We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422
Website
Today
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Activities: Golfing
Description: Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open...
Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 37 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Bolivia does not have much if this the the #1 thing to do in Bolivia!

The course is contrived. There are three nines and it is obvious some of the holes were crammed in or restricted because of ecological factors. I am NO fan of the blind shot or... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 18, 2015
Dave S
,
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The course is contrived. There are three nines and it is obvious some of the holes were crammed in or restricted because of ecological factors. I am NO fan of the blind shot or layup-layup hole and they have a few of those. When space was available there are also some beautiful and challenging holes. However, I just couldn't get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. The designer of the course, Fred Couples might be offended, but everyone is entitled to their opinion. That is what makes this country GREAT. In response to: "If you have nothing much else to do and they have a special/low priced green fee, you might want to consider it." We hope you have nothing... More 

Castle Pines, CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Not in good shape, but I had a decent round. Paired with a couple of locals who indicated course had indeed gone downhill, as far as maintenance last few years. Not enough carts to send out golfers on time, had to wait for carts to come in. Drove 1.5 hours from Myrtle Beach, not worth drive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are also receiving good comments from our customers. We simply cannot get them to post a review. It is a shame. We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience. We strive to provide an excellent day of golf for each of our customers, no matter the season. Unfortunately, this season has had some early challenges. Cold winter... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We played Carolina National (27 holes) on Saturday April 25, 2015 and was a good course to play, staff was friendly, but greens need attention. One issue is soon as you arrive, the practice putting green is almost dirt! Driving range is a little scraggly as well. That really concerned our group and sure enough there were several holes out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience. We strive to provide an excellent day of golf for each of our customers, no matter the season. Unfortunately, this season has had some early challenges. Cold winter and a spring peppered with cloudy days and cool nights has proven too much for a select number of greens here at... More 

Charlton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Played Carolina National Golf Course, for the price expected a lot more. Been a lot better places much better greens for less price. Down to the basic scorecard didn't even show the outline of each fairway. with the name expected a lot more played a lot of golf in years past this turned out to be just an average overpriced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are sorry you feel that way. We host approximately 45,000 customers per year. We have a very active membership and people come from all over to play Carolina National. There are a select few who do not enjoy the scenic river views and the unique holes Mr. Couples designed. We truly believe we offer a much better experience than... More 

Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I paid 60 dollars on a discount card to play a course that up to recenty stopped overseeding with Rye grass that had been done for many years.Iwas very dissappointed with the thin lies and dormant Bermuda grass everywhere . also this dump traps you at the end of your round with the dirty rag guy who chats you up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a less than favorable experience. We strive to provide an excellent day of golf for each of our customers, no matter the season. Unfortunately, this season has had some early challenges. Cold winter and a spring peppered with cloudy days and cool nights has proven too much for a select number of greens here at... More 

Buckhannon, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

we came here because of time and proximity to Southport. We are just visiting the area too. First and foremost, the staff was extremely friendly. Now the course was not what we were pectins. The fairways were still brownish and dry while the greens were dis-colored and slow. Price was ok for this time of year but the course was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The colder winters of late have had an effect on the courses in our area. The turf is thicker and healthier than ever before. It just takes a few weeks longer to turn color due to colder nights. Do not worry, the spring "green up" is right around the corner. We do hope you return... More 

Calabash, North Carolina
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This is one of the better courses on the north end of grand strand. A Freddie Couples designed course that is really challenging.Its a 3-Nine hole tract all named after birds and all equal in quality. Look out for the Fred Couples inaugural place that marks his first tee shot with 3 wood on first hole of" Ibis " 9,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We strive to create a pleasant golf experience every day of the year. We are looking forward to a strong spring season. More 

Texas
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
62 attraction reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of drawing Carolina National as one of my 4 courses for the Myrtle Beach World Amateur. Staying centrally in Myrtle Beach makes the drive to Carolina National a long haul. It was 52 miles from my hotel. Since this was a tournament arranged by a committee, I did not have a lot of interaction with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Freddie's course! We are glad you enjoyed it. We tell everyone that we are worth the drive, but it means so much more hearing it from a satisfied customer. We hope you return soon. More 

Independence, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Many times I have had the opportunity to play at the beautiful Fred Couples Course at Carolina National Golf Club, over the past 10+ years. Once again last week I played three days of golf on this outstanding course. I want everyone who enjoys golf on a well-manacured course, with challenging holes and a professional staff to come play a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return visit. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Played this morning for the first time. Had a 7:40 am tee time, which is the 2nd tee time of the day. Problem is, they double tee, and not well. The round took 5 hours, with the back 9 taking 3. There were 4 and 5 groups stacked up over hole and people quitting their round early. Too many other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for the slow play you encountered. You were unfortunate enough to play on the hottest day of the year and have several holes of cart path only due to large amounts of rain we have had this month. One hundred degrees and cart path only does not mix. We invite you back any time to give... More 

Travelers who viewed Carolina National Golf Club also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?