We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Niue Dive

P.O. Box 140, Alofi, Niue
+683 4311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Alofi
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics
Owner description: We are a small dive operation located in Niue catering to small dive and snorkel groups. We are the only business in Niue offering Scuba Diving,... more » Owner description: We are a small dive operation located in Niue catering to small dive and snorkel groups. We are the only business in Niue offering Scuba Diving, Freediving, snorkelling trips,Glass bottom boat tours and SSI and PADI dive courses. Located next door to the only resort in Niue the Matavai Resort in the village of Tamaukautoga overlooking the ocean of Avetele bay. We cater to singles, couples, groups and families. As we are a small business our spaces fill up quickly and pre-booking is highly recommended to avoid the disappointment of missing out. « less
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    19
    3
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

We had a lovely snorkelling trip in coral gardens/snake gully after pootling around trying unsuccessfully to find the dolphins. We went on a whale watch trip too but there were no whales to be found - not their fault obviously. It was great to travel the length of the island by boat and check it out from the sea. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gleniffer
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

If you come to Niue to see whales, then a whale trip with Niue Dive is a must. Without the help of spotter planes or other assistance, they mostly manage to find the whales and get you close enough to encounter them in the water. They take a responsible attitude to these visits for the protection of both whales and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
39 attraction reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

We spent the afternoon diving with these guys, snorkeling and free diving, and found the service, friendliness, and humor refreshing. We are both very experienced divers and I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who isn't. Reef diving is a tough exercise at any stage and you need to be confident that you can manage it. Otherwise stick to the multitude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014 NEW

We were so fortunate to experience two 15 minute swims with a mother and baby whale. Such an awesome experience. It was a bit scary at first being dropped in the very deep blue water with supervisor . The boat respected rules such as being leeward of the whale hence we were dropped off to swim to her. A life... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

I would urge anybody who loves nature and wants to keep this fantastic island’s environment intact to think twice whether they want to use this company. Please read below why. One of the main reason I came to Niue was the opportunity to swim with whales. So we went on our swimming with whale tour with Buccaneer Adventures Niue Dive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I travelled to Niue 7 years ago when the dive operation was very different. Then it was a family outfit when on four of my dive's it was just myself and one of the owners. As is a universal constant everything must change. I applaud Krystal and Shannon for creating a business opportunity in Niue, I applaud them also for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was very excited to go diving in Niue, and to regain confidence lost in my last dive (last dive of open water diver course) I asked to do a refresher and if I could buddy with a dive guide on my first dive with them. They replied I could do a refresher and a "shallow easy dive" as my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Krystal H, Owner at Niue Dive, responded to this review

Hi Kiti, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. We always try our hardest to accommodate everyone where we can. Unfortunately the day you went diving we had some very rough weather conditions that would only allow for the cave diving sites which was the case for three days of that week. As i... More

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Done a few different trips with them, so i will write them separately below: Scuba diving- i am relatively a beginner with scuba diving whilst my partner is quite experienced. We went to Bubble Cave for our dive. Our guides Lance and Dan were great and really helpful! I was quite nervous for a few things but they were really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The non-niuean staff that run this operation are damaging the reputation of this otherwise beautiful place. We had the misfortune of having to deal with them after we had to cancel our whale trip when our baby was admitted to hospital. The owner was aggressive, rude and frankly a bit scary. He insisted that I was informed of their 24... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Krystal H, Owner at Niue Dive, responded to this review

Hi Beth, Thankyou for your reply. I am sorry to hear about your child. Unfortunately when Armando cancelled, there was no mention of this. There was also no mention when you re-booked for another day, and then cancelled that trip. Unfortunately as a business, we do have costs. If customers do not turn up for a trip, that runs with... More

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Had a great couple of hours watching the marine life. The guide was a great help telling us what species were what ( Pity we did not see Nibbles the shark) on the plus side we were in the middle of a pod of dolphins at one stage which made for great viewing above and under the water. Well done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Niue Dive also viewed

 
Niue, South Pacific
 

Been to Niue Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niue Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing