We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1643 Goley Hewett Rd SE, Bolivia, NC 28422
Website
Today
6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 7:00 pm
Activities: Golfing
Description: Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open...
Fred Couples 27 hole semi-private golf club. Full-service restaurant open to the public.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 33 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
This golf course is over priced and not overseeded

I paid 60 dollars on a discount card to play a course that up to recenty stopped overseeding with Rye grass that had been done for many years.Iwas very dissappointed with the thin... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 10, 2015
claring
,
Portland, Maine
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I paid 60 dollars on a discount card to play a course that up to recenty stopped overseeding with Rye grass that had been done for many years.Iwas very dissappointed with the thin lies and dormant Bermuda grass everywhere . also this dump traps you at the end of your round with the dirty rag guy who chats you up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015 via mobile

we came here because of time and proximity to Southport. We are just visiting the area too. First and foremost, the staff was extremely friendly. Now the course was not what we were pectins. The fairways were still brownish and dry while the greens were dis-colored and slow. Price was ok for this time of year but the course was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The colder winters of late have had an effect on the courses in our area. The turf is thicker and healthier than ever before. It just takes a few weeks longer to turn color due to colder nights. Do not worry, the spring "green up" is right around the corner. We do hope you return... More 

Calabash, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This is one of the better courses on the north end of grand strand. A Freddie Couples designed course that is really challenging.Its a 3-Nine hole tract all named after birds and all equal in quality. Look out for the Fred Couples inaugural place that marks his first tee shot with 3 wood on first hole of" Ibis " 9,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We strive to create a pleasant golf experience every day of the year. We are looking forward to a strong spring season. More 

Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 attraction reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I had the pleasure of drawing Carolina National as one of my 4 courses for the Myrtle Beach World Amateur. Staying centrally in Myrtle Beach makes the drive to Carolina National a long haul. It was 52 miles from my hotel. Since this was a tournament arranged by a committee, I did not have a lot of interaction with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Freddie's course! We are glad you enjoyed it. We tell everyone that we are worth the drive, but it means so much more hearing it from a satisfied customer. We hope you return soon. More 

Independence, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Many times I have had the opportunity to play at the beautiful Fred Couples Course at Carolina National Golf Club, over the past 10+ years. Once again last week I played three days of golf on this outstanding course. I want everyone who enjoys golf on a well-manacured course, with challenging holes and a professional staff to come play a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to your return visit. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Played this morning for the first time. Had a 7:40 am tee time, which is the 2nd tee time of the day. Problem is, they double tee, and not well. The round took 5 hours, with the back 9 taking 3. There were 4 and 5 groups stacked up over hole and people quitting their round early. Too many other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

We are truly sorry for the slow play you encountered. You were unfortunate enough to play on the hottest day of the year and have several holes of cart path only due to large amounts of rain we have had this month. One hundred degrees and cart path only does not mix. We invite you back any time to give... More 

Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Played 5-24-14 with my son. Very pleased with the course. Yes, there were some areas that were affected by a cold winter, but overall, the course was great. A member told me they did not overseed with Rye this year so the bermuda will be better in the future. Conditions will only continue to improve. Played Egret-Heron and loved the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review. The longer, colder winter and our choice to not overseed produced a short period of thin turf on our fairways and tees. Fortunately, Mother Nature has been very kind to us since then. She has successfully helped us start to accomplish our goal of developing a thicker bermuda turf surface for all seasons. Our... More 

Washington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Carolina National is behind other courses in the area in recovery from the winter. Tees, fairways and greens were sparse with grass. The layout of the course is great with challenges for all levels of ability. Several holes are very picturesque. The best thing about the day was that our group got sandwiches, 2 beers and chips. One of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We have been experiencing thin turf conditions, mainly on our Heron course. We have been moving play to our other nines, when possible, in order to mitigate some issues. Our longer than normal winter has definitely pushed our growing season back, but we are improving daily and are positive the worst is behind us.... More 

Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We played a few different courses in the area during the Masters week and all had suffered damage as a result of the harsh winter we just faced. Carolina National was no different. Having said that is was more than playable and the layout and staff more than made up for the tough conditions. I have yet to play a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

May 2nd and May 8th reviewers both played our course within a week or so and had two completely different reactions to our course conditions. I speak for the entire staff at Carolina National when I say we strive to offer everyone a great golf experience. The winter was very harsh and it was near impossible to grow grass with... More 

Berkley,MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We played this course April 17,2014. I know it has been a harsh winter but the course conditions here were considerably below what we experienced at 5 other courses that week. The fairway and rough were very sparse hard packed mud. We also played River's edge which is nearby and the conditions there were like night and day. I expected... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve L, Director of Sales at Carolina National Golf Club, responded to this review

May 2nd and May 8th reviews both played our course within a week or so and had two completely different reactions on our course conditions. I speak for the entire staff at Carolina National when I say we strive to offer everyone a great golf experience. The winter was very harsh and it was near impossible to grow grass with... More 

Travelers who viewed Carolina National Golf Club also viewed

 
Shallotte, North Carolina Coast
Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carolina National Golf Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?