We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 8 Church Street, Lacock SN15 2LB, England
Phone Number: +44 1249 730457
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: We are a takeaway, bake on the premises, bakery. We make real bread...
We are a takeaway, bake on the premises, bakery. We make real bread without any additives or preservatives. The National Trust specify that we may only use one table for customers to consume food which means they must either sit together at that table or buy takeaway food. We would like to offer more but 'rules are rules' and I hope that visitors will understand when we present them with a takeaway cup! To all our lovely customers, please keep visiting!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 39 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 13
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Great Snacks

It serves the purpose of a light toastie or a sandwhich or even an Eton's Mess. No complaints on the food or service.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 5, 2015
CLL10
,
Penang Island, Malaysia
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

Setting looks great especially for non-european tourists. Service was okay but feels cold. Bought a pack of 3 Chilli Jam here but 2 of them expired in May 2015 and July 2015.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Yes, what lucky people get to live in Lacock.....one of the most beautiful villages ever. The bakery was quaint, and what yummy food ! Not expensive, and the lady serving was so nice. We spent a wonderful day in Lacock, and would recommend you see it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015

There's a pub supposedly the oldest pub in Britain, dates back to 1315, called George Inn, which was filmed in a Harry Potter movie. On the same street with this bakery there are a house filmed to be Harry's house and another Harry's mom and dad's.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We decided on the Bakery rather than the NT café in the village because we fancied something different- which it was. A lovely bakery, with a nice atmosphere, selling a large selection of produce, much of it local. Our teas and cakes were nice. There is only one table, which seats about 6, so bear in mind that you may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We just fancied a light snack and had a couple of freshly made pasties, one meat and one veggie. Excellent. The cakes looked good, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Walking around Lacock vilage is like walking in to a period drama and the bakery is what you would expect the smell of fresh bread is so tempting

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

It serves the purpose of a light toastie or a sandwhich or even an Eton's Mess. No complaints on the food or service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

I've been eating my way around England having scones, jam and clotted cream. This bakery had the freshest, best scones, jam and cream I've ever eaten. Many other pastry delights but this is the best. Very friendly staff also. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

According to the brochure the bakery is offering 'freshly baked' bread and cakes...Well, we went inside and felt instantly confused. Lots of jam to buy. No bread nor any bakery produce that we fancied. Stale looking single slices of awful cake, some unravishing cornish pasties. My son was hungry so we had to buy a bag of crisps and water.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LacockGingerbread, Owner at Lacock Bakery, responded to this review

Hello dutydoc, I was so upset to read your review of our bakery which we really pride ourselves in making attractive to all our customers. I am so sorry that you were so badly disappointed and can only apologize for this and tell you how busy we had been that particular Easter weekend which obviously had depleted our stocks of... More 

poole
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Clearly the lovely lady didn't want to work Easter weekend. Served my wife abruptly a take away coffee. This tasted awful, a combination of tea, coffee and we suspect dishwater. We took it back and to be fair we're abruptly offered a refund. Experience spoilt !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Lacock Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lacock Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lacock Bakery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?