We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Estancia Cristina

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Av. Libertador 1037, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Activities: Horseback riding
Description: The Upsala Glacier is one of the largest in Los Glaciares National Park...
The Upsala Glacier is one of the largest in Los Glaciares National Park. To sail through the Argentino Lake among icebergs and mountains and then visit Estancia Cristina is an interesting combination of nature, adventure, history, and pleasure.This full day program offers alternatives such as those who prefer a quite day of touring and history as well as those who look forward to activities with adventure like trekking and riding a four wheel drive.The excursions that are surrounded by the Andes mountains, glaciers and Argentino Lake leads us to get in touch with a natural, unique, remote environment, with culture and lifestyle of the pioneers and the interesting relationship of them with famous explorers of past century.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$195*
and up
Sailing, Hiking and Off-Road Patagonia Adventure to Estancia...

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 861 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 516
    Excellent
  • 230
    Very good
  • 75
    Average
  • 25
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Most recent review
Be weary of the photographers

While the beauty, tranquility, views and experience are all top notch, be weary of the photographers who promise pictures using special techniques for the light on the glaciars... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 9, 2015
dsk123abc
,
New York City, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We booked the Upsala glaciar tour in january of 2015. On the ad it is written glaciar Upsala + estancia Cristina. Actually you don't go close to the glaciar, you go close to the icebergs and then you turn around on the way to the estancia Cristina. It is very expensive and we were so disapointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

While the beauty, tranquility, views and experience are all top notch, be weary of the photographers who promise pictures using special techniques for the light on the glaciars. We were misled, over charged and really disappointed with the quality

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. We apologize for the inconvenient with the photogrphers; we will consider your opinion in order to improve our service. Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Helmond, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
23 attraction reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Rhe excursion from El Calafate to Estancia Cristina is the best we have done there. The boatride is great on the lake with all the icebergs. The 4x4 drive is fantastic to the beautiful Upsale galcier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Although we thoroughly enjoyed our day visit to Estancia Christina on 20 Feb, we were very disappointed. When we arrived, we were told to leave our belongings outside the restaurant in the lobby area. My husband left his new down jacket. He inadvertently left it there when the boat left for the return trip. We had our hotel call to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ritag1969, Director Comercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Did you take the full day tour or you were lodge with us? We apologize for not having answered in time the claim about your lost/left jacket. It would be very useful to have more information about your booking to identify your names and be able to check up what happened and offer you the... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

I liked it but I don't think I would like to stay here. Is very remote and isolated. We did the walk in Canadon de los Fossiles and that was amazing. You can see a glacier from high on the hills but it was kind of windy and cold. Another thing no bathrooms so be prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you for you opinion! For sure, Estancia Cristina has a program for each passenger profile. Best regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Hamra, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

estancia cristina has very beautiful sights and I would advise everyone willing to go to the southern part of Argentina to pass by El Calafate first before going to Ushuaia in Tierra del Fuego. We didn't do that. We first passed by Ushuaia saw all the beautiful sights and then continued to El Calafate. Estancia Cristina sights were of no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ritag1969, Director Comercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience! Estancia Cristina Staff More 

rio de janeiro
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

a stop over on the way to Upsala Glacier. A two hour boat trip and a 20 mns 4X4 ride up to the lookout over the glacier. Nice place but terrible food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucia2620, Comercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that you did not like the lunch we offer. We will keep on improving our services. Regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

You have to book Discovery Tour that includes to go to the mountain and have the best view of the Glaciar Upsala. It's amazing how big it is! Better don't forget your wind jacket because is cold and wind up there. You go by bus from your hotel to the port where we boarded on a boat toward Estancia Cristina.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad to know that you enojoyed your day with us! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The boat trip to the Estancia is brilliant with a chance to get very close to some huge icebergs. We did the "Discovery" tour. A 4 x 4 took us to a view point over the Upsala glacier with magnificent scenery. Lunch was huge - make sure you go there hungry! - and delicious, with wine included and afterwards a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you very much Juliana for your opinion! We are very glad to know that you enojoyed your day tour! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Pasadena, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Our tour didn't include a stay here, but just a hike & lunch. The hike to the falls was long, but very scenic; given the hike, we could have done without the rather boring tour of the main buildings itself, as the small museum was the best part and can be enjoyed in about 15 minutes. The restaurant, on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucia2620, Commercial at Estancia Cristina, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your opinion and review! Regards, Estancia Cristina staff. More 

Travelers who viewed Estancia Cristina also viewed

El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 
El Calafate, Province of Santa Cruz
 

Been to Estancia Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Estancia Cristina and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Estancia Cristina staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?