We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2830 Wilmington Rd, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number: +1 518-241-3388
Website
Description: Join us this winter for an old fashioned excursion through Lake Placid...
Join us this winter for an old fashioned excursion through Lake Placid Club's open vistas and experience the majestic forests of the Adirondack Mountains. While sipping hot cocoa, we invite you to explore the wonders of the Olympic Village, Ski Jumps, the High Peaks and Sentinel ranges of our mountains. On a clear night, immerse yourself underneath a blanket and enjoy the constellations of the Adirondack skies. All throughout the season, we also offer private & romantic, single horse open sleighs to complete your special day. Open days & nights. Please call for reservations. A good value for your Lake Placid experience! By coming you will assist us in helping feed a rescued horse or two this winter.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 11 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 3
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
What a delightful experience...

We booked a group ride on the red sleigh - there was a total of ten of us and we had the sleigh to ourselves! The ride was long, around fifty minutes as the horses took it slow... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 21, 2015
Katrina P
,
Dallas, Texas
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We booked a group ride on the red sleigh - there was a total of ten of us and we had the sleigh to ourselves! The ride was long, around fifty minutes as the horses took it slow, occasionally going for a short trot, depending on the trail. The views were splendid, I think the best we have seen around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Disappointed that the ride was more of 'hay' ride in a wagon. I was a birthday gift to my husband and we rode in a wagon NOT what you see in the picture of the nice seats etc! ...I've had plenty of "hay" rides in a wagon so i was not expecting this to be just another wagon except on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ADKSleighRides, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Placid Sleigh Rides, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. The red pioneer sleigh is a typical sleigh that horse drawn sleigh establishments use in the western states such as Colorado. It is not a "hay" wagon as it does not have wheels. Prior to booking, our website explicitly explains the differences between the sleighs that we offer. The Green Carriage Sleigh is... More 

Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We were so pleased ! First, the ride is long: between 45-50 minutes. We had one of the best days you can possibly have, a true, blue bird day. Sunny, blue skies, snow was crisp and white. We booked a group ride with a red sleigh and a pair of Belgian horses. We were served large hot cocoas, had thick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

An all around GREAT experience...friendly staff...beautiful horses and a nice long ride. My wife and I loved it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We booked online for December 28th for a daytime ride and it was spectacular ! We didn't want to be with a group so we did book for a couples private. The private has a single horse (a Clydesdale named Danny) and an open currier sleigh. The ride ran through about 40 minutes and you see a little bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

While the idea sounds great, this opportunity was underwhelming and disappointing. All of the ride consist of a 30 to 40 minute trip, with stops along the way, on a snow covered golf course. If you think the ride will be in a picturesque landscape, then you will be severely disappointed. Not worth the money and a completely unimaginative service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AdkHorseRescue, General Manager at Lake Placid Sleigh Rides, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. Here at LP Sleigh Rides, we inform all of our potential customers on the phone, and through our website, that unless the sky is heavily set with clouds and snowfall, we can guarantee a full view of the Adirondack High Peaks. The same applies to rides in the evenings. The sun sets in... More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Did a 5pm ride so was getting quite dark which added to the atmosphere. Had expected the ride to go further and through the woods rather than round a well worn track. Was $48 per adult and $30 per child for about 40 mins. Whilst a fun activity and added to the spirit of Christmas in the snow is overpriced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Our family managed to fit in a sleigh ride in the middle of November ! That was exciting as there isn't enough snow most of the time to book one this early. The ride was very long, had a bit of forest, open fields, and such mesmerizing views of the mountains.Travis was very descriptive and even gave us an intro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Did this recently with an all ages group. While it was nice to have something everyone could do together (ages 1-70) it was $48 per person. Also weird that the guide wouldn't give us a receipt (said it was because we paid cash). Guide was friendly and the blankets and hot chocolate were both welcome. But consider the price for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Long Island, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

It was a bit cold and pitch dark---although there are lanterns on the path. We took the ride at 6pm...I would suggest taking an earlier ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Sleigh Rides also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Sleigh Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lake Placid Sleigh Rides staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?