We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

African Shark Eco-Charters

Wharf Road, Simon's Town 7995, South Africa
27828382309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Tours
Owner description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark... more » Owner description: Join shark expert and naturalist Rob Lawrence for a personalize true shark experience.Certified "Fair Trade in Tourism", we offer eco-friendly shark cage diving and great white breaching trips in Simon's Town.Small groups only Scuba Diving offered with no dive experience needed. A truly amazing experience. « less
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    17
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 NEW

I have always wanted to see the great whites so I was careful choosing the company to go with. I know I picked the best one. They are extremely professional and really care for the sharks (also very knowledgeable). All four of us were looked after well. We went as a small group with a few other people. You could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had an amazing trip with us. Hope you will join us again one day. More

Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

WE went shark diving in capetown Had to leave a feedback for this organization which I think lives up to all its positive reviews My experience is of a different nature ,we had made reservation in advance as we were only going to be in cape town for couple days. It was a must for my boys going on once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

I am so glad Roxy was able to assist you.She really does go " the extra mile", and we appreciate your positive review. Thanks a mill! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were attracted to Rob & his crew because we wanted to be part of a small group & also the responsible way your experience is managed. Other tour companies seemed to want as many people on their vessel as possible & once offshore had little regard for the well being & long term effect that human contact has on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

What an AWESOME Review about us here at ASEC. Thank you so much. We really do try hard at being eco-friendly and showing the sharks in their natural habitat. Thanks again for your review. More

Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I offered the shark dive to my husband as it was a dream for him to do it. He came back delighted and the experience was above expectation. The company came to Cape Town to pick him up and they headed to Simon town. The dive went very well with a viewing of 5 sharks, mainly all larger than 4/5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate it. More

Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Several friends and I (3 couples traveling together) used African Shark Eco-Charters for our shark cage diving experience, and we were not disappointed!!! Rob, Kim and the rest of the crew were very friendly and helpful! The weather was not perfect, but we were able to see several great white sharks, with all six of us seeing some while in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We totally agree that the use of the respirators is the only way to dive. Who wants to hold their breath and dive? More

New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Spend two days with Rob on the ASEC boat, and they are a first class operation. Crew is great and will help make sure that you have a great experience while on board. The sharks are the stars here, but being wild animals you never quite know how they are going to act. Sometimes it involves some waiting and that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. We totally agree that having the right crew makes all the difference, especially when you have to wait a while for the sharks to arrive. Come join us again! More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

we actually booked through a different company but placed on an eco-charters boat - we were glad we got to go with them instead of the other company. Gary and Rob were crew on the boat, can't remember the others' names, but they were so informative and friendly. double decker boat so you have your option on where to sit.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for review. so glad you came with us and we hope that we will see you again in March next year. More

Denham Springs, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

On our trip to Cape Town, we booked a trip with ASEC. The original day was weathered out, but Tamsyn worked with us and got us rebooked. This was my second trip with Rob and the crew and it was even better than the first! The crew was exremely friendly and you can just tell that they really love what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review. We are so glad you joined us again and had a a great time. More

Lake Worth, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My family and myself booked 2 days of shark cage diving and we weren't disappointed! I personnaly didn't go in the cage, just personal preference, but my husband and daughters did. They all loved it! we have a lot of shark photos above water and below! We did not get to see a breach, but thats not their fault the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So thrilled your family had great dives with us and that everyone had a good time. Do come again! More

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had an amazing morning airjaws and cage diving tour. This team is very professional and really make sure everyone gets the most out of the experience. There was only 5 of the 12 on our tour who wanted to cage dive so we ended up getting more the 45min each in the cage with a total of 5 sharks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AIRJAWS, Owner at African Shark Eco-Charters, responded to this review

Thanks for your review about us here at ASEC. We are thrilled you had an amazing dive and a great trip. Do come again! More

Travelers who viewed African Shark Eco-Charters also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to African Shark Eco-Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Shark Eco-Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing