We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
Phone Number: 27828382309
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark...

Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 195 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 167
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Good service, amazing trip

I got to go one morning to try and watch a breach. We saw 2 crazy ones and many seals eaten around us. The dive was incredible! First time scuba diving and three sharks circled... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Danny S
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I got to go one morning to try and watch a breach. We saw 2 crazy ones and many seals eaten around us. The dive was incredible! First time scuba diving and three sharks circled us. Captains had incredible knowledge and great customer service even with price confusions. They also helped me reach the man who took pictures months later!!

Helpful?
Thank Danny S
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip and got to see a breach. Pleasure to have you join us. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved every minute. Great day out. Staff are wonderful, really friendly and knowledgeable and work very hard to find as many sharks for you to see. It was great having the use of regulators as it meant you could stay submerged so concentrate on seeing the Sharks. Some reviews on other sites say the bubbles keep the Sharks away but... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We do believe that keeping the groups smaller on the boat means our guests can have a better experience- glad to have had you aboard. More 

Wuustwezel, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately the morning trips were already sold out during our stay in Cape Town, be we weren't disappointed in the afternoon. After a smooth boat ride (40 minutes) we arrived at Seal Island, the Great White's hunting grounds. After mere minutes the first one showed up underneath our boat. You simply would not believe how large they are! The onboard... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoelR
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us on our afternoon trip. Glad you got to have a great dive and spend time with the magnificent great white sharks. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

NOTE: I actually visited in September 2014, but TripAdvisor wouldn't let me say that. I guess I waited too long. We were picked up by a driver at our Waterfront hotel in Cape Town around 4:30am and drove down to Simon's Town. It was much colder at the dock than it was outside our hotel...and then when the boat starts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kissthefr0g
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you managed to have 2 dives..lucky you :) More 

Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

I went shark diving with this charter and had the time of my life! We saw huge great whites and the team was knowledgable and kind. I am going back next June with my kids, because I want them to experience the same amazing adventure.

Helpful?
1 Thank bavellini
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We hope to see you this June and the kids will be amazed at the breaching great white sharks. More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

I'm a little late in reviewing, but my wife and I joined an afternoon trip back in June (it just so happened to the be 40th anniversary of the release of Jaws). The crew on the boat were incredible nice and helpful. We saw the first shark within 10 minutes of stopping the boat. My wife did not go in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TorCan_IK
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for joining us and writing a review. We dont mind if it was a little late. We just thrilled you had an awesome time. More 

Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

This trip was a liitle disappointing. We went early July. The crew did work hard for us to see the sharks using the seal decoy and large fish head to attract them however there were few about. The shark dive was really quick. As soon as you saw a shark in the cage you were out. On the trip we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank fiona3550
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Bit suprised at your review. You called us and thanked us for a great trip. You even said you had an amazing dive in the shark cage. Yes, we cannot guarantee 2 dives. No one does. One dive is great and two is just really lucky if that happens. The most important thing to realize is that you did see... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We saw to shark breach the water and it was totally worth the early wake up and high seas. While we didn't have any sharks come to the boat, it wasn't the fault of the crew not working hard to make it happen, it was simply the end of the season. I would rebook with this crew in a heart... More 

Helpful?
Thank chris b
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you saw a breach and even though the trip was a little slow, I am glad you had a great time. Hope to see you back when you visit Cape Town again. More 

Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We felt that if we were in South Africa, we just HAD to do one of these shark adventures. This is where most of the shark footage from Shark week is taken. The day starts very early. There were about 20 people on this particular tour, most from the U.S. It was June so this is their winter. It was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cashmoneychris
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on African Shark Eco-Charters. We are so pleased you had a great time with us and saw a breach! More 

Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

This was our 2nd shark cage experience, and unfortunately AfricanShark Eco-Charters is a distant second. Unfortunately, we only saw 2 great white sharks and none around our boat so the cage was useless. Obviously, the charter company cannot guarantee a group of sharks, but we were all disappointed with our experience. Based on our previous experience, shark tours out of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simmrouter
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had a disappointing trip. We at African Shark Eco-Charters try really hard to give our guests a great experience and although sharks are never guaranteed we do try our best to make the most of each shark trip. More 

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Shark Eco-Charters and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from African Shark Eco-Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?