We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 5 miles west on U.S. 78, Washington, GA
Phone Number: 706/678-7060
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 37 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Wonderful Old House

Recommended by friends.. We were not disappointed. Not your typical attraction. The house was restored by the community. Furniture is period but not all original. You got a... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 31, 2015
HiltonHeadFisherman
,
hilton head
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hilton head
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Recommended by friends.. We were not disappointed. Not your typical attraction. The house was restored by the community. Furniture is period but not all original. You got a feel that real people could easily have lived here. The other structures from original plantation were also brought back to the site. All are open weather permitting.. Only the big house has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am so happy you enjoyed the tour. I am happy to read that your were impressed by the structures and furniture. We hope to see you back again. I enjoyed giving you the tour. Again thank you for such a great review. Take care! -Candice More 

Lake Stevens
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

We were on our way to Atlanta on back roads when we spotted this beautiful brick house. We turned around and met the docent Candace...and had a terrific tour! Unfortunately we were pressed for time, but Candace (only in her third week as docent!) really knew her stuff! Unlike other tours you get to be up close and personal in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback! I am so happy you came to Callaway for a tour. It is great to hear that you that unlike other tours you were able to get up close and personal with the docent and the artifacts. I love to hear that! Your review means a lot and I am... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

My wife and I were on our way to Atlanta when we passed by. We didn't have a lot of time for a full tour but Candice agreed to give us a personal "speed" tour and we really enjoyed it. Only wish we would have had more time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CallawayPlantation, Manager at Callaway Plantation, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Callaway Plantation! I personally enjoyed giving you both a tour. I want to thank you for the compliments, they mean a lot, I know you were pressed for time, however, I am so happy to read that you had an enjoyable experience. Hopefully we will see you back another... More 

Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

We met the guide at plantation store. From there she took us to the original Callaway one room log cabin with original fireplace. The original family was so large they only lived there for 5 years. Close by is the Federal home the family built. This two story was like a palace compared to the earlier cabin. All of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The tour guide was a wealth of knowledge on history of the plantation, surrounding area and the state. It appeared that she seemed to tailor each tour according to the interests the tourists - showing a very personal attention to detail. The plantation was beautiful and appears to have been very well kept. The only request I would have for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I'm a home schooling mom of three elementary aged children and we visited on a Tuesday around 11:00. We had the place to ourselves. For all four of us, we paid around $23 and had an hour and a half private tour. Susanna, the guide, walked us carefully through each structure on the property and provided such great information. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

While driving Hwy 78 from Athens, GA to the SC coast for a mini vacation we saw the sign "Mule Day" so of course we had to stop. For the next couple of hours we became tourists in our own history. We were at the historic Callaway Plantation. 56 Acres of History and, on this day mules. Modest cost of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Three houses to tour on one property. Great for the history enthusiast! Wonderful tour of Georgia history!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Took a day trip out to Washington GA and this tour was the highlight! I had a one on one tour, and it was well worth the price of admission. Interesting, informative, and engaging - brought the place to life hearing about the family. Fun to see how the housing of the family evolved over time, from a log cabin,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Level Contributor
198 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited Callaway on our visit to Washington. The home is well restored and maintained and the tour guide was very informative and helpful. The main house has a lot of history and period furnishings plus the out buildings are equally interesting especially the Gray House. We would recommend this house for history buffs of the South as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Callaway Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Plantation

Address: 5 miles west on U.S. 78, Washington, GA
Phone Number: 706/678-7060
Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Washington
Open Hours:
Tuesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Callaway Plantation staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?