We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 440 W. Short Street, Lexington, KY 40507 (Formerly Lexington Children's Museum)
Phone Number: +1 859-258-3253
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Here's a museum where you can touch and play with everything! Explorium of...
Here's a museum where you can touch and play with everything! Explorium of Lexington is a fun and dynamic hands-on learning environment that inspires imagination and curiosity for kids of all ages. Open Tuesday - Saturday from 10AM to 5PM and Sundays from 1 to 5PM. Open Mondays from Memorial Day - Labor Day 10-5. Admission is $8 per person.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 64 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 16
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Good for a Brief Visit

I visited with a 12, 10 and 4 year old and perhaps my 4 year old enjoyed it the most for the pretend play that she could have done just about anywhere (including home) and the... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
M T
,
Detroit, Michigan
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDowell, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

I visited here with three kids--two age eight and one age ten. They really seemed to enjoy it. The arts and craft lady was super nice to the kids and they enjoyed making their craft. I would venture a guess though that in a couple of years the activities would be too young for them. It was new though and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

We visited on a rainy day to spend the afternoon doing something fun however it was a lot of work to entertain our little guy. The first floor is quite baby focused - we then went upstairs and they had some bugs and blocks and a few dinosaur statues. We didn't spend much time here just because it was boring.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW

I visited with a 12, 10 and 4 year old and perhaps my 4 year old enjoyed it the most for the pretend play that she could have done just about anywhere (including home) and the bubble room that made her a soapy mess. The museum was very small and most of the descent attractions involved a lot of reading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

My husband and I took our 2 year old son while we were in town for a convention....huge mistake. $24 for 3 of us, and we were done in an hour. Poorly maintained, messy, and many broken displays. The place did not seem clean and there was not much for toddlers to do. Our son seemed to have fun, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We went to Lexington for a long weekend last spring and this was one of our main destinations besides the KY horse park. Our kids were almost 7, 5 and 2 1/2 at the time and they all had a lot of fun. Everything was in good shape and working fine when we were there. There was also an art... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

My sister and I took my 3 year old niece....huge mistake. $24 for 3 of us, and we were done in an hour. Poorly maintained, messy, and many broken displays. I had to add water to the bubble machines because an employee was nowhere to be found. Although our 3 year old still had a good time for the most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

This is the worst childrens museum I have ever been to. It is incredibly filthy as nothing is ever wiped down and actually cleaned, but instead is just sprayed with a mild disinfectant I have never seen all of the exhibits in working order. Everything is always broken. I will never take my children or anyone else's children there because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Expl0rium, General Manager at Explorium, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience at the Explorium. As far as our cleaning practices, we have a daily and weekly cleaning procedures. Each and every day the Museum is open, all exhibits are wiped down, cleaned, and then sprayed with the mild disinfectant. Cleaning is done daily after hours (using checklists to make sure that no area... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I have been sending my son to camps there for the last three years! He loves it! I love how he is learning so much from the awesome staff and I especially love watching him interact with all the hands on items there! They have a great parents night out program he has been to and they even do great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

I tried to host a private event there and I had the worst experience. I had to call them several times and still never received the information that I requested after leaving my email and phone number several times. Ultimately, I was hung up on by the manager. I had spoken with her the morning of, reminding her yet again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Expl0rium, General Manager at Explorium, responded to this review

I am sorry you found your experience unsatisfactory. This request was a custom request and took time for our staff to make sure we had the correct answers for you. We were trying to ensure that we had adequate space for your needs, and determine the staffing requirements. We would enjoy having you at the Museum to see our exhibits... More 

Tipp City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

The museum amused our 1 and 3 year old. It is a little small so it's something to do for a couple hours if you need to kill some time. I paid $8 for my 1 year old which I thought was ridiculous considering there were many activities he could not physically do. I get charging admission for kids but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Explorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explorium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?