We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eureka Springs Historical Museum

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 95 South Main Street, Eureka Springs, AR 72632
Phone Number: 479-253-9417
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

The Eureka Springs Historical Museum is located in the heart of the...

The Eureka Springs Historical Museum is located in the heart of the historic district at 95 S. Main in Calif House, built in 1889. Its mission is to collect, preserve and exhibit the documents, photographs, and artifacts pertaining to the history of Eureka Springs, (Carroll County), and surrounding areas. See the colorful past of this unique town and the people who lived here. A fascinating collection of papers, photographs, mementos, official documents, home furnishings, and other artifacts are on display.

We offer a newly renovated main floor with new exhibits that tell the story of Eureka Springs. We also have a second floor with more exhibits, as well as an Art Gallery that features local artists that helped start the artist boom in Eureka Springs.

ESHM is a non-profit, 501(c)3 organization, and does not receive funds from state or city taxes. The museum's income is derived from admissions, donations, fundraisers, research fees, and gift shop sales, as well as memberships which are open and available to all interested persons.

We are open from 9:30am-4:00pm Monday through Saturday, and 11:00am-4:00pm on Sunday.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 76 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Lots of history for a small resort town

We enjoyed our visit to this museum. Eureka Springs has a very rich and interesting history for a town of its size and age, and it's captured well within this museum. It's a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed October 14, 2015
John H
,
Saint Charles, Missouri
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

Eureka Springs has an interesting history that alot of people overlook. From Native Americans and outlaws to the trains of wealthy health seekers it's all a great story in a great little town.

Helpful?
Thank Pam K
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and we hope you will come back and see us the next time you are in town! More 

Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

This is a gem among small-town museums. For a very nominal entry fee, you can not only learn the extremely interesting story of the town, but also why thermal springs became so popular. The history of the discovery and private exploitation of the "hot springs" was fascinating to my wife and I. While most people have probably heard of thermal... More 

Helpful?
Thank LKTravelerboy
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We pride ourselves in providing accurate and interesting information. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in town! More 

Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

This museum is actually quite interesting to get an overview of Eureka springs, but our visit was negativity impacted by the woman who was staffing the museum. She was grumpy, rude and generally a detriment to the museum. When we asked for information about self guided walking tours she pointed to a book for sale. She would give us no... More 

Helpful?
Thank mugsylosangeles1
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

I am very sorry for your negative experience at our museum. We strive to provide a wonderful experience in a pleasant atmosphere. We hope the next time you are in town, you give us a second try. More 

Kansas City
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Rooms and rooms a very interesting displays of Eureka Springs, Arkansas. When we were there there were several guides that were very informative!

Helpful?
Thank Bismarck1956
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad our guides were helpful and made your experience more positive! Please come back and see us the next time you are in town! More 

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We enjoyed taking a self guided tour of this museum. It's small but has a lot of interesting information inside. It costs $5.00 to enter and you take your time and walk around. Some beautiful artwork upstairs and a room setup just like it was in the old days. We learned a lot about the area and enjoyed our visit.... More 

Helpful?
Thank notstoic
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your bad experience at our museum. We strive to provide a wonderful experience in a pleasant atmosphere. We hope you will give us a second try the next time you are in town! More 

Fredericktown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Nothing really special about this small museum. To be fair , we didn't go upstairs because it wasn,t handicapped acessible..

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. Unfortunately, being non-profit, we cannot afford the cost it would take in order to make our victorian building handicap accessible. I thank you for visiting! More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

Neat, small museum on Eureka Springs' history. Well worth the time. Neat artifacts from many townsfolk.

Helpful?
Thank maw1105
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We hope the next time you are in town, you will visit us once again! More 

South Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

My Husband and I arrived from SD to Eureka Springs on Sunday the 18th. We were looking for the Crescent Hotel. We stopped because it said visitor center along with museum. The woman working was so horrible and rude to us! She kept saying go this way on a map she had upside down to us. When questioned she said... More 

Helpful?
Thank SouthDakotaLore
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

I am so very sorry for your bad experience at our museum. We do strive to provide a wonderful experience in a pleasant atmosphere. We hope you will give us a second chance the next time you are in Eureka Springs. More 

Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We enjoyed our visit to this museum. Eureka Springs has a very rich and interesting history for a town of its size and age, and it's captured well within this museum. It's a small museum, filing up the two stories of this storefront building, but in the displays the visitor can get a very good feel for the drama the... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words about our museum. We hope you come back and visit us the next time you are in Eureka Springs! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

The owner of the hotel suggested we start our Eureka Springs visit at the museum. Interesting, but displays had too much reading for my taste. A lot of local art which was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank cathrynr2014
ESHM1889, Manager at Eureka Springs Historical Museum, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our museum. We appreciate your positive comments! Come back and see us! More 

Travelers who viewed Eureka Springs Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Eureka Springs Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Eureka Springs Historical Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?