We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
Phone Number: 27828382309
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark...
Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 185 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 160
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Great experience.

Highly recommended. The early start is definitely worth it. The staff are friendly, well experienced and great to get some insights on shark behavior.

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 28, 2015
Joel H
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

Highly recommended. The early start is definitely worth it. The staff are friendly, well experienced and great to get some insights on shark behavior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
St.Albans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

I recently planned a 10 day trip to Simons Town, Western Cape , South Africa. I gave myself enough time to fit in at least a couple of trips knowing that the winter weather would disrupt my available time on the water, which it did. But in stepped Roxy on the bookings team and helped arrange me onto other boats... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yeovil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 NEW

Great, pleasant and friendly staff. Efficient - Virtually very part of the experience kept to prompt timings while also allowing for flexibility out of the goodness of their hearts. Hardworking - In the sense that staff were consistent in performing the tasks required for attracting sharks to a god standard. Whether or not one sees any sharks is apparently mostly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us on our shark cage diving trip. We appreciate your review and glad you had a great trip. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

We have been several times on board, profesional boss and crew. The advantage on other similar companies is that you can stay under water as long as you wish because you breath on an octopus. So you have better chances to see the sharks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us again. It was great to have you aboard! More 

Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

My family and I had the most amazing time with African Shark! I would not have wanted to experience my first shark cage diving adventure anywhere else. As a southern California native, sharks are absent from my everyday diving escapades. The crew was knowledgeable and really had everyone's best interest in mind.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate it. Regards the ASEC team More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

An early start but well worth it! After being driven to Gansbaii we were greeted with coffee and breakfast and given a thorough briefing. Seeing how passionate the crew are about the welfare of the sharks is brilliant. Heading out on the boat we were not sure if we should expect many, if any sightings but as it was, an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

So glad you had a great trip. Thank you for your great review. More 

Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We had the best trip with african eco sharters. They are very kind and helpful and the sharks have their best interest. We saw shark breaching and people were allowed to go twice into the cage when they wanted to.The owner even helped us to plan a skydiving trip since we did not have access to wifi during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review and we are so glad you had a great trip. We also hope you enjoyed your skydiving whilst in Cape Town More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We had an out-of-the-ordinary experience on our trip - the Great Whites had left False Bay the 3 weeks prior and were just returning when we went out. There were only a few and they wouldn't come near the boat. It was extremely rare for the month of May, but as with all wildlife viewing, things don't always go to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good trip with us and do hope to see you back on your return visit to Cape Town! More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

The one thing I was super pumped about doing on my trip to SA was shark cage diving. I was a little concerned when we first got out because the water was so choppy and it was cold and gloomy and I was starting to worry that we wouldn't see anything. Thankfully, the crew was extremely energetic and kept us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliment about our booking manager Roxy. She really does try go the extra mile for our guests and your review is much appreciated! More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We didn't actually take a trip with this company during our honeymoon as there was a bad storm and it was clearly completely impossible to head out. Roxy in the office did her best to rebook us but our schedule didn't allow it. We were really impressed with the effort Roxy put in as she managed to book us onto... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your great positive review about ASEC. We really try make each trip memorable for our guests and the crew love interacting with everyone to pass the time when the sharks are a bit slow. More 

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

 
Simon's Town, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of African Shark Eco-Charters and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from African Shark Eco-Charters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?