We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fremantle Visitor Centre

Address: Kings Square | 8 William Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number: 61 8 9431 7878
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$63*
and up
Perth and Fremantle Tour with Optional Swan River...
81%
Ranked #19 of 53 things to do in Fremantle
Type: Visitor centers, Traveler Resources
Attraction details
Type: Visitor centers, Traveler Resources
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shah alam
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

a lot of souvenirs, good to go with some local so that they can recommend the right shop to get the best bargain in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. We try to ensure our merchandise is locally sourced and can't be found in many other stores, so appreciate your feedback. We hope we can assist in the future. More 

Hawick
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
68 attraction reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

Gained loads of useful info here, on Fremantle and Perth. Very chatty, friendly staff. Located in centre of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for you for your great review and for calling into the centre to gather some information. I will be sure to pass your comments onto my staff and volunteers. We look forward to assisting you again when you are next in Fremantle. P.S You wouldn't believe it but my family live in the borders, my grandparents live in... More 

Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Talk about patient - I must have had a million question and not once did they make me feel like I was annoying them. Thank you ladies for helping me with all my Fremantle Travel plans. You made a lonely traveller feel very welcomed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Hi Ella, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very glad my staff and volunteers could help you with all your queries. We often have a number of visitors who haven't visited Fremantle (or Australia) before and they too will come in with a list of questions so you are not alone, thanks for popping... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

No, we don't want to buy real estate. No, we don't like condescending volunteers and yes, we would like something other than a street map and piles of advertising. They're MUCH friendlier in the library right inside the town hall. Maybe I was just there on a bad day. I hope so.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, I appreciate you providing your feedback however I am very concerned and a little confused with the comments you mentioned. To enable me to follow this up can you please email me on: info@visitfremantle.com.au or call the Centre on (08)9431-7878 and advise what your initial query was and roughly when you visited the Centre. As you can see... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Really lovely ladies that answered our questions while we were there. The highlight was to loan cycle to get around Fremantle. We get to visit at least 3-4 places on bike and it was really a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. Our staff and volunteers do strive to assist with all queries that we receive. I am also glad to hear you were able to explore Fremantle by using one of our free hire bikes. They are very popular in deed. More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
138 attraction reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

There was no wait to meet with someone when you entered the visitors center, since there were lots of volunteers working there. They knew what they were talking about, and were very helpful with professional handouts for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very lucky to have 40 fantastic volunteers that assist in our Visitor Centre. As you mentioned they are very knowledgeable and are passionate ambassadors for our City. I will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We hope we can assist you again in the future. More 

Yallingup
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We were looking for last minute reasonable priced Accomodation. Rang centre & we had Unit sorted immediately at a good price, Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Trish. I am happy to hear that my staff could assist you with your last minute request. We do hope that we can assist you again in the future. More 

Goolwa, Australia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We picked up some information from the kiosk outside from a very helpful man, but it was several days before I actually went inside. All tours can be booked, plus accommodation, which I wish we had done as we booked our accommodation 6 months in advance and still did not get our specified two bedroom. Lesson learned, go to visitors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for your fabulous review. It sounds like my volunteers and staff were able to assist you with all your requirements. It's great hear that you will now be using Visitor Centres as your first source of information. We look forward to assisting you in the near future. More 

Morere, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Seriously I did not think that i could ride all day through Freemantle and out to the ocean on an electric bicycle for FREE. That is exactly what I did. Wow. It was great. The deposit was $500... on the visa debit and when i returned the money was refunded. Well worth it. And of course they have normal bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Aaron. I am glad to hear you enjoyed using our Free-Wheeling service. The bikes are extremely popular especially on a nice sunny day and it definitely helps to get you around. We hope to see you again real soon. More 

Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
128 attraction reviews
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even though I had done my research on Tripadvisor before arriving in Fremantle, I still went in and was given a map and the staffer marked everything on the map, including entry fees which was helpful. I was quoted $75 per adult return to Rottnest island. Managed to get them for half that price by booking online with Rottnest Island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for visiting our centre. I am happy to hear that we were able to assist you and I hope we were able to point out a few more places that you weren’t aware of. It's great to hear you were able to book onto one of the discounted Tuesday specials with Rottnest Express. These... More 

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Visitor Centre also viewed

Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fremantle Visitor Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fremantle Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?