We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number: +20 2 22768998
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,588 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 388
    Excellent
  • 480
    Very good
  • 423
    Average
  • 228
    Poor
  • 69
    Terrible
Great Marina!!!

This is our third visit to Marsa Alam and the Marina which is a great experience but not cheap vbg The shop keepers all complained about the high rents hence the high costs ...for... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 16, 2015
mchawkins1
,
Harrogate
Add Photo Write a Review

1,588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Though it's said it's a great place to shop and it's beautifull and there are adverts even at the airport, it's only one short street with 4 shops repeating. You can buy fake brands and regular stuff and a couple of other things there, but I expect a true egyptian shops, some thrilling experience when trying to get the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear roboycz Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important to us as we want all of our guests to have an enjoyable experience with us. We are very happy that you found the resort to be very beautiful and you enjoyed your shopping in our... More 

Harrogate
Level Contributor
254 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This is our third visit to Marsa Alam and the Marina which is a great experience but not cheap vbg The shop keepers all complained about the high rents hence the high costs ...for a bottle of Coke 15le whereas in Hurghada its 5le same goes for Costa coffee which lives upto its name vbg

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear mchawkins1 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important to us as we want all of our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable experience. We are very happy your loved the waterfront marina. We are sorry your expectations were not met in regards to... More 

Czech Republic
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

with many expensive shops, supermarket and international port with boats, cafe´s and pharmacy; better visit at evening or night, our trip cost 12 dolars/person

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear StaffVera Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important to us as we want all of our visitors to have an enjoyable and memorable experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed your trip to our marina and that you found everything you needed. As... More 

Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

The shopping area a little like 'the lanes of Brighton' all selling the same stuff and being cheeky e.g. 'Asda price' 'cheap as chips'. The inlet with moored cruisers very photogenic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear Maria Marcella Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit with us at Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important to us as we would like all of our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable visit. We are pleased you found that waterfront marina very photogenic and we are sorry your expectations... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

It was really quiet when we went but had a great meal at TGI Friday's and a stroll along the harbor was lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear debbplum1965 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to TGI Fridays and Port Ghalib Resort. We are very pleased that you really enjoyed your time with us on our marina waterfront and that you also enjoyed your evening and food at TGI Friday's. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you... More 

Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We spent 2hrs here ,that was way more than enough time to decide we wasted our time and money getting here. They say it's a new port ,but a lot of it looks very tired & run down ! As soon as we were dropped off by the shops,the owners were out touting for you to come into their shops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear Matt7159 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort. We would like all of our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable experience so your feedback is very much appreciated. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience when walking around the souq and... More 

grays essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We. Asked if two hours was enough time to visit from coraya bay yes unless you are going for a meal,we were told after coffee at Costa and another walk around the port still had an hour to kill only plus side was thompson wanted 12£ each way on mini bus the hotel only charged 15 euro round trip took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear Gerrylynn Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important as we want all of our visitors to enjoy their time. During the time you visited the resort it does tend to be a little quieter depending on the day you visit. We have a variety... More 

Marsa Alam, Egypt
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Very unique location, southern Egypt on the beautiful Red Sea coast. Port Ghalib is an international Marina with few quality hotels in it and the Marina Boulevard with great souvenir shopping options, or few different outlets to dine and wine and to night out. You can easily find mix of Italian, International, or Far East cousins... or even Baskin's Ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear Mirko11111 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort. Your feedback is important to us as we want all of our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable experience. We are very happy that you felt we have a very unique location on the Red Sea coast and that... More 

Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

its nice to chill out and just relax on a coffee after exhausted by beach, and nice to have Egyptian walk in the khan

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear m_ayman2000 Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib your feedback is important to us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us both on the beach sitting and enjoying a coffee and visiting our oriental at Port Ghalib and that you had a relaxing holiday. We... More 

Brussels
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Port Ghalib offers a nice Italian ice cream parlour, but not much else (except for a marina). Either in ten years time this will have become a heeving town for holiday makers or bried under the desert sand....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortGhalibEgypt, Manager at Port Ghalib, responded to this review

Dear JovdB v Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Port Ghalib Resort your feedback is important to us as we want to make your visit a memorable one. We are very pleased you enjoyed the Italian Ice cream parlor but we also have available numerous other bars restaurants and shopping outlets... More 

Travelers who viewed Port Ghalib also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Port Ghalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Ghalib

Address: Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number: +20 2 22768998
Location: Africa  >  Egypt  >  Red Sea and Sinai  >  Marsa Alam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Port Ghalib and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Port Ghalib staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?