We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shark Zone

Certificate of Excellence
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8060, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 82 894 4979
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Fee: Yes
Description:

For a memorable and unique Cape Town adventure, nothing can be more...

For a memorable and unique Cape Town adventure, nothing can be more exhilarating than a cage diving and surface viewing tour to meet the mighty great white shark. One of the few places in the world where white sharks can be observed regularly at any time of the year, Gansbaai is known as the shark diving capital of the world. The watery habitat of the apex predator is not glamorous and this tour is highly weather dependent - this is mother nature at her most temperamental and raw; only when you see your first flash of steely grey sliding purposefully towards the boat, will you understand the magnetic beauty of the great white shark. Indescribable. No previous diving experience is necessary to enter the cage and everything you will need to fully enjoy the tour is provided, from your meals, to your dive equipment and even the convenient and comfy shuttle that Shark Zone can provide to get you there. As Cape Town's #1 booking agent for great white shark tours, Shark Zone will make sure you get the best deal, hassle-free!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 46 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 3
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
A shark up to 3.5 meter! I never have seen something like that before, fortunately...

I was in South Africa mainly for work, but during the weekend someone suggested me to try this experience. Well I can say it was amazing. Very good organization, very nice day... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 weeks ago
antonio c
,
Catania, Italy
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this highly anticipated tour a week in advance via "Stephen" at Shark Zone. The original time we signed up for was 11 AM and credit card info already given to make the payment - or so we thought. One day before the tour, we get a text asking for us to come at 9 AM, not 11 AM.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BL3333
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your valued time for providing a report. Shark Zone has NEVER claimed and will never claim to be an operator. It clearer states on our website that we are a central booking agent for shark cage diving operators in Cape Town,Gansbaai,Mossel Bay & Durban. We operate & run our own fleet of vehicles in... More 

eddlechner
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the early morning dive. We were well informed by our operator about the dive experience. After breakfast we set out. Soon we were in the water. I was not disappointed and cannot stop talking about the sharks!

Helpful?
Thank eddlechner
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked our shark tour via Jason at "Shark Zone" and it was one of the things we were most excited about. We got picked up from Capetown in the morning and set off for our trip. We were promised breakfast which we did get- but it's nothing special. White rolls, eggs and cheap ham. I would bring your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura A
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this review

Hi Laura Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very saddened to hear about your disappointing experience. I am not sure if you booked with Shark Zone as we do not have anyone by the name of Jason that works for Shark Zone but I will however reply as our good name has been brought into disrepute.... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was one of the most amazing things I have ever done and was a highlight for our family holiday to Cape Town. The weather was lousy and wet at first but the staff were friendly and fun. The first great white shark appeared within minutes and we had four sharks coming up close and personal to the cage again... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in South Africa mainly for work, but during the weekend someone suggested me to try this experience. Well I can say it was amazing. Very good organization, very nice day trip. I can easily suggest this experience almost unique to everyone. It is like if you come in my town (Catania-Sicily) and you do not visit the top... More 

Helpful?
Thank antonio c
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

2.5 hour drive to the site. 3 hour wait for a government official to arrive to release the boat. Tour cancelled. 2.5 hour drive back to hotel. Total wasted day. Poor communication from staff to let us know what was happening. Very disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine N
SharksCapeTown, Owner at Shark Zone, responded to this review

Dear Elaine Thank you for your feedback We terribly sorry for your disappointing experience and we are never able to replace your lost time but to apologize for your lost time and to offer you a free trip if you ever return to our shores. The Marine Coastal Management Agency that monitors the safety of all the vessels on a... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

First of all I understand the risk of interacting with wild animals as well as the possibility of the main attraction does not appear. So, we'go! No problems in booking and arranging the trip. Everything was made by telephone. For instance, if you want to book online, it may need at least 2 days in advance. I choose door to... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando M
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

What an amazing experience. We were lucky enough to sharks around the boat for almost the whole time we were in position. Amazing creatures and fantastic to see up close! The staff does a good job as well. Our masterguide , Vian, was very knowledgeable and took the time to explain everything we want to know about the sharks and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank marv313
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

Great experience best deal in Capetown do the heli and shark dive. Use whatsapp great way to communicate with owner and allow for less mixups.

Helpful?
Thank V1s1onone
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Shark Zone coordinated a special experience for me and three family members on our last day in Cape Town. Because of a time crunch they organized a private driver to pick us up and drop us off directly at the airport after our excursion. The driver was fantastic! When we arrived we were treated to breakfast and a safety discussion... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank celesteleich

Travelers who viewed Shark Zone also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to Shark Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Shark Zone and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Shark Zone staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?