We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Widnes Market

Flea & street markets, Shopping & Fashion
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Bradley Way, Widnes WA8 6UE, England
Phone Number: +44 151 511 8880
Website
Description: Free parking, next to the bus station and near the central shopping area...
Free parking, next to the bus station and near the central shopping area. What more could you ask!. Open every day except Tues and Sun, closed Bank Holiday Mondays. Widnes indoor and outdoor market offers the shopper traditional value in a modern venue.Stallholders provide fresh fruit, fish, vegetables, flowers, fresh and cooked meats, a wide range of clothing and furnishings, hardware, computers, telephone accessories, Cafe, DIY and even haircuts!Wednesdays there's a flea market selling second hand goods, from books to vacuum cleaners and coins.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Most recent review
Great place to shop

Free parking, handy for town, handy for supermarket, variety of stalls, fab baker in outside market. Butcher inside market also fab. So close to all town centre. Couldn't be... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 5, 2015
Karinquarrie1
,
Warrington, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Free parking, handy for town, handy for supermarket, variety of stalls, fab baker in outside market. Butcher inside market also fab. So close to all town centre. Couldn't be better

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Nice stalls nice people , worth a visit. Been going for years , and still think its good value for money . Staff work very hard to keep it running , with new and good events .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 via mobile

I live nearer to Warrington market than Widnes market but I would always choose to go to Widnes. All the stall holders are very friendly and helpful. The fish man is fab. We got our whole Salmon from him for Christmas and it worked out cheaper than the supermarket. The prawns are fresh and sweet. Make sure you visit the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Widnes market was fantastic 10 years ago, but in the time I've lived in widnes it's gone massively downhill. Absolutely no improvements have been made to the market pretty much since it opened, and many of the better stalls have closed in the downturn we find ourselves in. Now I fully understand that this isn't the councils fault, but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Nothing special about this market, outside markets pretty poor. Inside markets a bit better, I suppose it kind of has what your looking for but not enticing. Needs update now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mold
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
136 attraction reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

went on a tuesday and it was closed? been before and like all markets it seems to be suffering from the general retail depression it does have a few butchers and fish monger but the choice is getting limited

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CheshireSkipper, Public Relations Manager at Widnes Market, responded to this review

Chris, we are sorry you came to the market when it was closed. However, we have now taken your comment on board and put the opening days in the description, so we would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope you come back and visit us again in the future. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have only been once but boy did I love it and the reason I loved it was due to the fact it was an old style market and I love that and there should be more about

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Market has lots of stalls all reasonable prices has a outdoor and indoor section quite a few of the stalls seem to sell the same items. Meat man is goog tho and you will get a bargin there if your local its worth a visit bit I wouldnt go out of your way

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
32 attraction reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place needs a re-vamp ASAP. Stall holders that only take cash !! Not all but some stall holders of long standing are so arrogant and the outside market side needs serious consideration. Halton council give the team more money and freedom to turn this around.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 attraction reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Widnes Market is not like the old one from years ago, it is bascically stalls with shop prices i feel. there are some bargains but dont expect anything to cheap. The meat and fish market is also much smaller than years ago and a bit dissapointing. there is plenty or parking and best of all its free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Widnes Market also viewed

Widnes, Cheshire
 

Been to Widnes Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Widnes Market staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?