We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Raro Reef Sub

Avatiu Harbour, Cook Islands
682 55901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Activities in Rarotonga
Type: Boat Tours
8 visitor photos
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

First up this attraction helps fund the whale research undertaken by the whale centre so you and enjoy a good trip and make a financial contribution to good works. There is a lot to see and we spent the whole trip in the semi-submersible part. the guidesa re knowledgeable. Dont disregard this and its really good for kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua District, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This boat is cool. You go down into the bottom of the boat were there is glass window and you can see all the fish, boat wrecks and we saw a turtle. When we bring the kids over we will be back to see you guys as the would have a ball on your boat. This is a great thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Amazing seeing so many big fish, interesting ship-wreck and we were fortunate enough to have a close encounter with a hump-back whale, definitely a highlight! The guides were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and provided a punctual free transfer from our accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rural
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last few times I've been on Rarotonga the Raro Reef Sub was not operating or out of the water for a repaint. This time I did it and was most impressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience especially down below and seeing everything under the water. We didn't come across any turtles or whales but the other reef dwellers, the coral... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Heading out from the harbour the skipper was already giving value for money with his knowledge of the Matai wreck and other local disasters. We had a good look at the wreck and the reef off Trader jacks. The views of the wreck were excellent. We came back and snorkelled the wreck but this trip would be a good substitute.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We got a discount at the market for our trip, but would have paid in full, it was that good. Seeing the GTs (Giant Trevally) was pretty cool, as was the turtle. We spotted a whale so they took us out to where it was but unfortunately it had dived down deep. We saw some amazing scenery under the water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Was told about the sub tours and prices at the markets on the saturday - thought that was good pricing as they had also $5 off. Booked for the next day in the morning. Got there to be charged more than the non-discounted rate. Makes you think that one does not know the actual price before discount or no communication... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Our prices are printed on the Reef Sub Flyer and have not changed for 6 years. Adults $65 and children 3-15 years $35, under 3 years Free. The Discount Cards at the market and the Whale and Wildlife centre and Voucher booklets give $5 off each. Each trip, the customers pay either when booking or when they board the vessel.... More

Waikato
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were a group of 5 that thoroughly enjoyed this trip. We were the only passengers for this 1.25 hour experience. The underwater viewing was perfect on this still day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

We are so pleased to give such lovely people such a wonderful experience. More

Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We did this trip on a wet day, but nonetheless Hugh was happy to take our small group out and show us the reef, shipwreck and marine life. We saw a variety of fish and coral, and got a good look at the shipwreck just outside the harbour entrance (one part visible from the shore). The commentary was good with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the friendly and knowledgeable Crew. Hope to see you back here one day. More

Fox Glacier
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went on the reef sub with our 3 year old daughter in May. With us and 3 other people onboard it was very comfortable. After a while underwater my husband and the others felt a little green so me and my daughter were under checking out the wildlife! Wow we saw so many fish and a turtle! When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Glad your daughter had such an nice experience. Also nice she felt so comfortable with the crew. I bet she's still talking about the Turtle and the Giant trevallies now! More

Travelers who viewed Raro Reef Sub also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Raro Reef Sub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raro Reef Sub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing