We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WAK Japan

761 Tenshu-cho, Takakura-dori, Nijo-agaru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 604-0812, Japan
+81 75-212-9993
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 59 Activities in Kyoto
Book Now

Type: Classes/Workshops
Owner description: WAK Japan specializes in offering traditional culture hands-on experiences such as tea ceremony, cooking, calligraphy, flower arrangement, kimono... more » Owner description: WAK Japan specializes in offering traditional culture hands-on experiences such as tea ceremony, cooking, calligraphy, flower arrangement, kimono wearing, koto playing, and many more at a beautifully restored machiya (traditional wooden house) In addition, we also arrange guided tours, visits to an exclusive temples, etc. « less
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melb, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Have just returned from a fabulous walking tour in Kyoto run by WAK Japan. Turned out it was just myself on the tour and though thete was another small group doing same tour I was lucky enough to have 1 on 1 tour. Started off with Yumi going through the Nishiki markets. What a fascinating place. This is the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Great experience in a rainy day! At first we were uncertain if trying to wear kimono and take pictures or if making origami session. In the end I was suggested to do both in the same moment: to wear kimono and make origami dressed in that way! It has been so amusing choose the colors and pattern I preferred for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We are glad to hear that. More

Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we combined 2 courses and we really enjoyed them both. Our instructor was a very nice lady and she explained many things concerning the roots and standards of origami and the meaning and principles of Japanese calligraphy. It was a very entertaining activity and the best thing is that you get an origami book to try some more things later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on our programs. We hope you sometimes practice Origami after getting back home as well. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I had the best experience with wak japan. I did the kimono wearing and tea ceremony. I lucked out and was the only one, just me and this wonderful older woman whos name i forger. She was so sweet and genuinely interested in me, as well as happy to answer my questions for her. I learned so much!! Her english... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and lovely photos.We are very happy to know that you had unforgettable experiences at WAK JAPAN. More

Caesarea, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Japan. Yoshie met us for an hour and a half tour of the Nishiki Market (to pick out ingredients for our cooking class) plus a short temple visit and saki tasting in a nearby brewery. Her English was excellent and her energy, warmth and sense of humor an absolute delight. She delivered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our tour. Hopefully we can see you next year again. More

Tel-Aviv
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The place is nice, Google maps doesn't know how to find it! be careful! The Sushi lesson was a good one, though the choice of filling wasn't the best. Try to ask about it ahead of time. Origami was OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Hopefully you'll visit us again and take some other programs as well in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We took the Maiko experience with WAK Japan and had an amazing time. Our guide, Emi, was brilliant! She was extremely friendly and knowledgable, and took us around a couple of tea-house areas, including Gion, showing us many things we would never have found on our own. After our tour, we were taken to a private room in a teahouse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to know that you had a nice experience in Kyoto. More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

For 15000 yen it was an average experience. I took the market, sake and cooking class tour. It was nice and the guide and cooking instructor were lovely but that is not enough when you pay so much. The sake brewery is fairly boring and cooking class lacks that extra edge you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are striving to provide better service in the future. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We took the basic 1hr kimono wearing experience. The selection of dresses was poor, no hair treatment was made, and no explanations at all. The staff was gloomy, and had no photographic skills. The "garden" where we took pictures is extremely small, and the outdoor pictures in front of the place has absolutely no charm. Our suggestion: try better places... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of WAK JAPAN. We always try to provide best experience to customers. We were wondering if you could let us know the date of the program you took,so that we can improve our service in the future. Thank you. More

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We attended a tea and kimono ceremony . We booked through viator (who I would avoid at all costs due to poor customer service and over the top prices). The staff at wak japan are very hospitable and friendly. They have good English. The ceremony was 1.5 hours. Very easy to find. It is around the corner from the subway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Michi075, WAK JAPAN at WAK Japan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comment on our programs. More

Travelers who viewed WAK Japan also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to WAK Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage WAK Japan?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing