We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour

Address: Newberry, MI
Phone Number: 906-876-2311
Website
Improve this listing
64%
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Newberry
Attraction details
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We took this trip on a beautiful day in September. The train ride is a little bumpy but we were able to see an eagle on the way to the boat and a BIG black bear on the way back. The boat ride is along the Tahquamenon River and is very peaceful. The captain knows many facts about the river... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the tour. We are working hard to make the bottom view stairway area safe. We are hoping to rebuild the stairway in the spring. More 

Charlevoix County, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

If you have never taken the trip, the fall season is the best.....meeting new friends on the train ride and traveling with them down the river was fantastic. The walk to the falls was peaceful even without being able to get down the second set of stairs this trip due to mother nature. Hopeing to go back again in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. Our family is pleased that you enjoyed the tour. We are hoping to have the stairway back in commission by next season. More 

Charlevoix, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We've taken this trip many times over the years and this year was one of the best that we've taken! The weather was perfect with warm sunshine and gentle a breeze on the river, we had a wonderful day in Northern Michigan. Just getting away from the regular day to day activities makes it all worth the price of admission.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our tour. We are very happy that you enjoyed the trip. We are working with government agencies and private contractors to stabilize the rock wall adjacent to the bottom view stairway. Making it safe to repair the stairs for next season. More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

This is a very beautiful trip through trees and then along the Tahquamenon River. The highlights of the trip are the scenery and the wildlife - we saw bears, deer, eagles, river otters and many turtles. The trip is pretty long, so it's probably better for adults than children but there is food available on the boat and bathrooms. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

We are glad the wildlife was out during your visit. It's always exciting to see animals. We are working with the Department of Natural Resources to find a way to repair or replace the lost stairway. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable visit with us. Thank you. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We went on the Trolly/Boat trip. It was rainy and windy on the way to the boat. But we still had a good time. Captain was very informative and made the boat trip enjoyable! Very educational! On the way back on the trolly we saw a bear. Which was wonderful! People complaining in the reviews need to realize it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Yes the loss of the stairway is sad. The geologist is coming this week to see if the rock wall adjacent to the stairs is stable enough to make repairs. It may be necessary to have some of the wall removed with explosives to remove loose rocks before we can make repairs. Thank you... More 

Glenn, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Although this is not the most exciting, comfortable ride - we thoroughly enjoyed the views and the animals we were able to spot along the ride. When the large bear decided to follow the trolley, very close to where we were sitting - we were amazed! The staff is very accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that the wildlife was out for your visit. Your photo of the bear is awesome. Thanks for posting it. More 

Shelby Twp
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We drove a hour and a half to ride the 1 3/4 hr trolley. They overbooked the seats and asked us to hold our kids "until we get further down and pick up another car". That ended up being the halfway point! We saw nothing but trees and a few birds. They said it was too windy for the bears.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the train ride. We do apologize for being that full. We were not expecting such a big turn out. Normally everyone has lots of room. Unfortunately your right about not seeing any wildlife that day. They are wild animals and even though we put out food they don't always cooperate. This time... More 

Glenwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was my fifth time taking this trip in the last six years, and nowhere I go while traveling through the U.P. is better. From the time I arrive and am directed as to where to park, to going inside and getting my ticket from Dixie (and catching up with her a bit), to all of the nice people I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Bill, It was wonderful seeing you again. Thank you for the wonderful review. Can't wait until we see you again next year. More 

Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was one area of our trip that we were looking forward to most greatly, and unfortunately we were terribly disappointed. Although the train and the boat are neat, both rides are too long and it's exhausting....literally...the exhaust from the train had many of us holding our breath. After 2.5 hours between the train and boat, finally we reached our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

We are so very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the tour. Every effort is being made on our part to inform passengers in advance that the bottom view stairway would not be available. You stated that the guide took off ahead of you. The guides job isn't so much to guide, but to make sure everyone gets back... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This being mine and my son's first time in the U.P., we were really excited about this attraction. We did the Trolley and Boat tour. As far as wildlife, the coolest thing we got to see was the Bald Eagles and the Osprey. The boat ride was fun fur a while, pretty scenery, but my son guy bored really quick.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dixie S, Owner at The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed the trip. More 

Travelers who viewed The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Toonerville Trolley Riverboat Tour staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?