We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carolina National Golf Club

1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Bolivia
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Description: Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    0
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Many times I have had the opportunity to play at the beautiful Fred Couples Course at Carolina National Golf Club, over the past 10+ years. Once again last week I played three days of golf on this outstanding course. I want everyone who enjoys golf on a well-manacured course, with challenging holes and a professional staff to come play a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW via mobile

Played this morning for the first time. Had a 7:40 am tee time, which is the 2nd tee time of the day. Problem is, they double tee, and not well. The round took 5 hours, with the back 9 taking 3. There were 4 and 5 groups stacked up over hole and people quitting their round early. Too many other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for the slow play you encountered. You were unfortunate enough to play on the hottest day of the year and have several holes of cart path only due to large amounts of rain we have had this month. One hundred degrees and cart path only does not mix. We invite you back any time to give... More

Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Played 5-24-14 with my son. Very pleased with the course. Yes, there were some areas that were affected by a cold winter, but overall, the course was great. A member told me they did not overseed with Rye this year so the bermuda will be better in the future. Conditions will only continue to improve. Played Egret-Heron and loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. The longer, colder winter and our choice to not overseed produced a short period of thin turf on our fairways and tees. Fortunately, Mother Nature has been very kind to us since then. She has successfully helped us start to accomplish our goal of developing a thicker bermuda turf surface for all seasons. Our... More

Washington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Carolina National is behind other courses in the area in recovery from the winter. Tees, fairways and greens were sparse with grass. The layout of the course is great with challenges for all levels of ability. Several holes are very picturesque. The best thing about the day was that our group got sandwiches, 2 beers and chips. One of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We have been experiencing thin turf conditions, mainly on our Heron course. We have been moving play to our other nines, when possible, in order to mitigate some issues. Our longer than normal winter has definitely pushed our growing season back, but we are improving daily and are positive the worst is behind us.... More

Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We played a few different courses in the area during the Masters week and all had suffered damage as a result of the harsh winter we just faced. Carolina National was no different. Having said that is was more than playable and the layout and staff more than made up for the tough conditions. I have yet to play a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

May 2nd and May 8th reviewers both played our course within a week or so and had two completely different reactions to our course conditions. I speak for the entire staff at Carolina National when I say we strive to offer everyone a great golf experience. The winter was very harsh and it was near impossible to grow grass with... More

Berkley,MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We played this course April 17,2014. I know it has been a harsh winter but the course conditions here were considerably below what we experienced at 5 other courses that week. The fairway and rough were very sparse hard packed mud. We also played River's edge which is nearby and the conditions there were like night and day. I expected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

May 2nd and May 8th reviews both played our course within a week or so and had two completely different reactions on our course conditions. I speak for the entire staff at Carolina National when I say we strive to offer everyone a great golf experience. The winter was very harsh and it was near impossible to grow grass with... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Played Heron and Ibis courses on the 24th of April 2014 and found that the courses were in deplorable conditions, the tee blocks and fairways were like concrete. When you book a course with the name "Carolinal National" you would expect to play on a half decent course, not in this case. There was ladies member night function the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

I speak for the entire staff at Carolina National when I say I am truly sorry you had an issue at our club. We host several thousand guests per year, and it is unfortunate when instances like this occur. We strive to offer everyone a great golf experience. The winter was very harsh and it was near impossible to grow... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Played course April 28, 2014. Greens were undergoing conversion and were heavily sanded. It made it very difficult to read any breaks. That being said, the condition of the tees and fairways was horrendous. Weeds and bare spots covered ALL tee grounds and fairways. Saying it was a cow pasture would be an insult to cow pastures. Our group has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not have a good experience. We have experienced some problems with nine holes. The winter has affected a lot of courses in our area. However, course conditions are improving daily with the help of the warmer weather. I highly recommend trying us again. You will not be disappointed. We host several hundred golfers per day... More

Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went to carolina national as part of a golf package. Fairways were in terrible condition. Areas around the green were muddy and left chips with very tight lies. The staff was very friendly but the course conditions made it very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Carolina National is truly sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience. It is our goal to produce a great golf experience every day of the year. With the harsh winter we had this year, our course is nearly three weeks behind our normal pace for the turf to move out of dormancy. This has produced less than favorable conditions... More

Southport, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Carolina National is a secret gem that is five minutes from my from home. It has delicious food on Tuesday and Friday evenings that we have tried. My husband has golfed there and he said that the course is amazing. He likes that this time of year he can get 9 holes of golf in the afternoon. My niece is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Carolina National Golf Club also viewed

Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
 
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina National Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing