as they were fully staffed and open, including the Roller Coaster as this is a school holiday period, by our staff who actually... More

Ilford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

The farm is great....my 3 year enjoyed every minute. Like a mini theme park without the long queues! Very well thought out farm with plenty of seating for tired parents. Just a suggestion WiFi would be a great addition. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your warm review and we are delighted you all had such a good time. We do have wifi so not sure why it was not working when you came and will look into that. We were off line for a period due to electrical storms (well, that is what BT told us so would not... More

York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 NEW via mobile

My 3rd old daughter enjoyed her visit. It does not feel like a farm more like a fair ground with animals. She liked feeding the animals and there were several rides she could go on. The food is basic but the prices are low. Even though it was busy we did not have to queue for anything. My daughter liked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review which is particularly welcome from such an experienced reviewer. We are pleased you had a great time and could not agree more about our Punch and Judy performer....we were so lucky to find her and she really never stops entertaining the children. I must have a word with her as... More

Hornchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great value with the 2 for 1 offer. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Food was served within minutes. Cannot fault the day at all and hope to return very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Not much to say other than thank you for taking the time to submit a review and we are delighted you had such a good time. Do hurry back and say hello when you come! More

Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I havn't actually been to old macdonalds farm but noticed it whilst on the m25 and thought I'd check it out on here. Rays responses to critical reviews are awesome!! dry wit and sarcasm - I will definately be coming here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Wow...a fan! We look forward to your visit and hope you enjoy our farm. I do not mean to be sarcastic but we are all really proud of what we do here, and our staff try very hard to entertain our customers in all weathers. We have had such a huge increase in numbers over the years, and in particular... More

Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I took my grandchildren here a couple of weeks ago we was stuck on a place to take them for the weekend, They live in norfolk and was visiting us and we wanted to take them somewhere special, somewhere that they would remember. We have two grand daughters one aged 4 and the other aged 10, There is quite an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Well thank you so much for your very warm review and we are delighted you both and the grandchildren had such a good time and are still talking about it. Well worth a bit of googling before you come to see what offers are around as ours are available every day, no exceptions, and more than welcome. Do say hello... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'm sat here bored silly whilst my two boys are in absolute boy heaven. There are rides, animals, tractors, combine harvesters and slides. They are just about as happy as could be. Me? I'm sat under a tree, with three bars of 4G and looking forward to two sleepy children tonight. Thanks to Groupon, this didn't cost a fortune and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

What a wonderful parent! Brought the children for them to have a good time and enjoying the fact that they are! You could have borrowed my ipad as I have downloaded England's World Cup Highlights 2014 and killed another 3 minutes (including the opening titles!) but say hello next time you all come and we will get someone to give... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Glad we had a voucher to save on the cost of the entrance, however even with this saving it was too much to pay for what you get.... It's not a farm.... It's not very educational... There are lots of huts with mechanical side shows.... Singing frogs.... Singing chickens! This shows that the 'farm' is owned by a supplier of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

We are always sorry when people do not fully enjoy their visits and hope they will tell us why. I am particularly sorry that you did not realise that we are not a working farm. We try very hard, and have over nearly 20 years, to leave people in no doubt and our publicity, our website, our special offer partners... More

Essex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited today, a school day, with our two year old granddaughter. I was surprised at the entrance fee being £14.50 for adults and £13.50 for children. As there were some attractions closed, I would have thought there may have been a price reduction, similar to our experience at some other children's attractions. As there were obviously less staff manning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry you feel disillusioned. However we are surprised that a serial reviewer such as yourself had, in advance of the visit, neither checked out the prices or the wonderful deals available, not only Groupon but Wowcher, Amazon, Smartsave, Visit Essex, Discoverations and our own website before coming... More

Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Unfortunately our planned visit to the farm, our first, was marred by the constant heavy rain. However I was please with the amount of varied activities for our grandchildren aged 2,3,& 4. There was a lot of things they could not do due to the wet but there were many things inside that were available. Staff were still available around... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macdonald F, Owner at Old MacDonald's Farm, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and please tell your husband that Blueblue, the Parrot, says sorry again (but probably does not mean it). We know you are coming back so hopefully the weather will be kinder and we look forward to seeing you then. More

Travelers who viewed Old MacDonald's Farm also viewed

Woodham Ferrers, Essex
 

Been to Old MacDonald's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old MacDonald's Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing