We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rottnest Express

1 Emma Place | Rous Head, Fremantle, Western Australia 6959, Australia
1300 467 688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 18 Activities in Fremantle
Book Now

Type: Ferries/ Boats
Owner description: Rottnest Express has been serving the Island for 50 years now and knows it better than most. If you’re a visitor to Perth, Rottnest is the must see... more » Owner description: Rottnest Express has been serving the Island for 50 years now and knows it better than most. If you’re a visitor to Perth, Rottnest is the must see destination and we’d love to take you there. If you’re a local and haven’t been to Rotto for a while — it’s time to rediscover Rotto — it’s easier than you think. « less
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    98
    56
    17
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Our two hour whale watching experience with Rottnest Express had such potential but failed to deliver as much as it should have. The "fair go for all" attitude we expect in Australia was sadly lacking by the captain and crew. Upon finding a mother and her calf in the middle of a breaching lesson it was really disappointing that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

Went on a 2hr whale watching tour from Fremantle yesterday. A mother & calf were frolicking in water for quite some time, about 30 mins, but sadly we were on the "wrong" side of the boat & didn't see much. By the time the whales were heading over our way, the calf had run out of energy so no more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi Julia H, We’re glad to hear you got to experience the ‘Humpback Highway’, an experience unique to WA. It is an amazing experience to see a mother and its young in the wild. Unfortunately due to Commonwealth Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act Regulations, our crew are not allowed to reposition the vessel when within a certain distance of... More

Niederstetten, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

We ask on the counter if we have to book in advance because we wanted to go the next day with the trip where we would have a bike. No that's not necessary the women replied. next day "oh sorry no bikes anymore" we were so angry!! We booked a tour anyway and rented a bike on Rottnest. the trip... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi LavanyaChristin, We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent trip to Rottnest Island and Perth in general. We do always recommend booking to ensure that the tour or hire equipment you wish to use is available especially when travelling during school holidays and we apologise that this was not conveyed to you when you came down... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Extremely helpful after the staff on Rottnest Island lost our luggage twice .. Rottnest Express delivered our luggage to us when it finally arrived off the island .. The best service ever .. 5 star plus for service ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi Stevefire, Thanks for the feedback. We’re sorry to hear about the loss of your luggage twice whilst you were on Rottnest Island but we’re glad to know that the team here at Rottnest Express did everything they could to locate your luggage and reunite you with it as quickly as possible. I'm sure next time you visit will go... More

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I booked our whale watching 2 hour trip over the phone a couple of weeks before we went, but when we arrived our booking wasn't there. It was really disappointing because we live 3 over hours away and could've driven up that morning if we weren't booked on the morning trip. They did manage to book us in on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi Esmeralda P., We’re sorry to hear that your Whale watching booking didn’t go as you had planned. Your feedback is vital to enable us to improve both our booking and check in procedure for gift vouchers. Unfortunately the location of our office means we are unable to see which ferry is berthed outside and rely on our ferry crew,... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

The boats were beautiful and clean. We went on cheap Tuesday where it costs $59 return inc bike hire. I did not see this advertised well, I actually found it on here. Call them to book on a Tues.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi ScottishFun81, It’s great that you were able to take advantage of our Telethon Tuesday deal to not only have a fantastic day cycling on Rottnest Island, at only half the regular cost, but also support local children’s charity Telethon as $1 from every ticket sold on Telethon Tuesdays is donated to Telethon to help WA children. We’ve always got... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

we bought the Tuesday promo, this deal saved our money. We chose to depart from Fremantle and returned to Barrack Jetty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi AgnesKong, We’re glad you were able to take in the sights of Rottnest Island whilst helping WA children through our half price Telethon Tuesday promotion. It sounds like you were able to make the most of your time cycling on Rottnest island and even squeezing in a leisurely cruise back up the Swan river in the afternoon. We’ll see... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

A great way to get to Rottnest. Friendly staff and a clean boat. Even let me get on an earlier boat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello Roslyn2011, Thanks for the glowing review. We pride ourselves on passenger comfort and safety so it’s fantastic to hear that not only was the ferry clean but that our great staff were friendly and helpful when you wanted to change the time of your ticket. Hopefully we’ll get to see you again soon. More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

A really enjoyable day out. We left from Perth, so sailed down the Swan River before stopping at Freemantle and continuing out to the island. We bought the package which included bike hire, so collected our bikes & helmets at the dock and picked up a map from the info centre. We were really pleased we'd taken sunscreen, and plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hello KimEclair, It can definitely be a bit of a surprise when people encounter some of the bigger hills on Rottnest Island but thankfully the breathtaking 360 degree view of Rottnest Island from the top makes you forget about some of the pain to pedalling up there. To really admire the beauty of whole island from above I’d recommend making... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I took the Rottnest Express ferry from Perth to Rottnest Island and return and a bus tour of the island also run by Rottnest Express. The bus tour went to the far end of the island which may have been difficult if you hired a bike, which is also an option, and it is worthwhile going on the tour to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RottnestExpress, Manager at Rottnest Express, responded to this review

Hi John O, Glad to hear that every part of your day went so smoothly in particular our revamped Rottnest Island bus tour. The ocean crossing can get a little bit bumpy but thankfully there are only a handful of days during the winter months when it gets really rough. We look forward to showing you more of the island... More

Travelers who viewed Rottnest Express also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Rottnest Island, Cockburn
 

Been to Rottnest Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing