We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
Phone Number: 27828382309
Website
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark...
Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 166 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 144
    Excellent
  • 19
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Mother Nature Doesn't Play Ball

This has been on my bucket list for years and would have just made my day to see a Great White never mind be in the water with one. However despite everything being set up for... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 1, 2015
TartanTeddyBear
,
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Add Photo

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
94 attraction reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

This has been on my bucket list for years and would have just made my day to see a Great White never mind be in the water with one. However despite everything being set up for them (weather, visibility, clear water, calm air and seals staying close to the island) they didn't make an appearance. It's impossible to criticise the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We had a great time with the Eco-Charters team. We were fortunate enough to have a good shark day at the beginning of April. We the the last of the charter boats to arrive at Seal Island - the others were already anchored and had some shark activity so our captain decided to try and get a breaching attack -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We picked this company for 4 reasons 1) the TA ratings were good 2) the location was good for our stay in Cape Town 3) because they are the only company in South Africa that use regulators when you dive, rather than snorkels. 4) these guys have been doing this forever..... We definitely made the right choice. We had great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

African Shark Eco-Tours runs an excellent dive operation. This is the only outfitter that offers scuba while viewing Great Whites. The staff was professional and catered to a wide range of ability levels. Divers were given multiple opportunities to enter the cage and were expertly coached by the crew. As a diver, I could not imagine this experience being as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about ASEC. WE totally agree that scuba diving is the best way to dive with the sharks. I mean.....who really wants to just hold their breath? More 

Midvale, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

These guys were great and having the air rather than breath holding or snorkeling makes a huge difference. The ocean out of Simon's Town is warmer than on the Atlantic side which also made a huge difference. THANK YOU

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

thank you for your 5 star review. We are glad you had a great trip with us at ASEC and hope you come back again one day. Share the love of the sharks with others please! More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We had a wonderful experience with African Shark Eco-Charters. They were very responsive to our reservation and very professional. The boat and all equipment were all in top condition, and the crew did a great job throughout our entire charter to lure sharks into the boat. We saw many different sharks both from the boat, and down in the cage.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We really strive to make your trip a great one from the bookings to the shark trip. We are glad you had a super time with us here at ASEC. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Would highly recommend. The crew were fantastic, organised, professional. 4 in a cage at any one time max. Plenty of times to go in and out of the cage. Max number for us was 10 people. Didn't feel crammed. Having the regulators was a breeze. Meant you could stay under the water for as long as you wanted, in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review on African Shark Eco-Charters. We are thrilled you had a great time with us and hope to see you again. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend just so happened to be on a tour where we stumbled upon a pod of orcas as soon as we left the jetty (I think the whole crew were in agreement that it was the best trip of the season!) The skipper Rob spotted them immediately and was respectful when following them, we didn't chase them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

The trip was the highlight of the crew of this year so far and so glad you managed to see sharks, seals and ORCA's. What an amazing treat. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Early start but definately worth it - we unfortunately did not see any sharks on our first trip out but got a voucher for a second trip. Second time round the crew made sure we got in the cage first and luckily the sharks decided to come out. I would recommend Rob and the team to anyone. A wealth of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and so glad you had a great time and experience with ASEC. Second time around seemed to be a winner! More 

Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

You meet ASEC in the early morning and head out to see the Sharks. It was pretty cold, and we were exhausted from our flight into South Africa the previous day. Once we were out there, the water and view was beautiful, and then the sharks came! What an amazing experience, and we are so glad we booked with ASEC!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

So glad you had a great time with us. I agree that the view of False Bay on the water ( especially sunrise) is stunning. More 

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Shark Eco-Charters and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from African Shark Eco-Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?