We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Kingscote Wharf, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number: (08) 8553 3112
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 94 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 24
    Excellent
  • 18
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
NO night pictures allowed! You have to stay on walking paths and is smells like poo where the penguins are

You wait for the birds to come in from the surf, but with no flash allowed, you can’t get any good pictures. Be prepared for the smell! It might be worse depending on the heat... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 16, 2015
Unbiased-Facts
,
Vancouver, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

You wait for the birds to come in from the surf, but with no flash allowed, you can’t get any good pictures. Be prepared for the smell! It might be worse depending on the heat and the wind, but the closer you are to the penguins the more it smells bad. The interpretive centre was interesting and they have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Well it wasn't in operation any longer. There are a few fenced off walk ways which you can go on and look for them but truthfully there where just wooden boxes for the penguins. But I don't think any or at least many had or have been used. Walked along the area several times and different times. But alas I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I went to there with my boy(2yo). Feeding was nice, but talk and waiting time was a bit long for kids. so we couldn't stay there till last. And we couldn't see any penguins there. I heard just 5 penguins now.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014 via mobile

What more can I say? Several attractions on KI are temporarily closed, but I think that means permantely. This attraction has really closed down according to the pamphlet from the visitors centre and what's more when you go past the building you can see that it has been cleared out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Savona, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

is a very nice experience for night show pinguine. Singular emotion to see in a very small distance this particular and deliciouse animals wow !!!!! Super..........................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingscote, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Really well presented with good sense of humour. Grand children want to go whenever they can. A must for all ages. great seating steps for all to see and can view from top for wheelchair people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was an amazing day and so peaceful. The tour guide I had was fantastic. The amazement of the sunset on the beach watching the penguins arriving was amazing. I cannot wait to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jennyKIsland, Owner at Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre, responded to this review

Hello C T, Unfortunately you email has come to the Kingscote Penguin Centre (Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre) instead of the Penneshaw Penguin Centre which doesn't have a Trip Advisor account. I am one of the owner/operators of the Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre in Kingscote and we closed our business in Kingscote on November 21st 2013, because of lack of Penguins... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The place is well kept & the guide is friendly. Unfortunately, it is deeply regretted to note that the penguins have really dwindled during our visit. We are only able to view only ONE penguin during our entire night outing. Apparently the New Zealand sea lions have been making penguins as their staple food which resulted in their shrinking population.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The 'public story' of the seal lions and fur seals eating the penguins obscures the terrible truth that the penguins at Pennershaw at KI have largely been decimated by the massive expansion of the Sealink ferry terminal. There is a road to the ferry that goes straight through their breeding areas. They are either run over on the road or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
jennyKIsland, Owner at Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre, responded to this review

Hi Josie, Your thoughts about the penguins have come to the Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre in Kingscote instead of the the Penneshaw Penguin Centre near the Sealink Ferry. Unfortunately we have the same problem that the Penguin numbers have declined dramatically since around 2010 and we had to close our business last November 2013 as we were only seeing about... More 

Nairne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited the centre on the first night of our stay only to discover that the penguin tours are closed until further notice due to the penguin numbers declining because of the New Zealand fur seals eating them! Bit disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kangaroo Island Penguin Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?