We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zuma Tours

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Main Street | Next to Montezuma Supermarket, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number: +506 2642 0024
Website
Improve this listing
Description: Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island...
Zuma Tours, your ocean experts in Montezuma since 1993, Tortuga Island Tour, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving, Water Taxi Boat to Jaco & Montezuma, Shuttle/Transfer Connections with Mal Pais & Santa Teresa, San Jose, Airport, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Uvita, Sierpe. Also: Sport Fishing, Horseback Rides, ATV Tours, Canopy Tours, Surfing, Cabo Blanco and Curu reserves. Tours and transportation, Zuma Tours: a reliable and professional tour company.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 265 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 191
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Friendly & Professional

Ivan & the entire Zumatours team are very friendly, reliable & professional. Tortuga island tour was managed very well with a punctual organization and very clear instruction... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 22, 2015
Altomax
,
Lentiai, Italy
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lentiai, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

Ivan & the entire Zumatours team are very friendly, reliable & professional. Tortuga island tour was managed very well with a punctual organization and very clear instruction given to all partecipants; good food at the island by their own staff as well. Professional people handling the front desk were making us feeling confortable all the time as a matter of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

We booked Zuma tours for transfers from Tambor to Santa Teresa, Santa Teresa to Montezuma, the water taxi across the bay- where we saw schools of Dolphins!!- to Manuel Antonio, and a transfer from Manuel Antonio to San Jose. Every part was smooth and seamless. The divers were in time, courteous and knew exactly where they were going! I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Through where we were staying a group of us booked a snorkeling trip off tortuga island leaving from montezuma. The roads in this region are less than smooth but our driver did his best to provide a smooth ride. Once there we were greeted and directed to the beach where we boarded our boats. They were very clear in explaining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customers, thank you very much for your detailed feedback! We're glad you had a nice day of your vacations with us and we hope you liked our country, hopefully see you again, pura vida! More 

Bishop, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Unfortunately, our experience wasn't like the other reviews. We went on the snorkeling tour to Tortuga island. The trip started out great. Beautiful boat ride to the snorkel area. They dropped off people that didn't want to snorkel and took us to the first snorkel area. We snorkel for about 20 minutes and then told us to get back on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for your feedback, we understand your annoyance, and the truth here is that we had difficult sea conditions during July, with June being the hottest month in the history according the global news, the red tide was very strong and gave us some headaches, furthermore, we had to cancel many days for this reason, ruin a bit... More 

Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

what a great happy crew, who is really safe with the passenger, all for the fun but safety first! We saw a few Dolphins :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

My family and I went on a Zuma snorkelling tour to Tortuga Island and were not disappointed! We had an amazing time! The guides were nice, helpful and informative. While on the tour we saw pufferfish, eels, starfish, flying fish, angelfish, and many other tropical fish. On the island we were treated to a typical Costa Rican lunch and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow
Level Contributor
260 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Trip was spoiled due to the masks stinking of diesel most of us could only last 5 -10 min. if you go with them take your own mask.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ZumaManagement, Manager at Zuma Tours, responded to this review

Dear customers, thank you for your feedback. This is a bit strange because the snorkeling gear goes on the bow and the gasoline tanks are on the stern, but it looks that something happened that day with the handling. All the masks have a plastic smell but not diesel, we'll check this out with our guys to improve about this... More 

Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We booked the tickets online ahead of time, but my guess is that you can do it the same day. There is only one trip per day (11:00AM to Montezuma, and 9:00 to Herradura) so you must make arrangements on where to spend the night or nights if you want to explore the other side. We took the water taxi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We arranged a private boat tour of snorkeling and fun on Tortuga Island to celebrate our friend's 40th birthday. We asked in advance if they could decorate the boat and/or provide a birthday cake, and they did all that and more! The boat was beautifully decorated with balloons and streamers (which remarkably stayed attached during the boat ride) and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We had an amazing boat expedition from Montezuma to Isla Tortuga. We're backpackers so we're picky with the activities we choose and we are very happy we chose to do this one! Not sure if we had a lucky day or if it happens for most but our boat was surrounded by easily over 20 dolphins! They jumped out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Zuma Tours also viewed

Puntarenas, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Zuma Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Zuma Tours and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Zuma Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?