We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water Country

2300 Lafayette Road, Portsmouth, NH
603-427-1111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Attractions in Portsmouth
Type: Water Parks
Owner description: No one packs more fun into a water park than Water Country! We’ve got over 26 acres of your kind of fun for the whole family. Then again, we are New... more » Owner description: No one packs more fun into a water park than Water Country! We’ve got over 26 acres of your kind of fun for the whole family. Then again, we are New England's Largest, Cleanest, Safest, and Friendliest Waterpark! With cabanas and picnic areas, Water Country is the perfect place for your next birthday, party, family reunion, or group outing. Attractions like the all new Dr. Von Dark’s Tunnel Of Terror, Adventure River, and the Tahiti Tree House for children, ensure everyone has a good time at Water Country! « less
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    23
    17
    25
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

I have been a season pass holder at Water Country for the past two years and have visited the park over a dozen times with my family and friends. The staff and the water safety team take great pride in making your experience a safe and enjoyable time for you family. From the moment you walk in through the gates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Groveland, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

Every thing was over priced , the lines for the attractions where to long . wasn't the best looking place I have been to in the USA, it looked tired and dated , we went with 4 teenage boys and they had had enough with standing in line . On a positive note you are allowed to take your own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We happened to go on a fairly chilly August day (hint: don't buy tickets ahead of time), so we only lasted about 4 hours. But the kids had a blast in spite of that. They loved the wave pool and the 3 slides that we did (we did Thunder Falls 3 times), and they hung out in the pirate cove... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our park and taking the time to leave a review. For future reference tickets purchased online are valid for any day in the present operating season unless they are part of a special promotion that is date specific. We are so glad the kids enjoyed the park! Have a great rest of your summer! More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Overprice, torturing experience, so crowded that is truly dysfunctional. Cannot be possibly enjoyed, lines could take up to an hour for a 40 second ride. I definitely have a lot more fun at the local lake. The business model is set to make as much profit as possible without investing in the costumer experience. Shameful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. On hot, busy days there are lines, which we do apologize for. No line is ever fun to wait in. Once again thank you for your feedback and hope you have a great rest of your summer! More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I took my 2 sons and went with another family to Water Country last Saturday. The water was Really cold. When 3 boys 2, 4, and 7 won't get in the water there's a problem. Me and the other dad wouldn't either. 1st water park I've been to that had such cold water. I've been to many others. I sent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kennebunk, Maine
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I mailed the following letter to Water Country on July 29th. They have had weeks to contact me, but have not. It truly shows their lack of customer service is consistent. I want to share what we experienced at Water Country Water Park on Saturday, July, 26th. My husband and I arrived with our 3 children (ages 6, 7 &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the experience you and your family had here at the park. We understand your frustration and want to thank you for contacting us about your visit. No one should feel disappointed. Feedback from our guests is extremely vital to understanding where we are succeeding and where we need to... More

amherst, nh
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Water Country had a tremendous amount to offer for my 6 year old daughter and 3 year old son. We witnessed the teens and adults clearly enjoying themselves as well. There were loads of rides and attractions to keep everyone smiling all day long. On top of that, the staff was very professional and courteous. We were lucky enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the park. We are so happy you had a great time and look forward to hosting your family again in the future! Thanks again! More

Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I took our 3 kids (11,10,8) to the park today and met up with my cousin and her family of 4. We paid $15 for premium parking (instead of $5 for regular) and pulled up right in front of the main entrance. We waited in line for 10 minutes or so. Nought tickets and were in. Tickets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for visiting the park! We hope you have a wonderful rest of your summer and hope to see you in the future! More

Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Worst park experience of any type I have had. Purchased tickets before hand, you would think that would be of benefit? No! got there and had to wait in a crazy line because they only had one, yes one person checking bags. The line for those buying same day tickets had no one in it but of course they wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the park and for taking time to leave us feedback. We apologize for the wait at park entry. We have addressed these issues with the department managers and implemented changes in our operation to help resolve the line speed issues. Once again thank you for your feedback. More

Montrose, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We pre purchased our tickets and then waited in a long line to get in. Then went to the rental LINE and waited again to get the Cabana that we pre-rented. Now we have waisted a half hour in lines with our pre-purchases done online ahead to save time and we see the basic cabana that we paid $84 for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cristine T, Manager at Water Country, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the time that you spent waiting and thank you for your patronage. Have a great rest of your summer! More

Travelers who viewed Water Country also viewed

 

Been to Water Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing