We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cowboy Way Adventures

800 E Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390
1-928-277-9398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 activities in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Owner description: Experience the beauty of Arizona from horseback. Cowboy Way Adventures offers guided horseback trail rides in scenic Wickenburg and Prescott, Arizona.... more » Owner description: Experience the beauty of Arizona from horseback. Cowboy Way Adventures offers guided horseback trail rides in scenic Wickenburg and Prescott, Arizona. NEWS FLASH!! We have moved back to Wickenburg for the winter and are now offering Ranch Sorting! Hourly horseback rides, half and full day rides are available as well as overnight pack trips. We also do special events such as horseback weddings and parties. Give us a call and we will plan your next horseback trail riding adventure... the Cowboy Way!. « less
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    21
    6
    2
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Bought a Groupon for a Trail Ride for my 4 grandchildren and daughter. I contacted Cow Boy Adventures and spoke to Candace to schedule the ride. I was advised the company was no longer operating in Prescott, they had moved and were now operating in Paulden, AZ . I wasn't too happy but went ahead an scheduled. Turns out Paulden... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CowboyWayAdventures, Manager at Cowboy Way Adventures, responded to this review

Barbara, I apologize we were unable to accommodate you on that day. I did leave you a message on the phone number you provided several hours prior to you ride time. Again we are sorry but when dealing with livestock and vehicles things are unpredictable. Our Prescott/Paulden location is the only location where we have to meet our customers and... More

Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

On March 6 , 2014 I came off of a horse on a ride at Cowboy Adventures at the Sedona (Cottonwood) location. I broke my elbow in three places. I expect those in charge to be more well trained in emergencies than my wrangler was. No less than three times he told me to get back on the horse. Impossible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We did the 3 hour morning ride with Chris. When we got there he and Jen were there ready to get us settled in. We brought water with us, but decided to get water at the ranch, too. There is no running water, but we were able to buy bottles of water for just $1. The ride was beautiful. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mishima-shi, Shizuoka, Japan
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Do not use this company. I booked a family ride, drove to Prescott at the confirmed time and waited for 2 hours with no one showing up. I have called their number repeatedly for over 24 hours with out even getting a call back or my money refunded. They wasted an entire family day, a tank of gas, and disappointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CowboyWayAdventures, Guest Relations Manager at Cowboy Way Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Mike, We called you as soon as we could. We deeply apologize for not being able to be there for your ride and understand the disappointment your family experienced. Our ranch truck was stolen with the company phone. Management has since spoken to you, explained the situation, and offered a full refund. Please accept our deepest apologies. We have... More

Surprise, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked and prepaid for a 6 person ride on 6/22 in Prescott. We drove up from Phoenix with three excited little girls only to be stood up with a complete no show. I have been calling them for 6 hours and have still not even gotten a response. We waited for over an hour and a half and tried... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CowboyWayAdventures, Guest Relations Manager at Cowboy Way Adventures, responded to this review

Dear Julie, We spoke to your husband, Mike D, as soon as we were able. We deeply apologize for not being able to be there for your ride and understand the disappointment your family experienced. Our ranch truck was stolen with the company phone. Management has since spoken to you, explained the situation, and offered a full refund. Please accept... More

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I was shocked at the sorry condition of the horses. Sores on the withers from saddles that didn't fit properly ( I.E. The withers ), tack was in a sorry state........ I actually called the Arizona Department of Agriculture due to how sad the whole situation was......... DO NOT GO TO THE ONE IN WICKENBURG !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CowboyWayAdventures, Guest Relations Manager at Cowboy Way Adventures, responded to this review

Steve C has only one other trip Adviser Review... and it is a negative review for our business. We have had only one call to the AZ Department of Agriculture and they informed us it was from an ex-employee. We know who this ex-employee is and we are taking the necessary legal action to stop the harassment. More

Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Headed up to Cowboy Way Adventures on Saturday 6/14/2014 for a 3 hour ride just outside of Cottonwood near Sedona, AZ. There, we Met Chris who would be taking us on our ride. Chris and Jen both got us introduced to our horses. I was paired with Bud and my wife was introduced to a beautiful horse named Sedona. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Williamsburg, Va
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 attraction reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Actually we rode with Cowboy Way Adventures located by Cottonwood, outside of Sedona. Excellent price for a two hour ride. Jen was our guide and she was very good. The horses rode well, not the typical where they just want to follow and eat. They actually had personality. Very professional business and we had a wonderful time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dundas, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

I did a 3 hour ride at the Cottonwood location on 5/30. It did take a couple days to coordinate my reservation since you have to leave a message for them to call back. I was leery of getting the Group On and being stuck with it if I couldn't ride but Kandace offered me the Group On rate without... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Mirage, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We purchased the LivingSocial deal for a 2-hour ride and redeemed today - last day at the Wickenburg site. No problems at all getting scheduled or using my voucher. They put me on the perfect horse for my first time riding; my husband has a little more experience and rode a more suitable horse. We were with a group of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Way Adventures also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cowboy Way Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboy Way Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing