We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Hverabraut 1, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 486 1400
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Description: Laugarvatn Fontana is composed of a series of interconnected baths and...
Laugarvatn Fontana is composed of a series of interconnected baths and steam rooms that complement each other to create a healthy, natural and unique spa experience.Three steam rooms, collectively called GUFAN, have been built over a natural hot spring that has been used since 1929. The temperature of the steam varies depending on the temperature of the hot spring and weather, usually between 40°C (104°F) and 50°C (122°F). Humidity is very high in the steam room cabins. Grids in the floor of the steam rooms allow guests to hear and smell the boiling natural hot spring underneath, creating a natural and totally unique experience.Next to the steam room is YLUR, a Finnish-style sauna. The temperature is between 80°C (176°F) and 90°C (194°F), with a lower humidity than the steam room having a big window facing the lake of Laugarvatn. LAUGA, SÆLA, and VISKA are interconnected outdoor mineral baths that vary in depth, size and temperature. Some areas are suitable for relaxation and others offer space for movement and playfull moments. Stone artwork made by Icelandic artist, Erla Thórarinsdóttir, enhance each visitor’s experience. VISKA, the hot tub, is built at a slightly higher level than the other baths, providing a panoramic view of the beautiful surroundings while the healthy water nourishes both body and soul.Completing the ensemble are VATNIÐ and STRÖNDIN — the lake and the beach. Visitors will reach VATNIÐ through a gate. STRÖNDIN has warm black sand, which has been shown to be beneficial for those suffering from arthritis and other joint illnesses. VATNIÐ provides an opportunity to cool down between visits to GUFAN and YLUR, a temperature shift that is both healthy and strengthening
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 384 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 234
    Excellent
  • 113
    Very good
  • 29
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Go here instead of Blue Lagoon

A smaller and more personable version of geothermal baths. Several choices of shallow and deeper baths, each marked with a temperature rating, including a natural looking rocky... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 31, 2015
therese l
,
Cobleskill, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cobleskill, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

A smaller and more personable version of geothermal baths. Several choices of shallow and deeper baths, each marked with a temperature rating, including a natural looking rocky pool. You can also go into the lake (marked "dangerous nature" (!!) - although the sign warned that there might be very hot spots, we only found that it was cool. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

We were here in April and practically had the whole place to ourselves. Total relaxing experience. The scenery was breathtaking, like all of Iceland. Such an experience, to float about in warm pools, in the snow ,looking at snow covered mountains, beside a lake heated by Hot springs. Three steam rooms heated by the hot springs vary in temp. one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Booked a stop at the geothermal baths as part of the Golden Circle tour - and what a disappointment - having been last year we thought it would be great to take a party of 34 for a stop off - staff indifferent, hair dryers all broken in the ladies changing room, no soap no conditioner, but flickering tea lights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

We booked a tour that did the Golden Circle and Fontana Geothermal Baths. Our Guide a man in a large hat was useless. He insisted on taking us to shopping experience we didn't want to see. We got hardly any time at Gulfoss Waterfall or the Geysers (luckily we had seen both before on a far better trip with plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing your feedback. We are truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your visit to Laugarvatn Fontana or the overall journey you booked with your travel agent. We apologize for the malfunction in our temperature systems. We made some adjustments to prevent this from happening again. We are also sorry to see that... More 

Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Lovely to relax after a day of driving. Different pools plus sauna and steam rooms. Pools could be warmer but we enjoyed it anyway. Great smelling shower gel in the showers too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

You can swim in the thermal waters, natural lake and even enter a sauna like area heated up by a hot spring. Really worth a visit for thermal spa lovers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

We visited the Fontana baths in July 2015. We were quite shocked with the experience we had for a town which promotes these baths so much. My advise would be to go to local and cheaper baths for a better experience. We had two other bath experiences in Iceland, Myvatn Nature Baths and a simple local bath in the North.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for writing your review. We are terrible sorry to hear that you felt our staff were not up to the task. We will most definitely look into this matter and see what went wrong that day regarding our staff, and make sure that it doesn’t happen again. We take such allegation extremely seriously as we strive... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Saw this in a guide book and thought it was worth a go Not the cheapest thing to do but worthwhile. You can hire towels if you don't have one too. You can also have a dip in the lake if you are brave! I tried and made a quick retreat to the hot pools/baths. Not very natural set up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We were planning on heading to the Blue Lagoon before we caught our flight out. Before we left our hotel in selfoss I checked the website to find you need to buy tickets ahead of time and they were all sold out! So we quickly tried to find another place we could experience the hot springs. I read great reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We went to 5 different pools in Iceland and this was our favorite. There are several different shallow pools of different temperatures and steam rooms. It's a great place for adults to relax and fun for kids. It's RIGHT next to the lake. The front of the building blends in with the surroundings (grass roof). Wonderful pool!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths also viewed

Blaskogabyggd, South Region
 
Thingvellir, South Region
 

Been to Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths

Address: Hverabraut 1, Laugarvatn 840, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 486 1400
Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  South Region  >  Laugarvatn
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 3400 - 3400

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Laugarvatn Fontana Geothermal Baths staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?