We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Matemwe Beach Village, Bluebay Resort & Spa, | Sultan Sands, Stone Town, Neptune Pwani Hotel and Melia Hotel, Tanzania
Phone Number: +255 24 223 8374
Website
Improve this listing
Description: Ocean Paradise Resort, Bluebay Beach Resort, Melia Hotel, Neptune Pwani...
Ocean Paradise Resort, Bluebay Beach Resort, Melia Hotel, Neptune Pwani Hotel & Matemwe Beach Village located on the north east coast of Zanzibar are closest to Mnemba Atoll, with the best diving and snorkelling spot in Zanzibar! Come and discover the amazing underwater world and the bottlenose dolphins at the famous Mnemba Atoll in the Indian Ocean. We also have a dive centre in Stone Town on the west coast. We have very high safety and environmental standards.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 153 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 95
    Excellent
  • 39
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
well organized dive trips

thanks to Sylvia and Thomas for some dayy filled with joy and fun. The divesite is not that colourfull as Egypt, but the spirit of the team and even the way to the divesite is... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 14, 2015
KirstenMarschner
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

thanks to Sylvia and Thomas for some dayy filled with joy and fun. The divesite is not that colourfull as Egypt, but the spirit of the team and even the way to the divesite is specual adventure.....Just do it. Thanks to evrybody for a nice boattrip on my boyfriend´s birthday and singing "Happy Birthday" in 6 different languages.....what a feeling:-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear KirstenMarschner, it is has been fantastic having you around! The birthday song on the boat has really been a great moment even for us: it was the first time we heard the Kiswahily version of happy birthday! A big hug to both of you from The One Ocean Team More 

Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

The dive instructor was excellent and safety was top notch. I took off one star because the bathroom was not very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Darlene D, it is so good to hear you appraisal on the quality of our instructor and safety procedures: we really put a lot of effort in keeping it at the highest standards. Dive centres bathroom tend to get quite dirty with all the water dripping from wetsuit and swimwear plus the sand from feet and flip flops .... More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We had our first OW dives in Zanzibar with one Ocean after qualifying in the Channel Islands, UK. Great organisation and 3 beautiful dives. Two of our party were snorkelling and their first snorkel was not good, no visibility, almost no fish! The other three snorkels were good. We took our own masks and snorkels which was a good plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear MaryCordall, it is so nice to know that you and your family got a great time diving & snorkelling with us: It is very important that newly certified divers have a safe and enjoyable experience. There is not much we can do against the weather condition: this time of the year,July and August, the winds blowing from south-east can... More 

Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

I spent one day on Matemwe Beach and had my hotel (Bahari Villas) set up a snorkel excursion with One Ocean -an Australian company. They have been set up at this location a number of years and located a 5 minute walk from my hotel. One Ocean specializes on both snorkel and diving adventures. Separate groups (snorkel or divers) head... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear dontwastemytime83, it is very nice to read such a detailed , clear, accurate description of our operation !!! In this time of the year the winds blowing from south-east can make the sea a bit rough that's why we reduce the ratio snorkellers/ guides in order to give assistance to everyone and make sure you take home only good... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

This reasonable, middle of the road dive centre is let down somewhat by the not great gear. The wetsuit I wore was poorly fitting (possibly male), both my and my dive partners BCD's had to be changed out on the boat due to leaks. I also had BCD leaks during the dive, and trouble with my air. Our Dive Master... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear gotravelgirl, we are glad you liked the drift dive at Mnemba Atoll and that the divemaster of One ocean Matemwe was very good. Our wetsuit are unisex so even if you have been given the correct size it can fit differently from person to person depending from each person body shape. This is the reason why many certified divers... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My wife and I learned to dive with One Ocean while staying at Matemwe Beach Village after they were recommended by Africa Travel Resource. We got our PADI open water certification with Thibault who was an excellent instructor. All the staff were friendly, patient and I got the impression they genuinely enjoyed their diving. I don't have much to compare... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Ed M, it is great to know that you had got such a good time with your instructor and with One Ocean Matemwe !! Keep diving and let us know if ,one day, you will be back in zanzibar. The One Ocean Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,662 reviews
1,034 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 701 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I have been diving with the One Ocean Zanzibar Dive Center for over 4 years now. I come through to Zanzibar twice a year and always make suer I get in a couple of days worth of dives during my stay. Recently I spent a week in Zanzibar and went diving for three days (double dives each day). As always,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Ibadanboy, is difficult to reply to such a generous message, we feel so lucky to have people like you that come to visit us...try to be around in the beginning of March! We send you a big hug, One Ocean Team More 

The hague
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We use the services of One Ocean for a day diving. For my children first time ever. Their instructors Karina and Thibault were very good with them for the induction in the first day and the dive next day. Whole staff crew is quite friendly and safety conscious. We went for a beginners dive but visibility not that great. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear sergiocarol1991, children are the new generation of divers so we have to take care of them! Every instructor love to see the smallest enjoying the underwater experience. Hope to dive with you again, The One ocean Team More 

Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We booked with this company as they had an office where we are staying. Had they not we would have probably went with another company. First off the local working was very rude and really turned us off of wanting to give them our business. He never listened to us when we told him our sizes, wrote what he thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OneOcean, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Dumas85, we are very sorry to hear that your start was not good. There is no excuses why our office clerk didn't make you try the gear at the booking moment but he has been working with us for long enough to know quite well how our equipment is fitting , that's why only the fins size had to... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We went out on a double dive tour with One Ocean. We had excellent dives and in whole a great experience. Nick, the Belgian manager was friendly and organized everything to the last detail. The team was very professional and the boat was nice. They can renew the equipment as some of it is old. However, everything was in excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OneOceanManagement, General Manager at One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center, responded to this review

Dear Alhon1000, nice to hear that you enjoyed your day with One Ocean in Stone Town! We try hard to keep all our gear at its best but the african sun doesn't help, jackets and wetsuits fade so quickly that they look older than what they are. We hope to see you back in Zanzibar soon, The One Ocean Team More 

Travelers who viewed One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center also viewed

Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 
Nungwi, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from One Ocean: The Zanzibar Dive Center staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?