We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dive Academy

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Bandara Resort & Spa | Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number: +66 92 464 3264
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description: The Dive Academy is an English owned and managed PADI 5 Star Instructor...
The Dive Academy is an English owned and managed PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Centre based at Bandara Resort in Bophut and Centara Villas in Laem Set on the island of Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer the full range of PADI Diving courses, dive tours for certified divers as well as VIP snorkeling tours. We have been on Samui since 2002 so have the experience and knowledge to make the most of your diving & snorkeling around Samui. Being the highest ranking PADI dive centre on the island means you can be assured that your experience will be professional, safe, calm, yet passionate and fun, delivering the highest levels of customer service. Internet forums such as Trip Advisor provide a great feedback tool for customers, however please also always check out the company website, whether the company is registered with a diving organisation such as PADI and are operating legally within the laws of that country which require them to have licenses and insurance in order to offer diving services to tourists. If you are able to do so, visit the dive centre first to check out the facilities and staff. Unfortunately internet forums do not always represent the full picture as people can assume that good reviews mean everything else is in place - and you want to ensure you stay safe as well as have a good time!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 344 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 322
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Excellent introduction dive for our kids

Our family love snorkelling and we have had many snorkelling trips across South East Asia. My kids wanted to try scuba diving. I spoke to Serena at the Dive Acadamy and she... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 2, 2015
James and Helen H
,
Bangkok, Thailand

Similar Things to Do in Ko Samui

Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

Our family love snorkelling and we have had many snorkelling trips across South East Asia. My kids wanted to try scuba diving. I spoke to Serena at the Dive Acadamy and she organised a try dive for both kids aged 8 and 10. The try out was in the pool of our hotel, and was excellent. I would have 100%... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

We were disappointed in the expectation delivery of The Dive Academy. They didn't prepare is for the day and explain what to expect. The snorkelors and divers all took the same boat, beginners, experts and in between. We dropped the snorkeling gang off first, thinking they would snorkel and then when they were finished head to land to relax. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi JGorsich, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are naturally very disappointed that you felt that the service you received from us was lower than par and your expectations were not matched. We're really pleased to hear that you had a great first dive and the snorkelers also... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful place to learn to dive. Our instructor Serena was brilliant. She was extremely knowledgeable, patient and made learning fun. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, making the whole experience enjoyable. It was like learning to dive with friends and family...Thank you all! -Eric and Eric.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Eric & Eric, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a great review! We're glad you had such a great time and left us making some new friends - that's part of what diving is about! Keep on blowing those bubbles! Best regards, The Dive Academy More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

I had a brilliant experience diving with the Dive Academy in Koh Samui on 31st May/ 1st June 2015. Both Paul and Claire were super patient helping me out with all pre booking queries and clarifications on the way. They took their responsibility of ensuring diver safety very seriously while at the same time, making this a fun activity. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Vinamra, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience diving with The Dive Academy. We're really pleased that you had a great end to end experience with us and that you found the course so enjoyable. Next time you come to Samui we can upgrade you to Open Water and maybe your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Sorry for the late review.. Having decided to learn to dive and having my honeymoon in Koh Samui I reached out to the Dive academy who answered all my emails promptly. Communication is fantastic being 6 hours time difference you can lose days with communication but I was getting information quickly to help me plan. First stop I visited the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Aaron, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience with The Dive Academy. We're really pleased you enjoyed your 2 days of diving with us and hopefully you feel a little less nervous now! Safety is our main priority and our 100% safety record is very important to use. We will always put that consideration... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

This review begins with a disclaimer; my experience with The Dive Academy should not be taken out of context. Perhaps my experience was unique, maybe it was not. I'm writing my experience as-is. I corresponded with the Dive Academy 3 days before arrival - I was told it was possible to finish my Advanced Open Water Diver course over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Winfred, We have just seen your review on Trip Advisor and it is obviously very disappointing if we receive a poor review especially when we feel we did everything completely in your interests. You may have been given other information from another dive school, and now you and they are essentially calling us liars, but we can assure you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

My partner has his open water licence and as part of our Honeymoon I wanted to get mine. After some research I decided on the dive academy, and I'm so glad I did. They were so helpful even before we arrived with advice via email when needed. They arranged transport from our hotel to the dive academy and they really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Coves23, thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good time while you were with us and enjoyed completing your Open Water Course with you. We try hard to give everybody the best possible experience when they are with us in the hope they will leave us with a positive view of diving and looking forward to... More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

But I am really good no bull. When you survive over 200 alone dives in Sweden then you have to be good. Or I would not sit here still today!? But this company have a real bad attitude! Leaving divers alone! Blaming good divers who want to take good underwater pictures. Promise that you can have a nice dive taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheDiveAcademy, Owner at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Kim H. We are very sorry and disappointed to receive such a poor review however we always welcome feedback and we usually try to resolve any issues immediately as they arise, if we are made aware of them. Unfortunately you never mentioned any problems at the time, even when you tried to book to dive with us again the... More 

Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

April/May 2014 Well I would like to start with how disappointed I was not being able to have done more diving with Paul & Claire. What an amazing organization you have in the Dive Academy. From the initial communications via emails before leaving home (outstanding) to the training learnt from Paul in gaining my Advance & Nitrox certification is nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiveAcademy, Manager at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi ron m, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it and love hearing from our customers. Diving is our passion and we love sharing that passion with like minded people. Helping you progress with your Nitrox and Advanced Certification was a real pleasure for us. Safety is our number one priority as we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

I just spent three great days doing the Open Water Certification. My instructor John was awesome and made me feel comfortable every step of the way. The staff is super friendly and the rate of response to emails and inquiries was impressive through the planning stages. I highly recommend the dive academy to anyone spending time in Samui.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiveAcademy, Manager at The Dive Academy, responded to this review

Hi Agustín G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it and love hearing from our students. Congratulations again on completing the Open Water course and becoming a certified diver. We aim to give prospective students and certified divers as much information as possible, tailor made to their requirements before booking. This enables you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Dive Academy also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Dive Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dive Academy

Address: Address: Bandara Resort & Spa | Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number: +66 92 464 3264
Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Surat Thani Province  >  Ko Samui
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dive Academy staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?