We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Shop G01, Ushaka Marine World | 1 Bell Street, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 31 337 3103
Website
Improve this listing
Description: 1st Zulu Safaris is a tour operation based in Durban South Africa. We...
1st Zulu Safaris is a tour operation based in Durban South Africa. We specialize in Daily & Overnight tour in KwaZulu Natal and South Africa. Our involvement in the Tourism Industry started from 1989. Our main services include Tours and Transfers. Our offices are located at the uShaka Marine World and at the Tropicana hotel. Our tours which range from daily to overnight, highlight the cultural and natural attractions of KwaZulu Natal and the rest of South Africa.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$222*
and up
Mini Safari Tour from Durban
More Info
$76*
and up
Phezulu Cultural Village and Reptile Park Tour from Durban
More Info
$38*
and up
Durban City Highlights Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 119 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 101
    Excellent
  • 13
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Wonderful Sani Pass/Lesotho tour

I took a day tour with 1st Zulu Safaris to the Sani Pass to explore the Drakensberg Mountains and Lesotho. The trip was wonderful! The mountain landscape and nature of Lesotho is... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 13, 2015
Tomas2504
,
Durban, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

My friend and I were extremely disappointed by this tour. Like most South African cities, Durban has a lot of history - but we didn't get to hear any of it. This was really just a taxi ride around the city while the driver pointed things out in between his awkward personal stories and offensive comments. We kept trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

I took a day tour with 1st Zulu Safaris to the Sani Pass to explore the Drakensberg Mountains and Lesotho. The trip was wonderful! The mountain landscape and nature of Lesotho is beautiful and worth seeing. The guide was very good. He showed me the interesting places and knows the local people. I rate it as excellent and recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Owner at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this review

Hi Tomas Thank you for taking your time to review us. It was indeed a very memorable trip and I am glad you enjoyed it. You are a very fun and exciting companion :). I hope to see you again soon. Have a safe trip back home. All the best Sotiris and 1st Zulu Safaris Team More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I booked the half day Durban City Tour with 1st Zulu Tours: the hotel made the booking, the price seemed reasonable and the tour guide welcoming. It went down hill from the beginning. Actually, it was the guide who spoiled the whole thing. Unfortunately it was a rainy day, so some of what we hoped to see, in the city... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Owner at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this review

Good Day Frank Apologies that you were not happy with our trip and our tour guide. The reason why I put Peter on the trip is because we had other 2 ladies who had already booked the same trip with us. Peter had picked them up from the airport and had done a trip with them the day before and... More 

Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Walking into 1st Zulu Safaris on the morning of my trip was really welcoming, the staff were very cheerful and well organised and we got going in no time. Along the way Mr Sotiris (the tour guide) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, I dont think theres an animal he doesnt know about:) ...The most exciting part of my trip was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this review

Hi Robyn Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm really glad you enjoyed the trip and that you were happy to see the lions. We hope to see you again :) Regards 1st Zulu Safaris Team More 

Chaguanas, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My friend and I had the pleasure of doing two tours with 1st Zulu Safari. Our guide Peter did a really good job, from picking us up at the airport, explaining a bit of the division (the disparity between the rich and the poor) that currently exist is Durban this was just as we drove to get to our hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1st_Zulu_Safaris_SA, Front Office Manager at 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours, responded to this review

Hi Cydnee Thank you for the wonderful review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to cater to you and your friend especially since it was your first time in Africa. Next time you come to Durban please pop by the office. Take care of yourself. Regards 1st Zulu Safaris Team More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

This was my sister's & my 2nd tour with 1st Zulu Safaris of Durban and Peter the driver/guide. The first tour was the Wetlands tour at St Lucia which was very good but this was even better. Had no problem arranging to be collected from where we were staying in Ballito as it was on the way. We did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ballito, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

St Lucia Wetlands was an enjoyable experience. We saw Crocodiles, 2 pods of hippos and birdlife. Boat guide was knowledgeable, friendly and courteous in supplying lap blankets if needed whilst on the boat. Peter our driver picked us up at our hotel in Durban and was nice enough to drop us off at our friends place in Ballito on way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

My mom and I were picked up on the morning by Sotiris. We assumed we had booked a group tour, but it ended up just being my mom and I. It was about a two hour drive from our accommodation in Umdloti to Shakaland. Sotiris stayed in the restaurant while we were lead by a Zulu tour guide. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

Sotiris (our tour guide) was amazing! He was flexible and willing to customize our tour. My boyfriend and I am big animal lovers and we did not want to support any breeding facilities or so-called rehabilitation centers that were just tourist traps and he was very honest about them. We felt that he really cared for our needs and even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

My visit to Shakaland was absolutely amazing. It was like an out of this world experience. The people that work there was so kind, friendly and really treat you like royality. The African experience was just what I needed to know about our South African history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from 1st Zulu Safaris - Private Day Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?