We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Union Station, 50 Massachusetts Ave NE, Washington DC, DC 20002
Phone Number: 202-832-9800
Website
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Activities: Group tours/city tour
Description: Voted “Washington’s Best Tour” by Washingtonian Magazine, the Nation’s...
Voted “Washington’s Best Tour” by Washingtonian Magazine, the Nation’s Capital comes alive aboard Old Town Trolley Tours. Live narration filled with humorous stories and well-researched historical facts will show guests all of Washington in three loops that cover Arlington National Cemetery, the National Mall, National Cathedral, Downtown, Georgetown and points in between. With 19 stops, guests can disembark for shopping, dining and attractions all day. Old Town Trolley Tours has a 100% money back guarantee.
read more
Visit like an insider
$39*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,597 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 937
    Excellent
  • 366
    Very good
  • 137
    Average
  • 78
    Poor
  • 79
    Terrible
Monuments by moonlight.

This was the best trolley tour we have ever done. It gives you a completely different perspective of the monuments to see them lit up at night. We also found it not as crowded to... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 28, 2015
dreambig77
,
Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

1,597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 NEW

This was the best trolley tour we have ever done. It gives you a completely different perspective of the monuments to see them lit up at night. We also found it not as crowded to visit the monuments during the evening versus during the day. The buses look brand new and are by far the most luxurious of all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Having never been to DC and not knowing as much about the sights, 'B-Cool' was the best tour guide we could have had. We did get off and on another of the trolleys since you can get off and on as much as you want - that driver was good but this group has a winner in 'B-Cool'. It's well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, Fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

The Old Town Trolley was awesome! The drivers were very knowledgeable! Excellent choice! It is a good idea to take it at the beginning of your stay so you will know if there is an attraction in the way that you might want to revisit! You get the trolley right across from the Ford's theater.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

It was our first visit to DC and we had no idea where to start. This was a brilliant way to get an overview. All the staff were so helpful and friendly. It was incredibly hot and our driver, Jewel kept reminding us to drink plenty of water and to take things easy - so sweet. She was seven and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Del Rio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

This was my first bus tour and selected Old Town Trolley based on reviews. Route and price also considered. I purchased E tickets and it was a simple process. The busses were always on time and you can see where they are via their internet site. Hassle free experience but the real gem in this company was the drivers. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

All of the drivers were outstanding- different personalities and trivia, but all excellent. The young man at the Union Station kiosk (on 04-12-15 at 9 AM) was also very sweet, patient, and knowledgeable. He deserves kudos too. We were in the worst traffic possible around the Tidal Basin on peak cherry day (12th) but we were so glad to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boone, NC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

I highly recommend viewing the monuments with the moonlight tour. My sister and I got a different perspective from daytime sightseeing. One of the top things to do in DC. Awesome adventure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

We visited Washington DC two weeks ago and it was suggested that we take this trolley for an overview of the sights. This did not disappoint. We got on at Union Station and Mr Ordinary gave us a terrific tour through the nasty traffic to the Lincoln Memorial site. He really was extra-ordinary...cause he filled us with lots of knowledge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

Your company did not plan well for the Memorial Day weekend and it was a time time between trolleys. Told us to be at the last stop by 5:30pm to take us back to National Harbor hotel so we ended us taking a taxi to stop 1 because we only had 1 hour to make it by trolley and waited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Guest Relations Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that your tour with us did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do have a 100% Satisfaction guarantee that you will find on the customer service page of our website. More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015 NEW

They had stops that were canceled and did not inform anyone. When we called no one knew any info. We walked six blocks to another stop and four trolleys came by so full we could not get on. Would recommend using this, I just wish we had checked reviews first.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jennifer G, Guest Relations Manager at Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had with our tour. We take great pride in providing our guests with great customer service and clearly in your case we let you down and I am very sorry for that. We do have a 100% Satisfaction guarantee that I hope you will take advantage of by visiting the customer service... More 

Travelers who viewed Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC and other visitors
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Old Town Trolley Tours of Washington DC staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?