We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 7220 Wrightsville Ave, STE A, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number: +1 910-392-4386
Website
Today
9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
Sat - Sun 6:30 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Aquatic Safaris has specialized in SCUBA diving charters, instruction...
Aquatic Safaris has specialized in SCUBA diving charters, instruction, gear sales, repair, and travel in Wilmington, NC since 1988. We are constantly striving to improve our shop and our service. Aquatic Safaris operates two USCG certified custom dive boats, a 30' and a 48'. Our boats run daily dive charters to wrecks and ledges off Wrightsville Beach. We are a full service facility, including on the spot nitrox fills up to 100% O2 and Trimix.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 22 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 10
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Very good operation

I did a two tank dive and the operation was pretty good. The boat is close to the shop, so it's a little confusing as to why the customers have to pick up their tanks at the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed September 14, 2014
Kahntra
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Dove several times with Aquatic Safaris. Very experienced operator with high quality equipment. The boats are well maintained and safe. The boats are within 1/4 mile from the shop with easy access. The mates are helpful and help move tanks and gear to the boats. The crew really does ensure personnel safety and diver experience are maintained at a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

I booked an offshore trip fall 2014 to collect some additional B-roll on an underwater video a colleague was producing. The first thing I noticed when arriving at the dive boat was the number of spear guns. I've never seen spearfishing allowed on a charter not actually designated as a "spearfishing" trip. Actually, spearfishing with Scuba is a little "wimpy."... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I booked my trip back in August based on friends who have recommended Aquatic Safaris as a dive host. I stumbled upon the reviews on trip advisor and especially the negative reviews posted and I will have to say that my experience on 9/12 was farthest from what I read. The staff was extremely helpful. You are in fact allowed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I did a two tank dive and the operation was pretty good. The boat is close to the shop, so it's a little confusing as to why the customers have to pick up their tanks at the store. Just add the price of tank valet service to the price and people would accept it (& the money could go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

If you plan on doing a certification with these guys, stop. Don't do it. Earlier this summer (2014), these guys sold us an Advanced OW PADI certification and they did not provide a single class other than a 20mn hurried navigation class in the Banks Channel in the middle of boat traffic. They say that they require you to read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Paul G, Owner at Aquatic Safaris SCUBA Center, responded to this review

This is the second response to this review. The first one explaining the situation was rejected after originally being accepted and appearing on this site for a week. It is obvious that TripAdvisor is biased and one-sided on what they allow on their site. Here's what I'm going to say about this: Please don't read this review and think that... More 

Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

First of all I never blame a dive operator for the vis, current or number of fish I see on a dive. But I was surprised by a couple things. They had no mask or camera bucket on either of the dives, a first for me (I have been diving since '92 and have over 500 dives so not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My daughter and I made our very first ocean dive with these guys. It was absolutely amazing. The crew prepped us properly and made sure we felt comfortable before we left the dive shop for the boat. They made order out of the mass chaos of all 16+ of us getting gear unloaded and carried to the boat where they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I found AS to be very reasonably priced and an excellent value. Their boats are well maintained, spacious, and made for a nice ride out. All of their staff was super nice, helpful, and well aware of dive sites. I highly recommend them and would find it hard to believe if you were disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I had made a Saturday morning reservation and traveled over 3 hours to get there on time only to find out THEY wrote down the wrong date and would NOT admit to their mistake and THEN had the nerve to charge me for their mistake! Not only was I disappointed in that my son and I were not able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
Paul G, Owner at Aquatic Safaris SCUBA Center, responded to this review

Sorry this happened. We don't write down reservation dates. All our reservations are done in a custom written computer based system. You booked a charter on 05/21/2014 10AM for 2 spots to the Hyde and Markham for Sun, May 25th 11AM. You were sent a confirmation email on 05/21/2014 12PM which you read at 5PM. This confirmation email lists your... More 

Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
20 attraction reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our dive group just completed our second annual trip with Aquatic Safaris. Mother nature does her own thing so the water may not be to your liking. First day was a challenge, but second day was best you could ask for. Good vis and wrecks had lots of sea life. Captain Paul and crew did their usual outstanding job in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Aquatic Safaris SCUBA Center also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Aquatic Safaris SCUBA Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aquatic Safaris SCUBA Center staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?