We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Washington Auto Road

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Rte 16, Pinkham Notch, PO Box 278, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number: 603 466 3988
Website
Activities: Driving
Description: Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the...
Since 1861, a spectacular, steep eight-mile scenic road that leads to the top of Mount Washington, the highest peak in the Northeast. Drive yourself or take a 2 hour guided tour in company vans. Mt. Washington State Park and the Mt Washington Observatory are at the summit.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 595 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 408
    Excellent
  • 127
    Very good
  • 28
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Highlight of the trip

We had visited Mt Washington during a previous trip but the weather was foggy and we were told we wouldn't have a good view so we had skipped it. This time the weather did... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 24, 2015
Locksley44
,
Moncton, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

595 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

We had visited Mt Washington during a previous trip but the weather was foggy and we were told we wouldn't have a good view so we had skipped it. This time the weather did cooperate so off we went. Some people I know say they will never go up Mt Washington because of the road that goes to the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

Talk about a sketchy operation. unannounced road closures, updates not posted as to the status of the road being open or not. What a waste of time and emotion.... Not to mention blowing a weeks worth of vacation time to arrive only to here "... Sorry. . The roads closed". Poor job to those at the auto road that made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Howie W, General Manager at Mount Washington Auto Road, responded to this review

We apologize for the tremendous inconvenience caused to many of our potential guests over the last three days. When we do maintenance paving on the Auto Road as we have been doing during this time, we never know exactly when the weather and the availability of the paving crew will coincide so the chance of advanced notice of road closures... More 

wernersville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

We were there on what had to have been one of the most perfect days. We were lucky because the road just had opened the day before we went on it. We tried the road a few years ago but only were able to go halfway so being able to make it to the top was fantastic. On the way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampden, Maine
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Mount Washington Auto Road had incredible views the entire way to the top. If you do not like heights let someone else drive, take a tour van, or take the train. The kids loved it, got to explore in the learning center, and enjoyed lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

Went in September and lucked out with the weather. Apparantly, the day before it was closed in the morning due to ice. We headed out about 9am and it was sunny and blue skies. My husband drove while I took pictures and we had the CD going in the car. I was a little worried about my husband's car but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pa.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

If you've read some of the 'scary' reviews let me give you some advice. If you want to experience the Auto-Road be there early when the road opens for the day. If you start early you don't have to worry about traffic coming down hill and you can drive in the middle of the SCARY parts of the road. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

The snow coach is an awesome experience. Great guides explain as you travel the Mt. Washington auto road in the snow coach. You stop around 4200 ft, get out and walk around. The views and pictures are AMAZING, don't miss this ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evesham U.K
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We drove up the auto road in november and really enjoyed it, despite it being slightly terrifiying. It starts off nice, all tree lined roads plenty of space, then about two thirds of the way up we were covered in low lying cloud and could only see about 10 feet in front of the car. Im not sure whether this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Took the Snow coach up above the tree line with the goal of snowshoeing back down. Although it was cloudy and snowing at times we had little wind and still had decent visibility. Above tree line we disembarked and snowshoed all the way down which was just over 4 miles. There were only the two of us and we thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Other than a little road work, and trucks with dualies, it was a fun drive. We arrived early and traffic was nonexistent on the way up. Going down was worse. It didn't help that there were clouds shrouding the peak.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Mount Washington Auto Road also viewed

Bretton Woods, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Mount Washington Auto Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mount Washington Auto Road and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
West Bowdoin, Maine
Collierville, Tennessee
5 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mount Washington Auto Road staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?