We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Key West Aquarium

Address: 1 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number: 800 868 7482
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Conch Tour Train
66%
Ranked #35 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Owner description: Meet the undersea residents of Key West at the island’s first...
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
More attraction details
Attraction details
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Owner description: Meet the undersea residents of Key West at the island’s first attraction. With over a 100 species of fish, turtles, sharks and birds, the Aquarium features a Touch Tank where you can pick up amazing animals. The Atlantic Shores exhibit is a near the shore mangrove environment found in the Florida Keys. See stingrays, sharks, eels, lobster, tarpon, seahorses and colorful tropical fish. Feedings and tours take place at 11am, 1pm, 3pm and 4:30pm every day.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    210
    143
    51
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

I believe the Key West Aquarium is one of the oldest attractions in the city. It is located just off Mallory Square and could use a bit of a facelift. Never the less, it was a worthwhile and informative visit for two adults without any children. We did not stay for one of the guided tours, which I suspect would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

A really fun place to take the kids and even for adults. Touch the Rays and see them feed the sharks. The guided tour was informative and the people working there were polite and very enthusiastic about telling you things about the Attraction. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was that it is a bit small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Earlsboro, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

The aquarium is very small and not much on display. I was disappointed in the facility, but the young lady that gave the tour did a good job and was very informative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW

I enjoyed this but it's charm in being original to the WPA site built in the 1930's also means that it is a quick walk through. If you like sea life and especially with younger kids this is a good stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wasilla, Alaska
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
93 attraction reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

The aquarium is small, but there is so much packed inside to see. If you get there early, your children can feed the nurse sharks. That was great for the little ones.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

OK, so it's not the best aquarium and didn't have the most exhibits, but what it did have was great! We were able to see them hand feed sharks and sting rays, learned about the mollusks in the touch pool. We were able to handle conchs, hermit crabs, sea cucumbers and a sea urchin. They also have a sanctuary for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

For the price that they charge to get in, this was a very small place with limited exhibitions. However, they do offer the chance to get up close and personal with sea life that you don't get to encounter every day. I would recommend it, especially if you have younger children, but be sure to purchase it with one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

If you have kids, this is fun. Without, it's a pretty small and dated display, although I must say they've improved the facility since we last visited. If you've been to a major aquarium this is not comparable but like I said great for younger visitors or someone nit familiar with ecosystem of Florida

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

I live aquariums I visit them in a lot of cities I visit. I was disappointed in the amount of exhibits that were avaliable. I have paid the same amount to see four times as many things. I would skip this aquarium and just go snorkeling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Tourist trap, high price, less then 60 minutes of fun. Not sure why anyone visiting would actually go here. We were visiting with out of state family and drove to Key West from Fort Lauderdale and this is simply not worth the money. We had an hour to kill before doing a sunset cruise (which I also reviewed and HIGHLY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KWAquarium, General Manager at Key West Aquarium, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the Key West Aquarium. From your comments it sounds as though you did not take the guided tour/feedings that we hold several times each day. Our turtles which you described as lonely all have injuries to them (missing flipper, air pockets in thier shells) which prevents them from living in... More 

Travelers who viewed Key West Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Key West Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Key West Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?