We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pirate Cove Resort

100 Park Moabi Rd, Needles, CA 92363
+1 760-326-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Attractions in Needles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Marinas
Owner description: This secluded California oasis is located at the Moabi Regional Park, on the banks of the Colorado River, just 11 miles southeast of Needles on I-40,... more » Owner description: This secluded California oasis is located at the Moabi Regional Park, on the banks of the Colorado River, just 11 miles southeast of Needles on I-40, California. Nestled among the palm trees and surrounded by pristine white sandy beaches, this first-class family destination offers it’s guests luxurious accommodations all situated along Historic Route 66. Whether you are looking for a relaxing getaway or an afternoon refuge from your travels, Pirate Cove offers an oasis that brings you back to a simpler life where you can eat, drink, play, and unwind the pirates way. Pirate Cove offers everything one looks for in a destination vacation or afternoon getaway. For those looking for more adventure, bring your offroad toys out and discover over 3600 miles of offroad trails. Or, set sail on our Boat Tour and explore Topock Gorge and Havasu Wildlife Refuge where you'll find an abundance of wildlife, lava pinnacles and ancient petroglyphs on the gorge walls. Or you can choose to do nothing at all! Just sit back and relax... shaded by thatch palapas along the white sandy beaches of the Colorado River. We are always adding more features and amenities so be sure to check back often.Our Amenities:• On Historic Route 66• Yacht tours and charter• Off-road trails• Easy freeway access• National award-winning restaurant• Pirate-themed beach bar• Seven-lane boat launch ramp• 250 boat slip marina with 24/7 gas dock• Boat rentals and sightseeing tours• Fishing facilities • General store and gift shop• Security-gated dry storage facilities• Free resort shuttle service• Full hook-up RV campsites• Wi-fi available• Children’s waterpark and playground• Scenic nature trails• BBQ and picnic areas Pirate Cove is truly a place in time. If you’ve got the time, we’ve got the place. Pirate Cove invites you to experience this spectacular beachside resort like no other on the Colorado River. « less
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    5
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

Stopped here as part of a Colorado River Trip. Lots of nice camping spots on the river. Lots of fun things to do for family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Hello once again. A recent Labor Day excursion (broke in the new car) was our combined out of state trip to Needles/Lake Havasu/Pirates Cove/ Colorado Belle. Specifically after hearing so much about the Cove we took the easily marked exit heading west back across the Colorado river toward California for Pirates Cove. This outlet or channel from the main river... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed there this past weekend. For the price per night this was not worth it. The upstairs master bed room with on suite was HOT HOT HOT. Would not cool down. It was unbearable. the pictures posted on their website were very misleading. The lens they used made the living room area look MUCH larger. you can only sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ventura, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Pirates cove is a pretty nice place to hang out at but bar is very expensive and the service is absolutely horrible. We did get seated quickly and first order of drinks delivered ok. We didn't get our food for an hour and a half after it was ordered. The staff is friendly, but I think the management is horrible.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review

Kurt B, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that the service was not great during your time. We have brought this up to our management team and are looking into it. Would you mind letting us know the time you were visiting and where roughly you were sitting so we can address... More

riverside
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We arrived with our RV Trailer and rented a space in Cove # 7 with some friends. Approximately 24 Coves exists at this location. We try to stay somewhere in the middle to drive to pirate Cove Store ( for supplies) or ride on the waverunner to the marina for drinks and food. The cove is clean and close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We took our RV out there and enjoyed the amenities the resort had! It was full but not to the point where it felt like a tailgate party. Staff was wonderful and grounds were clean. Already made reservations to come back next month!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This used to be my Favorite Place. Now the staff and management enforce horrid customer service!!! We tried to cancel weeks prior to our trip. Ed Arnold's chuckle as he agreed he'd be "taking the money for zero services rendered" was something special. His explanation that it's the "Hottest Place to Be" but that he "Can't just re-rent cabins" illustrates... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay was not great matey. We will be sure to bring this up with our staff immediately. More

St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The first time we stayed here we had a better experience. This time we were treated like just another pain in the resorts side. We got there two hrs early before check in time. They would not help us out at all. So we had to wait in 115 degree heat. The lady at the front desk was not helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Piratecoveca, Public Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to hear your stay was not great matey. We will be sure to bring this up with our staff immediately. More

San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We like this place because its family oriented. You see lots of people with their children. The food isn't so bad either and the free water taxi is a huge plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been camping on the Peninsula beaches for 15 years. This is a trip our friends and I look forward to every year. We bring the kids, the dogs, the jet ski's, the firewood, it is a memorable family experience. Camping on the Peninsula and anchoring your boat right there off the rivers edge is awesome. However...... Recently the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
Piratecoveca, Guest Relations Manager at Pirate Cove Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to here you had such an unpleasant experience. We do know that over the last few years that we have made some big changes to the resort and the fees and rules that seem to not make some of our guests completely happy. We have gone through a lot of growth and have tried to accommodate everyone fairly and... More

Travelers who viewed Pirate Cove Resort also viewed

Needles, California Desert
Needles, California Desert
 
Needles, California Desert
Lake Havasu City, AZ
 

Been to Pirate Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing