We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Just Fly Fish LLC - CLOSED

40047 S Malaspina Loop, Talkeetna, AK 99676
907-733-5332
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
Description: Guided, wade-style fly fishing trips in Talkeetna and Denali State Park, Alaska.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I re discovered a restaurant I had went to years before. The restaurant is Los dos molinos on central avenue in Phoenix. It is an authentic Mexican restaurant. Earlier in the day I went to one of those awful Mexican chain restaurant with no favor and lots if cheese. When you sat down in Los dos molinos you could see... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This trip to Alaska was in the back of our minds for over 20 years and my wife and I always include a day or two of fly fishing wherever we go in North America. Could the weather have been better? Yes; could the number of trout have been better? Yes. But Robert "made" the trip for us. A real... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Randolph, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My first time in a Alaska and I was eager to fly fish for rainbows. The first day was beautiful and we even had a chance to see the majestic Mt McKinley. From then on it proceeded to rain prodigiously. It rained for days and I was sure the trip was going to be cancelled. I was taking, my daughter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Two of my relatives and I booked a full day trip with Christian using this company. I will have to tone down the way I really feel about Christian so that tripadvisor will still post my review. I have no idea how he still has a job as a guide. He is very rude and will blow up on his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JustFlyFish, Manager at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

Codyokc, we are sorry you had a "Bad Time". However, we wished you would have brought up the issue with the fly fishing guide right away, as we could have fixed any issue you felt needed attention right away. It's so sad, that in this modern world of transparency, people seem to have lost open communication skills, as nothing negative... More

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had a great tim and enjoyed learning a few things. I guess the rest of my group wasnt as thrilled with their experience as i was, and actually thought the guid Christian was extremely rube. I interpreted it deferently i guess. He did happen to loose his composure a bit if things werent going as planned which is understandable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I used this guide service and do not recommend Christian. He lost his temper with me when I lost a big fish. Honestly, I have never had anyone talk so rudely to me. He went upstream and told my husband he might have been a little rough on me. Ha. I chose not to tell my husband... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JustFlyFish, Owner at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

I apologize. Without wanting to make any excuses, I am trying to get all my clients into (big) trout, and if a trout is hooked but lost, then it disappoints me as a guide just the same as it does for my clients. As a guide, I live vicariously through my clients catching fish. Apparently I expressed the loss of... More

Modesto
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our first trip to Alaska and booked a 1/2 day trip with Just Fly Fish. Our guide was Christian. Professional, I don't think so! He needs some lessons on "teaching, instructing, and encouraging others who are learning, Instead of criticizing and talking down to people. His "guiding" consisted of taking us to the spot, that was it. He continually told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JustFlyFish, Owner at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

It's a first for us to hear that our style of guiding was deemed "unprofessional" by a client, and we are sorry you feel disappointed. We guide avid fly fishermen/women and beginners from all over the States and the world and we haven't heard this comment yet. In this modern "world of transparency" where anyone can express their viewpoints and... More

Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Christian picked me up at the lodge at 5 a.m. and we were fishing before 6 at a nearby trout stream. He provided very nice boots & waders and a decent rod and reel and streamer. He offered instruction if needed and tips on presentation and stream locations. My trip was only supposed to be 4 hours but he stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JustFlyFish, Owner at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a trip review. Thank you for describing the trip (pick up, guiding, staying longer) to the people here on Trip Advisor. Yes, full day trips give us not only the option to stay out longer, but to cover a whole lot more ground. Thanks for praising my knowledge and friendliness — that's... More

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'm an Alaskan Resident who recently had a relative come for a visit and we thought we would try something different, fly-fishing, which neither of us had really done. Three of us departed Fairbanks late the night before and met our guide, Christian, at 0500 for a half-day trip. We brought the chest waders and used all their gear. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JustFlyFish, Owner at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. You were a fun group to hang out with, which make life as a fly fishing guide even better. I am always happy to teach (yes, it takes patience) and start people on the sport of fly fishing. I'm looking forward to guiding you again some day. — Christian More

Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Planning my first trip to Alaska, I wanted a chance to hike into the country a little bit and do some stream fishing for native trout and grayling. I contacted Just Fly Fish and booked a full day solo trip with Christian. He took me out on his home stream and we were able to hike a good ways upstream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JustFlyFish, Owner at Just Fly Fish LLC, responded to this review

Thank you, Marty, for taking the time to write a review about your fly fishing experience with us. Glad to hear you had a fun day, and that you also paid attention to the scenery, bear and moose tracks and other wildlife roaming around. We live and fly fish in such a special place, and it's great when people notice... More

Travelers who viewed Just Fly Fish LLC also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Just Fly Fish LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing