We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fremantle Visitor Centre

Kings Square | 8 William Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
61 8 9431 7878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Attractions in Fremantle
Book Now

Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
18 visitor photos
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Goolwa, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 attraction reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

We picked up some information from the kiosk outside from a very helpful man, but it was several days before I actually went inside. All tours can be booked, plus accommodation, which I wish we had done as we booked our accommodation 6 months in advance and still did not get our specified two bedroom. Lesson learned, go to visitors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for your fabulous review. It sounds like my volunteers and staff were able to assist you with all your requirements. It's great hear that you will now be using Visitor Centres as your first source of information. We look forward to assisting you in the near future. More

Morere, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Seriously I did not think that i could ride all day through Freemantle and out to the ocean on an electric bicycle for FREE. That is exactly what I did. Wow. It was great. The deposit was $500... on the visa debit and when i returned the money was refunded. Well worth it. And of course they have normal bikes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Aaron. I am glad to hear you enjoyed using our Free-Wheeling service. The bikes are extremely popular especially on a nice sunny day and it definitely helps to get you around. We hope to see you again real soon. More

Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
110 attraction reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even though I had done my research on Tripadvisor before arriving in Fremantle, I still went in and was given a map and the staffer marked everything on the map, including entry fees which was helpful. I was quoted $75 per adult return to Rottnest island. Managed to get them for half that price by booking online with Rottnest Island... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for visiting our centre. I am happy to hear that we were able to assist you and I hope we were able to point out a few more places that you weren’t aware of. It's great to hear you were able to book onto one of the discounted Tuesday specials with Rottnest Express. These... More

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely, helpful team of people who love their town of Fremantle I love to walk and that I did on a warm sunny day through the suburbs and made my way toward the waterfront. A nice place to get your bearings and advice while sitting outdoors studying your map. Loved that everything was so relaxed and cruisey. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Kate for your fantastic review. We sure do love our City and it makes it very easy to promote. It sounds like you had a great day and being on foot I bet you found a lot of our unique attractions. I am not sure if you had a chance to do all of our 9 self-guided walking... More

Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We called in here to get some advice on a cruise to Perth. The lady who helped us was so helpful with maps, information and some good local tips. Well worth calling in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Angela. I am glad to hear my staff and volunteers were able to assist you and answer your queries. I do hope you managed to take the cruise on the Swan River as that is one thing not to be missed. We hope to see you again soon. More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

we visited here first to seek advice and got plenty that made the most of the short time we had before heading off to the airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for popping into our Centre to source your information. It is great to hear that we were able to assist you and that you managed to squeeze some sightseeing into your short time. More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was very busy when we went in and it's a small visitor centre, with not as much information on offer as any other centre we have been to across WA. Perhaps if you are doing both Perth and Fremantle, head to the Perth office instead. Friendly staff though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am going to echo my comments from a similar review: We do agree our centre is quite small when comparing it to others in the area. As part of an upcoming project - Kings Square Redevelopment Project the City of Fremantle administration building and Fremantle... More

Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Booked my hotel from Melbourne for Fremantle accommodation on the internet and unfortunately, when my husband and I arrived, were shocked and disappointed at what we found. Exhausted after a 3 hour drive and disillusioned, didn't know what to do. We were directed to the Fremantle visitor centre. We served by an enthusiastic and informative staff member, Ben, who immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, I really appreciate you taking the time to provide it. I have passed this on to Ben as I am sure he will love to hear your positive comments. Our staff strive to assist our visitors with the highest level of customer service so I am very happy to hear Ben was... More

Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
157 attraction reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Centrally located in Fremantle in an old building this Visitor Centre has to be the poorest of its ilk I've come across in a major Australian centre. The staff are friendly. The place is centrally located (as mentioned earlier) but it's just that it has a dearth of interesting promotional material. I've been here several times and each time it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thanks Paul for your feedback, we appreciate all comments from visitors. I agree our centre is quite small in comparison to others - as part of the Kings Square Redevelopment Project the City of Fremantle administration building and Fremantle Visitor Centre is due to be revamped in the coming years which will allow for a purpose built centre with much... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Nice selection of maps and tourist guides. There are also some interesting products for sale. Outside on Saturday morning there was a market in the square as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our centre and for your great comment. We have ensured our range of merchandise is primarily locally made and that we have a variety of different items that can’t be found elsewhere so it is great to hear your feedback. We look forward to assisting you again soon. More

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fremantle Visitor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing