We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Raro Reef Sub

Avatiu Harbour, Cook Islands
682 55901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 39 activities in Rarotonga
Type: Boat Tours
8 visitor photos
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 NEW

Amazing seeing so many big fish, interesting ship-wreck and we were fortunate enough to have a close encounter with a hump-back whale, definitely a highlight! The guides were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, and provided a punctual free transfer from our accommodation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rural
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Last few times I've been on Rarotonga the Raro Reef Sub was not operating or out of the water for a repaint. This time I did it and was most impressed. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience especially down below and seeing everything under the water. We didn't come across any turtles or whales but the other reef dwellers, the coral... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Heading out from the harbour the skipper was already giving value for money with his knowledge of the Matai wreck and other local disasters. We had a good look at the wreck and the reef off Trader jacks. The views of the wreck were excellent. We came back and snorkelled the wreck but this trip would be a good substitute.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We got a discount at the market for our trip, but would have paid in full, it was that good. Seeing the GTs (Giant Trevally) was pretty cool, as was the turtle. We spotted a whale so they took us out to where it was but unfortunately it had dived down deep. We saw some amazing scenery under the water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Was told about the sub tours and prices at the markets on the saturday - thought that was good pricing as they had also $5 off. Booked for the next day in the morning. Got there to be charged more than the non-discounted rate. Makes you think that one does not know the actual price before discount or no communication... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Our prices are printed on the Reef Sub Flyer and have not changed for 6 years. Adults $65 and children 3-15 years $35, under 3 years Free. The Discount Cards at the market and the Whale and Wildlife centre and Voucher booklets give $5 off each. Each trip, the customers pay either when booking or when they board the vessel.... More

Waikato
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were a group of 5 that thoroughly enjoyed this trip. We were the only passengers for this 1.25 hour experience. The underwater viewing was perfect on this still day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

We are so pleased to give such lovely people such a wonderful experience. More

Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We did this trip on a wet day, but nonetheless Hugh was happy to take our small group out and show us the reef, shipwreck and marine life. We saw a variety of fish and coral, and got a good look at the shipwreck just outside the harbour entrance (one part visible from the shore). The commentary was good with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the friendly and knowledgeable Crew. Hope to see you back here one day. More

Fox Glacier
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We went on the reef sub with our 3 year old daughter in May. With us and 3 other people onboard it was very comfortable. After a while underwater my husband and the others felt a little green so me and my daughter were under checking out the wildlife! Wow we saw so many fish and a turtle! When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Glad your daughter had such an nice experience. Also nice she felt so comfortable with the crew. I bet she's still talking about the Turtle and the Giant trevallies now! More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Did the trip out on the reef sub, Hugh the skipper was great and his deckhand was fantastic, I got sick but I get sick in the bath, did not stop me from having a great time though. Seen heaps of sea life, giant Trevally, Barracuda, parrot fish, blue trevally, trigger fish and a good size sea turtle. sailed over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Manager at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Excellent review, thank you for taking the time. Pretty incredible what is just out of the Harbour isn't it. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Raro Reef Sub was the perfect way to get out beyond the reef. I had done plenty of snorkelling at various places inside the lagoon but the Reef Sub was a different experience. The crew knew the best spots and as soon as they started throwing food over the side we were surrounded by all kinds of fish -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RaroWildlife, Owner at Raro Reef Sub, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed it, sorry it was hot. This summer is the hottest on record, so yes it gets hot when the water and outside temperature is above 30C. The view of the beautiful island from the Top Deck is just as stunning as the view below, which makes it good to get the fresh air. More

Travelers who viewed Raro Reef Sub also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Raro Reef Sub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raro Reef Sub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing