We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC

Address: Union Station, 50 Massachusetts Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number: 202-832-9800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$39*
and up
81%
Ranked #29 of 186 Activities in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Group tours/city tour
Owner description: Voted “Washington’s Best Tour” by Washingtonian Magazine, the...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Group tours/city tour
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Owner description: Voted “Washington’s Best Tour” by Washingtonian Magazine, the Nation’s Capital comes alive aboard Old Town Trolley Tours. Live narration filled with humorous stories and well-researched historical facts will show guests all of Washington in three loops that cover Arlington National Cemetery, the National Mall, National Cathedral, Downtown, Georgetown and points in between. With 19 stops, guests can disembark for shopping, dining and attractions all day. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    857
    331
    121
    70
    71
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015 NEW

I remembered a Trolly Tour I had taken over 20 years ago in San Diego >which I thoroughly enjoyed and when I saw it was available in >Washington I decided to book. I had no idea this was a national tour >company. We only had 6 hours in the DC area so we thought this was a >good way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

Smokey, our tour guide, was simply awesome! This was such a convenient way to get an idea of the National Mall and have a chance to rest our feet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We enjoyed the tour so much - the drivers were very friendly, funny and knowledgeable. We saw sights and things we wouldn't have otherwise, because they recommended them. On time, convenient, all-in-all I would highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Theresa, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Mr E was guide this evening. He was outstanding and I hope to be able to have him the next time I am in town. December 26, 2014 thank you. Judy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

The whole group just adored this cute trip. The trolleys are furnished in a very old style which gives them the specific look. U will just love it

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I went on this tour with my family as the first activity in Washington DC. The drivers/guides were nice and personable. The customer service is remarkable. In my opinion after seeing more of the city, the tour is too expensive for such a short route. The sightseeings are very close, almost walking distance. The green line going to Georgetown is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australai.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Been on a few tours and never really liked them much, but this tour stood out, it was pretty well down, the driver / guide was o.k for most of the trip, landmarks visited well spread out, and transport clean and comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Me and my husband recently were in DC and took up this tour - red loop and green loop included for 45$ each and based on earlier reviews thought this would be great. It was terrible! Though it was called hop on hop off, once you get down from the bus you would really have to wait more than 30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jerry M, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read about your experience with our tour and the delays you encountered. In a city like Washington, we sometimes find ourselves delayed due to the movements of the president and federal government as was on the day your rode and I apologized it impacted your trip. We do have a 100% money back guarantee on... More 

Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Husband and I decided to pay for the Arlington trolley tour with the hope of getting more out of the experience. The tour guides were not very engaging and often just pointed out names on graves with little to know explanation. Trolley was supposed to arrive at each stop every 20 minutes and we often waited much longer...almost double. Several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry M, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking to the time to review our tour. We took over the tour service of Arlington National Cemetery on January. We appreciate your feedback and it is invaluable to us in improving our tour. We do have a 100% money back guarantee on all of our tours and attractions which can access from the customer service page... More 

Topsham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

What started out as a good experience ended up disappointing. We were picked up at our hotel and grout to Union station to transfer to a regular tour. We really enjoyed the orange line portion to the welcome center with "Speaker" who was an excellent tour guide. At that point we transferred to the green line and got off at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jerry M, General Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had on our tour. Our GPS system was designed to let guests know when the trolleys were due to arrive. However due to the unpredictable traffic closures in the city, the GPS cannot accurately track the changes in our route and schedule which is what happened in this case. We have a... More 

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Port Orange, Florida
20 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?