We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fremantle Visitor Centre

Address: Kings Square | 8 William Street, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
Phone Number: 61 8 9431 7878
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$33*
and up
Perth Shore Excursion: History of Fremantle...
80%
Ranked #10 of 19 Attractions in Fremantle
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Attraction details
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Other
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    6
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

No, we don't want to buy real estate. No, we don't like condescending volunteers and yes, we would like something other than a street map and piles of advertising. They're MUCH friendlier in the library right inside the town hall. Maybe I was just there on a bad day. I hope so.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, I appreciate you providing your feedback however I am very concerned and a little confused with the comments you mentioned. To enable me to follow this up can you please email me on: info@visitfremantle.com.au or call the Centre on (08)9431-7878 and advise what your initial query was and roughly when you visited the Centre. As you can see... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Really lovely ladies that answered our questions while we were there. The highlight was to loan cycle to get around Fremantle. We get to visit at least 3-4 places on bike and it was really a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. Our staff and volunteers do strive to assist with all queries that we receive. I am also glad to hear you were able to explore Fremantle by using one of our free hire bikes. They are very popular in deed. More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
138 attraction reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

There was no wait to meet with someone when you entered the visitors center, since there were lots of volunteers working there. They knew what they were talking about, and were very helpful with professional handouts for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very lucky to have 40 fantastic volunteers that assist in our Visitor Centre. As you mentioned they are very knowledgeable and are passionate ambassadors for our City. I will be sure to pass your comments onto them. We hope we can assist you again in the future. More 

Yallingup
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We were looking for last minute reasonable priced Accomodation. Rang centre & we had Unit sorted immediately at a good price, Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review Trish. I am happy to hear that my staff could assist you with your last minute request. We do hope that we can assist you again in the future. More 

Goolwa, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 attraction reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We picked up some information from the kiosk outside from a very helpful man, but it was several days before I actually went inside. All tours can be booked, plus accommodation, which I wish we had done as we booked our accommodation 6 months in advance and still did not get our specified two bedroom. Lesson learned, go to visitors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for your fabulous review. It sounds like my volunteers and staff were able to assist you with all your requirements. It's great hear that you will now be using Visitor Centres as your first source of information. We look forward to assisting you in the near future. More 

Morere, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Seriously I did not think that i could ride all day through Freemantle and out to the ocean on an electric bicycle for FREE. That is exactly what I did. Wow. It was great. The deposit was $500... on the visa debit and when i returned the money was refunded. Well worth it. And of course they have normal bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Aaron. I am glad to hear you enjoyed using our Free-Wheeling service. The bikes are extremely popular especially on a nice sunny day and it definitely helps to get you around. We hope to see you again real soon. More 

Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
115 attraction reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even though I had done my research on Tripadvisor before arriving in Fremantle, I still went in and was given a map and the staffer marked everything on the map, including entry fees which was helpful. I was quoted $75 per adult return to Rottnest island. Managed to get them for half that price by booking online with Rottnest Island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for visiting our centre. I am happy to hear that we were able to assist you and I hope we were able to point out a few more places that you weren’t aware of. It's great to hear you were able to book onto one of the discounted Tuesday specials with Rottnest Express. These... More 

Geelong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

What a lovely, helpful team of people who love their town of Fremantle I love to walk and that I did on a warm sunny day through the suburbs and made my way toward the waterfront. A nice place to get your bearings and advice while sitting outdoors studying your map. Loved that everything was so relaxed and cruisey. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you Kate for your fantastic review. We sure do love our City and it makes it very easy to promote. It sounds like you had a great day and being on foot I bet you found a lot of our unique attractions. I am not sure if you had a chance to do all of our 9 self-guided walking... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 attraction reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We called in here to get some advice on a cruise to Perth. The lady who helped us was so helpful with maps, information and some good local tips. Well worth calling in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Angela. I am glad to hear my staff and volunteers were able to assist you and answer your queries. I do hope you managed to take the cruise on the Swan River as that is one thing not to be missed. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

we visited here first to seek advice and got plenty that made the most of the short time we had before heading off to the airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fremantle Visit... C, Manager at Fremantle Visitor Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for popping into our Centre to source your information. It is great to hear that we were able to assist you and that you managed to squeeze some sightseeing into your short time. More 

Travelers who viewed Fremantle Visitor Centre also viewed

 
Fremantle, Greater Perth
 

Been to Fremantle Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fremantle Visitor Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?