We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rockingham Wild Encounters

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Corner Val St & The Esplanade, Rockingham, Western Australia 6168, Australia
Phone Number: 618 9591 1333
Website
Improve this listing
Description: Experience the exhiliration of swimming with wild dolphins in their...
Experience the exhiliration of swimming with wild dolphins in their natural environment. Meet Logo, Boomerang or any other of over 200 bottlenose dolphins that we have come to know as friends. You don't need to be an expert swimmer and we'll teach you how to snorkel. Just bring a sense of adventure and be ready for a wild encounter with one of the oceans most fascinating creatures. We have over 20 years experience and a better than 99% success rate.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$146*
and up
Swim with Dolphins Day Trip from Perth
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 233 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 187
    Excellent
  • 23
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Well worth the money and time

We were treated to this trip by family and all 3 of us loved it. Seeing the dolphins close up was amazing and looking at the different bird life in such a small vicinity. The... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
eefee
,
Cornwall
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

We were treated to this trip by family and all 3 of us loved it. Seeing the dolphins close up was amazing and looking at the different bird life in such a small vicinity. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and although most people were more interested in watching the marine life than listening to her she soldiered on but you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

Tried to book in the morning of August 14th at 9:30 am for party of 3 and was advised by the young woman who answered the phone that there is no need to make a reservation. She said that there was plenty of space. Got to the corner of Val and the Esplanade where there was no sight of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

We went there during winters. Now I know why there aren't so many people come during winter. It was freezing cold. However our experience is so much fun... the seals were so friend as they swimming and hopping near to our boat. A bit disappointed that the dolphins didn't show up but we will definitely come back if we are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Had an awesome time today. Took the 11:15am tour. Saw a lot of dolphins and and very playful sea lions. Was great to see them up close. Could only do the boat tour at this time of year but would love to get a chance to swim with the Dolphins later in the year. Would recommend this tour to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, Management Representative at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi deano77au Thank you for your positive feedback on your experience on the Three Island Wild Life Cruise. It sound's like you had an amazing day out on the cruise and I agree with you that there has been a lot of Dolphin and Australian Sea Lion activity of lately which is really nice to see. :) Hopefully we will... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We went on the 3 island cruise for 1 hr. Not long after leaving when we were well out in the water we saw dolphins. We also saw birds and sea lions on the boat and this was well worth the money. The lady doing the commentary was very knowledgeable and we got a quiz at the end for which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, General Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi Helen D, We appreciate your awesome feedback about our Three Islands Wildlife Cruise. I will pass your compliments regarding the commentary onto the tour guide, we are happy to hear that you found it very educational and were fortunate enough to see dolphins on your tour. We definitely agree with you that this winter cruise is a must-do attraction... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We were looking forward to this 3-island cruise as it seems very interesting and attractive in their websites and adverts. Staff at counter and onboard were all very friendly and nice. However, the boat was not a glass bottom boat as advertised. The cruise sailed to the sea lion island nearby and it was nice to see a few of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review and great feedback about our customer service. In regards to the boat not being a glass bottom, this was due to it being the first week of our new winter cruise the glass bottom boat was in getting serviced. This was advertised on our website when booking and all customers were informed if... More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

The crew are lovely and they have all the gear etc but being out in the open you spend a lot of time chasing around to find dolphins. The water was very cloudy and a bit choppy. We did eventually find dolphins but it was very hard to see them. I was a bit disappointed as to how little time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, General Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi DWeav, Thank you for taking the time to review the Swim with Wild Dolphins Tour, and for your positive feedback about our customer service. As we do not train or feed the wild dolphins for their own welfare, this sometimes means we spend time at the beginning of the cruise searching for a suitable group. As with any operation... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This is DEFINITELY a "Bucket-list" experience! The whole experience is well run and with such lovely, enthusiastic crew, you can't help but get caught up in the excitement. We were picked xxx ked up promptly and conveniently from Perth Central Station, for no extra charge, then taken down to Rockingham Jerry at Causeway Bay. We were warmly and efficiently welcomed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, General Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi Frances Munro, Thank you for your fantastic review of our Swim with Wild Dolphins Cruise. We are delighted to hear that you had an awesome trip swimming with the dolphins and were even lucky enough to swim with some calves too! We really appreciate you taking the time to give such positive feedback about the tour and staff, and... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

"AMAZING!! AWESOME!! PERFECT!!!" constantly being said throughout the trip today and I couldn't agree more. Had booked this trip at the suggestion of my colleague and was slightly hesitant since it is the end of the season with winter approaching, the weather has been quite chilly lately. But since I had a 50% off offer decided I should check it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you very much for such an amazing review and rating on our Swim with Wild Dolphins. I'm glad you were able to take up the offer we had out for the end of our season. The crew would be happy to read this feedback as they strive to make sure everyone has an enjoyable day and gets... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We did the tour on 22nd May - beautiful weather, calm water and we were lucky enough to be in the water within 15-20 minutes. The crew were great & made it easy for someone who gets a bit nervous in deep water! So many dolphins - so close and so vocal .... it was amazing! With such a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PenguinIslandLocal, Manager at Rockingham Wild Encounters, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for sharing your positive review on our Swim with wild Dolphins tour. It truly sounds like you had an amazing day out on the water, swimming with the dolphins in the wild is definitely the best way to do it! We hope you will be able to join us another time :) RWE More 

Travelers who viewed Rockingham Wild Encounters also viewed

Rockingham, Greater Perth
 
Rockingham, Greater Perth
 

Been to Rockingham Wild Encounters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rockingham Wild Encounters and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rockingham Wild Encounters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?