We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Mountains Trolley Tours

Bus tours, Sightseeing Tours
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 285 Main Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number: (02) 4782 7999
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 12
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Most recent review
Beautiful views!

While it takes a bit of an effort to reach Blue Mountains from Sydney (2 hours by train) the journey is really worth it. The conducted tours usually offer whole day trips for... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
DIBYAJYOTI1978
,
Singapore, Singapore
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

While it takes a bit of an effort to reach Blue Mountains from Sydney (2 hours by train) the journey is really worth it. The conducted tours usually offer whole day trips for $120-150 per person, however Zimfound it more convenient to reach there myself and purchase a hop on hop off Trolley tour bus + the tickets for Scenic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We paid $25 for a hop on hop off ticket. There are 29 stops around the Blue Mountains. The bus always came on time and the driver gave us info about each stop. The only down side was the noise of the bus, it was very hard to hear what the driver was saying.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Nothing to complain about Trolley Bus but if you have specific places to go where Opal bus runs, this isn't the best way to go around. We paid $55 each (students) for the unlimited bus ride($20) and Scenic World($35) combo. It also came with an express bus which was actually Opal operated bus 686. We went around with bus 686... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I paid $40 for an adult ticket. It was valid for 5 days which was great and you can use your pass on all other public buses but in all honesty I could have visited most of the attractions for far less if I taken a local public bus for $1.20 one way with a pension card...only about 6 of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trolley T, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains Trolley Tours, responded to this review

Dear Mel B We would like to thank you for your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to provide it. In relation to your experience, it would appear that the adult ticket you purchased may not have been one of our tickets sold for a trolley tour. Our trolley tour ticket is advertised on our website and costs... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We paid $25 for a ticket but the first Express Bus we took to Echo Point seemed to be a general public bus where people were using their Opal cards and I expect only paying a few dollars. We attempted to get the trolley from Katoomba Falls at 2:33, but despite the Express driver saying it shouldn't be far behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trolley T, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains Trolley Tours, responded to this review

"Thank you for your feedback. We regard all customer feedback as important as it provides us with opportunities to ensure our customers receive the very best experience. It is a very busy time for all Blue Mountains tourism operators during the December / January period, given it is the festive season, in addition to being school holidays. We do run... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

I booked the Trolley Shoppe bus at the Blue Mountains informations centre at Glenbrook. I got a ticket from Jenolan to Katoomba for $45. My ticket said that the bus was due to depart at 3.00pm. I arrived at Jenolan well in time for the bus, and was at the bus stop by 2.30pm. I waited at the bus stop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trolley T, Manager at Blue Mountains Trolley Tours, responded to this review

Hello Carolyn We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback. It has provided us with an opportunity to review our procedures to ensure we continue to provide excellence in customer service. We are sorry for the confusion about the departure time from Jenolan Caves, returning to Katoomba and apologies for any inconvenience this may have... More 

Warmond, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We took the pendell bus from this company to get around the blue mountains after we arrived by train in Katoomba. We went to the booking office that is just outside the train station for information about the bus because we did not know how easy it would be to get around. They told us we can walk but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Trolley T, Manager at Blue Mountains Trolley Tours, responded to this review

Hi Jim Thank you for lodging your review on Trip Advisor. We strive to ensure our that all customer needs are met; particularly those who might not enjoy walking back to the train station because it is at least a 30 minute walk, on an incline. This might not suit all of our customers comfort. We would like to provide... More 

Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived at the stop 5 minutes before the bus was meant to pass. after waiting for 20 minutes I called the office and was told they would find out where the bus was, but I did not get a call back. I can only assume that as it was the first run of the day it had few passengers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Trolley T, Manager at Blue Mountains Trolley Tours, responded to this review

Kevin, we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor. To provide a little background, all of our services run to a regular timetable. On investigation we note that the service you mentioned (being the 1st run of the day – 9:45am) ran approximately 2 minutes early, but note that you arrived at the bus... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 attraction reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

*) Reach Central. Change trains at Central and go to Katoomba. *) From Katoomba, take the Trolley Tours Bus to Jenolan Caves. You can see Trolley Shoppe as you come out of Train Station. The one and the only bus that goes to Jenolan Caves leaves Katoomba at 10:35 AM. So by the time you reach Jenolan Caves, its past... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I hadn't been since age nine to the caves, I'm from Sydney. My friend who I know from High School had never been and has lived in Queensland for the last 20+ years, and wanted to celebrate a special birthday and visit the caves. We caught the train to Katoomba then boarded the bus tour to the caves. Our guide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains Trolley Tours also viewed

 

Been to Blue Mountains Trolley Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Blue Mountains Trolley Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?