We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Henry Africa's

Chaweng Soi Greenmango | Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 87 884 9454
Update attraction details
Ranked #11 of 39 nightlife in Ko Samui
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Description: Henry Africa's is the place for fun! Come and join us and we will make your holiday.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 NEW

We don't understand reviews of boring or just a bar as we stayed in Chaweng for 2 weeks and ended up here most nights. Why? Because it was a busy popular bar with cheap drinks rather than the rip off prices at some other bars, plenty to entertain us with 3 pool tables, sports TVs and good music and of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 attraction reviews
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After reading the reviews we went there with a group of 7 men with high expectations. Had one round of beers then left, such an average place with your average Thai waitresses a pool table and pop hits. Nothing to complain, nothing to rave about. The street scene in front of this bar in the Green Mango alley is probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Henry Africa's is one of the best bars for a couple drinks in Samui. Drinks are cheap, it seems they have a happy hour all night. Staff are very friendly, it is one of the best bars in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Visited Samui in Oct 2013 with two friends and spent most nights in here, briiliant atmosphere, the staff were great, the management were fantastic and really looked after us and the drinks were cheap and plentiful, it really made our holiday, so much that we are returning in June.... see you all then.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have been using this bar from November, I am here for the winter, I go to this bar most nights, it's easily the best bar in town with no exceptions and the location is superb. It's right in the area where the clubs are; including the Green Mango and virtually opposite the Ark Bar where there are great beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
INDIA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 attraction reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were here for a couple of drinks only to kill some time. It was crowded and people were playing pool et all. However we felt a bit bored and the place didn't have the charm or the vibe that were looking for. It didnt have anything different or interesting about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
007ismyname, Owner at Henry Africa's, responded to this review

You needed to kill time in Samui while you were on....... holiday! So you stopped in to Henry Africa's and were still bored. Most people love Henry Africa's, sorry we were not your cup of tea. More

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been drinking in here all week, from the 18th till the 24th.. The staff have never failed to get my order out quick, always friendly, this is why I have drank alot of buckets every night, and have been in a drunked state every night haha.. Thank you is all I can say and see you next year,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 attraction reviews
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Of all the competing bars lining either side of the side street leading down to the infamous Green Mango - Henry Africa's always seems to be the busiest. We enjoyed a couple of drinks there. The layout is kinda cool (even allowing for the unisex toilets and warnings about drugs), the music is cool and the staff are fun. It's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a drink one evening as they were buy one get one free. We were very disappointed after paying with a 1000 baht note only getting change for 500 baht. After speaking to the manager he explained that there was nothing he could do. 500 baht is only about £10 but when backpacking this kind of money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
007ismyname, Owner at Henry Africa's, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You did not speak to myself or my manager about this incident. We would of said for you to stay until we cash up at end of night and if we were over by 500 baht then we would happily refunded the money. I am sorry for what you think happened, but we do check and watch our... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I am a single traveller who had arrived in Ko Samui somewhat tired from the previous nights Half Moon festival on Ko Phanang (a great night!). I had booked a single night in Cheweng before my flight back to Bangkok the following day. I had been bar hopping for a few hours before I stumbled across Henrys Afrika bar. First... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
007ismyname, Owner at Henry Africa's, responded to this review

I am very happy that we made your holiday in Samui a happy one. We hope to see you back again soon. All the best Linley Page More

Travelers who viewed Henry Africa's also viewed

Chaweng, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Henry Africa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry Africa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing