We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 1023 Monterey Highway, Salinas, CA 93908
Phone Number: 1-800-221-1131
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 9 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
  • 0
    Very good
  • 1
  • 0
  • 6
Wanna get rid of a couple of thousand dollars? Avoid this business, give to charity instead.

This business is a disgrace of the motorsport. Seems that in the past it used to be a good racing school (perhaps back in those days when Skip Barber himself was in charge), but... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This business is a disgrace of the motorsport. Seems that in the past it used to be a good racing school (perhaps back in those days when Skip Barber himself was in charge), but apparently not any longer. Actually, you are very unlikely to be able to figure out the quality of the "racing education" there, because first of all... More 

2 Thank Brnensky
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I paid for a class at Virginia International Raceway in May, 2015. I was called by a Skip Barber representative 2 weeks prior to the class date and told that the class was cancelled because they could not get transmission parts. They offered me an alternative...the same exact class in New Orleans...on the same exact date. Apparently they didn't get... More 

2 Thank varoadking
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

My husband received a birthday gift for his 75th birthday from our children. He is a below the knee amputee and loves driving fast. This was a dream to drive a race car. Skip Barber were told he was an amputee and he can no longer drive a car with a clutch. They said not to worry they have cars... More 

2 Thank Evelyn R
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Booked a January class in Florida for my husband as his Christmas gift. Paid the $1200 in full in November, booked plane tickets and paid for hotel as well. 3 days before the class, Skip Barber called my husband and told him they had an error on their website and the date I picked, and paid for, was incorrect and... More 

7 Thank Accubal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We have the same story as the last reviewer. We paid $5500 for the three day program only to have Skip Barber cancel the September course in August. To date - January 2015 - we still have not received our refund. We have also been put off with talks of the cheque will be issued next week, then its next... More 

8 Thank Elaine S
Debbie E, Manager at Skip Barber Racing School, responded to this review

Hello Elaine – Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skip Barber Racing School. Your input, and the feedback from all of our customers are vitally important to us and we always attempt to exceed each customer's expectations. We sincerely apologize that your program at Laguna Seca was cancelled. It was a decision that was outside of... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband booked (and paid a deposit of over $5000) in May to attend a Skip Barber racing school at Laguna Seca in September 2014. Skip Barber might offer great classes but in August they cancelled the class and we’re still being given the run-around on the refund. Although we paid by credit card, apparently they have to request a... More 

5 Thank TFEdmonton
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

I attended a supplier conference at the Chateau Elan Winery and Resort (check out my review on this place as well) and had a blast taking a performance driving class that was put on by the Skip Barber Racing School. We got to learn from some very knowledgeable current and former professional drivers and put our learning to the test.... More 

Thank DJMotil
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've taken both the 3 day and 2 day advanced open wheel racing schools through Skip Barber (both at Laguna Seca). The instructors and track are world class. Several of the instructors have driven the 24 hours of Daytona, and also are very effective teachers. The cars are very simple, which is probably good for a driving school, especially if... More 

2 Thank Skihouse132
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is something I've always wanted to do and I finally had the opportunity to fulfill that dream. I arrived at Laguna Seca and from the minute I arrived the whole staff made me feel welcome and the organization of the course was better than expected. It took only one session on track for me to realize that there was... More 

Thank Michael G

Travelers who viewed Skip Barber Racing School also viewed


Been to Skip Barber Racing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Skip Barber Racing School and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 month ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Skip Barber Racing School staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?