We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sterkfontein Cave

Sterkfontein Caves Rd., Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, South Africa
+27 14 577 9000
Update attraction details
Type: Caverns/ Caves
36 visitor photos
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 NEW via mobile

An excellent attraction and well worth the trip. Our guide, Danny, was amazing - enthusiastic and knowledgeable. A great day out when done with Marapeng. Both are world class attractions with friendly staff and very good amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Sonja L Many thanks for reviewing the Sterkfontein Caves We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. Your comments about Danny will be passed on to Danny. Thanks and regards Tony More

Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Unfortunately the caves were closed due to the heavy rain that the area has recently experienced. But fortunately we had booked ahead for the Cooper Cave walking tour and picnic which left from Sterkfontein Caves and this proved to be a really special and wonderful experience. I would highly recommend booking this for anyone visiting the area (advertised on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Nicola S Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write your review of the Sterkfontein Caves and Coopers Cave Tour and Picnic I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable time with Christine - her passion really does come through. My apologies for the Caves being closed when you were there. Yes, we only have Coopers... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
104 attraction reviews
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The caves were just incredible. You start with a small museum visit on the history of mankind, then through a guided tour you learn about the history of the cave, then you travel down the long stairwell to the bottom. It was a hot day, but the temperature difference once your in the caves, drops by over 20 degrees Fahrenheit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Sean O Many thanks for the review you submitted to TripAdvisor relating to the Sterkfontein Caves. I am pleased that you enjoyed the experience, and that your back was able to take the "punishment" We hope to welcome you back in the future and that you had a great trip to South Africa. Kind regards Tony More

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 attraction reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Zodwa with her amazing energy and great sense of humour was what made this tour exceptional. Always entertaining while informing. I've never met another tour guide with so much passion. I laughed so much on this tour :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear MattAfrica Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Sterkfontein Caves. Your comments are greatly appreciated, particularly relating to the experience that you had with Zodwa Mtshali. I will certainly pass your comments and thanks on to Zodwa. Kind regards Tony More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Every time I descend into the professionally maintained caves, I am reminded that the universe is so much bigger than my little sphere. I find a trip through the caves humbling and enjoyable. I enjoy the tales from the guides as they are so passionate about their role in educating the public. If you can coordinate your trip to coincide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Erica J Your review of the Sterkfontein Caves is appreciated. When you are next in South Africa, you need to experience the "Murder, Mystery event", with our Scientists. This is an event that will enthrall you and also provide a new perspective on the work done in forensic science. We hope to welcome you back home soon Regards Tony More

Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Pretty easy tour--you walk into the caves and drop into the depths--you get a talk from the guides, but I wasn't paying much attention as I was just in awe of the fact this is where it all started for mankind. The tour is pretty short, and winds up and down stairs and through a few tight crawl spaces. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Utah_Birdtographer Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review the Sterkfontein Caves. A pity you didn't follow the Guides' talk, but your experience, and the magnificence of the space was worthwhile. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to South Africa Regards Tony More

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

you can see from the moment you arrive, they have plied a fair amount of capital into the building. Its not hard to see how this site became a UNESCO world heritage site. A thought provoking experience about where we could have come from and how the world looked in millennia prior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Schmidhauser Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your experience at the Sterkfontein Caves on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your experience and found it to be thought provoking Kind regards Tony More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've been to most of the popular caves in South Africa but the Sterkfontein Caves was the most interesting by far! The guide was really good as well and we had plenty opportunity to ask her lots of questions. I would say that its perhaps not suited for the elderly or anyone who cannot go through narrow, low spaces. At... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Phoenix_LC Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your experience of the Sterkfontein Cave on Trip Advisor. We are truly pleased to note that your experience was good, and hope to welcome you to our Maropeng Exhibition in the future Kind regards Tony More

Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

It's a cave...... Not even a large cave, with very few interesting rock formations and no attempt to put the fossil remains found here in any kind of context. The guides are good, but the tour itself consists of walking down some stairs, a short walk in the caves themselves looking at the "elephant" rock and trying to make out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear amm1u Many thanks for the review posted on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry that the Sterkfontein Caves experience was not enjoyed. The Caves are not spectacular in that there is not much lighting in the caves, but this was never the intention. The caves are part of the World Heritage Site, and we are charged with the responsibility of... More

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were staying nearby, so we decided on a whim that we would go to these caves. While we were glad that we did, but it was definitely not an attraction that you would plan your trip around. I would only recommend going here if you are already in the area. The caves were very fun and interesting, with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony_Rubin, Managing Director at Sterkfontein Cave, responded to this review

Dear Powersh2 I am so pleased that you found time to visit the Sterkfontein Caves during your trip to South Africa, and that you enjoyed your Tour. I apologise for the wait in line that you had to endure, during our busy season. I hope that your trip to South Africa was enjoyable and worthwhile Kind regards Tony More

Travelers who viewed Sterkfontein Cave also viewed

Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Sterkfontein Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sterkfontein Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing