We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights

1 Sopers Arcade | Parkway Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
+263 13 44471
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Tours
135 visitor photos
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    49
    7
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
28 attraction reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

Not sure who is responsible - our guide booked this via hotel (Ilala) and Shearwater, but actual flight was by 'Zambezi Helicopters'. Had been promised twice that all would have window seats - but there turned out to be middle seats and sure enough one of us got one - no view at all. On top of that, the flight... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014 NEW

Very professional setup. We were collected and dropped at the airfield. Staff was friendly and assisted quickly. The flight is definitely a worthwhile experience. The aerial view gives you the best view of the falls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The actual flight was amazing. But they rush you a lot, as soon as you are out of the helicopter, new people get piled in. They also rush you through the photo viewing and our cd wasnt working so they kicked us out the room for the next group. Its a very rushed and very pricey experience, but the actual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Many thanks for your constructive observations, and reassured that the flight was such an enriching experience. We are always seeking to improve so will focus on elements of how to maintain an efficient service at peak times, without allowing anyone to feel at all rushed. Many thanks. More

Orpington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Wonderful experience and one I would recommend to others. The flight was brilliant and the views stunning from the air. It was well organised and it is certainly great for the photographers. If you are in the Falls then do this as you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Most gracious of you to say such nice things, and for taking time to post a review. Many thanks. More

Wollongong
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
32 attraction reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

We were picked up from our accommodation by pleasant staff and delivered to the Helipad site. We waited for two other groups to do their flight - there two helicopters in use - then we took off. The helicopter was small but comfortable and the flight path took us over the township of Victoria Falls, put he Zambezi River and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Hi Jennie, spectacular indeed, and most kind to take time to post a review. Many thanks More

Canberra
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We did the 12 minute (USD$140) ride over the Falls. The views were specatular though hampered somewhat by the haze. Unfortunately though, the helicopter seats 6, not 4, so if you happen to get stuck in the middle, your experience will not be as good as those on the edge, particularly if you are sitting next to someone you don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, I am glad you found the views so worthwhile and spectacular and thanks for the review. More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

It'll be the quickest 12 mins of your life but the view of the falls was outstanding. It was a great experience and we're glad we took the opportunity when we did. We did the Heli flight in the morning and then walked the falls later in the day which turned out to be a bit disappointing as there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and sharing your observations and the wonderful perspective the flight provides. More

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The company offers two flights - a 12 minute 'Flight of Angels' at USD$140 or the 23 minute 'Zambezi Spectacular' at USD$265 - add USD$12 for National Park fee. We opted for the 'Spectacular' which includes two loops in opposite directions over the Falls giving you a spectacular bird's eye view and then heads off over the gorge and then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

Many thanks - appreciate the appraisal.. More

Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

It was a fantastic view of the falls, and a perfect amount of time to see it from a variety of angles. We left a little on the late side, but that was no big deal, and I happened to show up around the same time as my friends on tour with me (we booked separately) and they managed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

very pleasing to say the least that you enjoyed it so much and that you were fortuitously reunited with your friends. Sincere thanks for taking time to post your comments. More

Coonawarra, South Australia, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I recently booked 3 different tours with Shearwater for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary gift. First being the tram tour, then the Elephant Back Safari and lastly the Helicopter flight. 2 days before the tram tour I was told that the tram was out of action and that they would be upgraded to an open top bus. My parents were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShearwaterVicFalls, Owner at Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, responded to this review

It is so gratifying to receive such a glowing report and really decent that people such as yourself take time to share them. Many thanks. More

Travelers who viewed Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing