We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 229 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number: +1 231-436-5094
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Description: Ugly Anne will start cruises for the 2015 season on May 21st and will have...
Ugly Anne will start cruises for the 2015 season on May 21st and will have a daily 5pm history cruise and sunset cruise both going under the the magnificent Mackinac Bridge and departing from Mackinaw City through October 12th . Tours from Mackinac Island will be scheduled this year by charter only. Feel free to call or email us with any questions.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$24*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
More Info
$24*
and up
Mackinac Bridge History Cruise

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 88 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 2
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Amazing experience

Thoroughly enjoyed our sunset cruise and was glad we chose it. The staff were friendly and courteous as well as informative. It wasn't too touristy and allowed us a different view... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 6, 2015
Katie D
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 NEW

Thoroughly enjoyed our sunset cruise and was glad we chose it. The staff were friendly and courteous as well as informative. It wasn't too touristy and allowed us a different view of the bridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 NEW

We contacted the folks at Ugly Anne to arrange a memorial service for my father. He passed several years ago, and this was the first time my family could gather in Mackinaw for a service. Chris and Tom showed us great care in boarding my elderly mother and the test of us. They ensured our comfort and safety and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW via mobile

This tour gives a different way to see the bridge. The ugly Anne goes under the bridge. Neat to see, but the cost should be half of what they charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed the trip with us. As for the pricing we have never had complaints before about our price point before. We reviewed many other boat tour companies and are in line with what they charge. Hope to see you again. More 

Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

This is one of those tours you may overlook during your stay in Mackinaw City but DON'T!!! We did a lot of things while we were visiting there and by far this was the best time we had during our trip. Everyone at Ugly Anne goes out of their way to be sure you enjoy your cruise and they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed the cruise with us. Hope to see you again. More 

Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This is one of the things we read about on TripAdvisor to do in Mackinaw City. After dinner, we just happened to walk over to the tour. We were talking to the lady who sold the tickets (who is actually the captain's mom), and the sunset cruise tour sounded so fun we decided to try it. Don't be put off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

So glad you found us and enjoyed the cruise. Hope to see you again. More 

Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

My granddaughter and I. Took the 5pm cruise under the bridge. We really enjoyed it and learned many facts about the bridge and the area in general. The crew was great and answered any questions that people had. the boat was very clean and I felt very safe on it

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

Thank you for coming to visit us and glad you enjoyed the cruise with us More 

Whitehall, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

June 12, 2015. Old lobster boat, very knowledgeable and personable crew, we had a perfect sunset the night we went out. I would recommend this anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Manager at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

The sunsets in the Straits of Mackinac and happy you were able to enjoy one with us More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I would highly recommend this outfit for their courtesy and professionalism. Their crew was attentive and took good care of us. Our family gathering on their clean and well maintained boat was the treasured memory we all hoped for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

It is always nice to hear kind words about the cruises we offer. Great to hear we were able to be part of your vacation memories. More 

ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We found ourselves in Mackinac City on the Friday after Memorial Day. I so wanted to go out on this boat tour and they called when they opened at 2 pm to reserve a spot on the 5 pm tour. They said they wouldn't decide whether they were going out (due to weather) until 4. I called at 4 and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were disappointed, it is to bad when mother nature doesn't allow us to take visitors out on our cruises. I believe that you misunderstood why we did not go out this past Friday. When we state it is due to weather conditions that includes wind. The winds were blowing fairly strongly out of the... More 

Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We took the Sun Set cruise on the Ugly Anne she was a lobster boat reconditioned and moved to the straights of mackinaw The Crew was very knowledgeable and friendly we enjoyed it very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris W, Owner at Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. So glad you enjoyed the cruise with us. We hope to see you again. More 

Travelers who viewed Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company

Address: 229 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number: +1 231-436-5094
Location: United States  >  Michigan (MI)  >  Cheboygan County  >  Mackinaw City
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Indian River, Michigan
2 months ago
Indian River, Michigan
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ugly Anne/ Straits Area Tour Company staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?