We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dead Broke Farm

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 6921 Wildlife Trail, Raleigh, NC 27613
Phone Number: +1 919-596-8975
Website
Improve this listing
Today
8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description:

Dead Broke Farm has a 110 acres of wood trails and more than 75 horses for...

Dead Broke Farm has a 110 acres of wood trails and more than 75 horses for all experience levels.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 254 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 137
    Excellent
  • 51
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 45
    Terrible
Fun outing

Good trail ride on a very gentle horse. If in a large group plan some extra time for mounting and prep time to get started as highlighted in their reservations. Overall a good... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 29, 2015
488cheryl
,
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was excited to start volunteering at the farm and said I would commit to helping out every Saturday. However, after spending one morning there I walked off the yard and will not be back. My first suspicion was the number of new volunteers who were starting that day. At my previous stables, we had all volunteered for a number... More 

Helpful?
Thank kjlyons
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this review

As the owner of Dead Broke Farm, I feel compelled to respond to your accusations. We did have a large number of new volunteers begin last Saturday, but 3 of the teens were friends and came together. And we had 3 adults starting that day as well - of which you were one. But we also had a 13 year-old... More 

Seven Springs, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I was looking for a place to take my wife horse back riding for her Christmas present. So we did some looking online and came across Dead Broke Farms. We signed up by calling and went ahead and booked a date for this past weekend. My wife has been on a horse a few time before but I had never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian J
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

My family and I went to Dead Broke Farm a few weeks ago and it was a great experience. Neither my 5 year old son nor 7 year old daughter had ever ridden a horse before. The staff did a great job picking out the right horses for my kids and were very patient getting them settled onto the horse... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca S
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

This place has way too many horses the pastures are not taken care of. i went to volunteer here for a week and was treated like and absolute piece of dirt I only ended up going one day because the owner and her daughter were very rude to me. i hope they get shut down worst experience of my life... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank deadbrokesucks
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

Good trail ride on a very gentle horse. If in a large group plan some extra time for mounting and prep time to get started as highlighted in their reservations. Overall a good experience.

Helpful?
Thank 488cheryl
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2015

Once again Carla and her staff treated my Meetup group (this time 20 members) to an exception day of trail riding at Dead Broke. While waiting for the horse to be prepped, members of my group got lessons in horse grooming. The horses were well-behaved. The trail ride went without a hitch (is that a pun?). Everyone in my group... More 

Helpful?
Thank TJ B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015

We took our Y-Guides tribe here (8 year old girls) today as a fun experience for them. The staff and owner of the farm were very patient and accommodating for our large group. Extra care and attention was paid to safety, so that horses and riders were carefully matched up. The horses are in beautiful condition, and it is obvious... More 

Helpful?
Thank A W
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Me and my mum visited NC in November from England and wanted to go riding, I am so glad we chose dead broke farm, they were really reassuring to mum, being she hasn't been on a horse for 20 years. I thought the ride itself was fantastic and even beautiful enough to keep an experienced rider happy. Not only that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank christy-jade01
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

What was supposed to be an enjoyable trail ride on a beautiful fall day turned out to be frustrating and painful! We were supposed to have a two hour private ride and end up on a one hour ride with 15 other people, mostly children. The staff and owner were rude and not customer oriented. The two guides were teenagers,... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Carol V
Carla C, Owner at Dead Broke Farm, responded to this review

Carol, my understanding from Stephanie, the lady who checked you in, was that you requested to downgrade your gift certificates from a 2-hour private to a 1-hour group ride and that you didn't want the difference in price credited to you. I thought that was odd because while I can understand requesting to downgrade from a 2-hour ride to a... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

My staying on the farm was excellent. I come from Switzerland and my reservation was a risk because I had no experience in horse riding and it was also not possible to verify the farm first. Nevertheless I got more than I have expected. I spent 3 days on the farm with a lot of horse riding on an easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert W

Been to Dead Broke Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dead Broke Farm and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chapel Hill, North Carolina

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dead Broke Farm staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?